Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect accessory to booking hotel accommodation in the UK
I always use Alastair Sawday guides as my first point of reference to book accommodation when I travel in the UK (and beyond) and have never been disappointed.

The new edition of `Special Places to Stay: British Hotels & Inns' has a fantastic range of recommendations, ranging from chic boutique hotels to grand old country houses.

Alistair Sawday has...
Published on 10 Nov. 2008 by C E Searle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to handle
It seems good for the organization of a trip in advance- as I am doing .
But if this guide will be worth it, its too early because none of these
destinations we have tested yet :-)
Published on 7 Jun. 2011 by Wullschleger Rudolf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect accessory to booking hotel accommodation in the UK, 10 Nov. 2008
I always use Alastair Sawday guides as my first point of reference to book accommodation when I travel in the UK (and beyond) and have never been disappointed.

The new edition of `Special Places to Stay: British Hotels & Inns' has a fantastic range of recommendations, ranging from chic boutique hotels to grand old country houses.

Alistair Sawday has done all the hard work of locating exceptional places to stay which are seriously comfortable and stylish, yet very affordable.

The guide is also really easy to use - entries are categorised by region, with each hotel listing illustrated with a photograph, clear directions and details the type of accommodation on offer, owner contact details. Places that make an effort to be environmentally friendly are also highlighted.

For anyone who wants to stay somewhere special, this is the perfect accessory to booking hotel accommodation in the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent title from Sawday's for the frequent weekender, 29 Sept. 2008
By 
F. Miller (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you attend weddings/ parties/ Christenings/ etc on a fairly frequent basis, or even holiday in the British Isles you often find yourself looking for somewhere decent to stay in a town/ region you've never visited previously. For these occasions, the Sawday's guides are indispensable. The benefits of these guides over any other is that they offer real quality control. I now rarely stay anywhere that they haven't recommended, and have discovered many of my very favourite places courtesy of their guides and homepage. The new book has an improved layout, and has updated the selection but retains the insistence on high standards in choosing their special places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Breaks Away, 28 Nov. 2009
By 
Karen Simpson "Karen4rbs" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic book for those who love the nice things in life. Have used Alastair Sawdays books before and never been disappointed. This one is great and so full of all the information you need. Enjoy short breaks? ...... enjoy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It's a relief to see that standards of Sawday guides have not slipped. This one has the usual, reliably accurate and up-to-date descriptions, high-quality photographs and very helpful use of symbols to identify establishments with specific features such as wheelchair access, wi-fi availability and swimming pool.

We have stayed at several of these hotels and inns and found them very much as described, just as we have in previous years with pubs and B&Bs.

Just one thing to be aware of: While coverage is excellent in the main holiday areas, it can be rather limited elsewhere. For example, there is nothing at all in Lincolnshire and only one place in Northumberland, one (just about) in the Scottish Borders and four north of Inverness.

With that one caution, this guide is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain With Style, 29 Sept. 2008
A few years ago who would have thought that Britain could offer such chic and stylish places to stay. Now we are spoilt for choice with Sawday's new edition, British Hotels and Inns.
Sit back and enjoy page after page of luxurious - yet reasonably priced - places to stay.
A joy to plan that special visit to Britain and see what we really have to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and accurate, 2 July 2010
As ever Mr Sawday has a major hand in one of the more informed accommodation review publications. (What a job to have!)
The entries are all soundly assessed and the finer details re room design / size / colour schemes are all spot on.
Equal praise is given for the food - menu - cuisine reviews. If ever he wants an assistant ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any UK holiday choice, 20 July 2010
By 
Zoe Dawes "Quirky Traveller" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As an ardent traveller I love finding unusual and special places to rest my weary head - and this book fits the bill perfectly. Not only is it jam-packed with quality hotels to suit all budgets, but it also has excellent write-ups that really give a picture of the place to stay. I have not yet found a place from this guide that hasn't lived up to its description, which is definitely NOT the case with some accommodation guides. We're now planning a weekend away in Devon or Cornwall and this is the first place I'll be looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to handle, 7 Jun. 2011
By 
This review is from: British Hotels: Special Places to Stay (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay British Hotels & Inns) (Paperback)
It seems good for the organization of a trip in advance- as I am doing .
But if this guide will be worth it, its too early because none of these
destinations we have tested yet :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 27 May 2009
By 
R. Harris "Old gits rock" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Terrific overview of the best small hotels in Britain. Essential referece for those planning a holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews