Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air
This book is a breath of fresh air amongst the many B&B listings on the market. Rather than focus on whether establishments have the requisite number of facilities to qualify for a certain grading, the emphasis is on the friendliness of the hosts, the comfort of the beds, the tastiness of the breakfast or the quality of the views... If you are genuinely looking for a...
Published on 23 Dec 2004

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sawday's B & B
The boook was disappointing in that there are very few recommendations in any given area. Perhaps there are not many special places.
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by Joyce D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 23 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This book is a breath of fresh air amongst the many B&B listings on the market. Rather than focus on whether establishments have the requisite number of facilities to qualify for a certain grading, the emphasis is on the friendliness of the hosts, the comfort of the beds, the tastiness of the breakfast or the quality of the views... If you are genuinely looking for a 'special' place to stay then you need look no further than here. We have recently had wonderful stays at smart, comfortable places in Devon and Bath thanks to the recommendations of Mr Sawday and his team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget about hotels - choose a B&B, 11 Oct 2006
Having recently discovered Alastair Sawday, I have resolved not to look at hotels again unless absolutely necessary. This guide to British Bed & Breakfast lists hundreds of personally run places with a heart. I've already stayed at a few of them, and they live up to the descriptions in the guide. The places I've stayed at are often more stylish than hotels, although they might not always conform to conventional norms, but the most important thing is that they are real homes. When you visit these intimate places, you don't have to wait at a reception desk to register, but are always greeted by the owners (and sometimes by their pets) and helped to carry your bags into your room. There is often some welcoming tea and home-made scones, and a friendly chat with the owners in front of a fire (if the weather is unfavourable), or in the garden in sunny weather. Food is usually served en famille at a communal table, often in an open-plan kitchen with an Aga. These places make you feel a real person again. If you are on your own, you will feel relaxed, and will be sure to get some assistance in planning the day ahead, with maps for walks or cycling, or recommendations of restaurants or pubs or interesting places to visit.

Yet again, it is difficult to generalise. Lots of these B&B's haven't been rated by tourist boards, and don't follow a strict formula. They might be period houses, working farms, cottages, manors - but then the entry on each one tells you all you need to get a clear picture of what a place is like. This book is different from all the others in that descriptions are succinct and individual, and create a clear image in one's mind without all those clichés one finds in most guides. (I would here make an exception of THE GOOD HOTEL GUIDE, which is another book I like - but then that tends to cater for people who are looking for something a bit more up-market.) There are also pictures, and the guide has a website on which there are additional pictures.

Once hooked on Alastair Sawday, you'll be a fan for ever and won't look elsewhere. Sawday has guides to accommodation all over the world, including France, Italy, Greece and even India. And there is also a GREEN PLACES TO STAY which has a world-wide coverage. That is another reason why I like Sawday's guides. They are based on a vision of environmentally friendly tourism. Many of the B&B's included in his guide offer local and organic food and follow green policies. Also, in view of globalisation and global warning, it's high time that we should seek tourism which is less damaging to the environment than long-haul trips. We should look at our feet. Instead of Gran Canaria, think Wales. Instead of Ibiza, go to Scotland. And there is the Lake District, Cornwall, Norfolk, and even London - yes, I've already found lovely places in London which are affordable, and offer wonderful accommodation in real homes. Usually, these places don't have B&B signs outside. You would never know about them unless you bought Alastair Sawday's guide. I really can't think of a bad word to say about this book. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never disappointed, 30 Nov 2005
I have used British Bed and Breakfast several times and have never been disappointed. If I had the time and the money, I'd visit a different place every weekend! The descriptions in the book have always proved accurate, and the hosts friendly but not intrusive. I've recommended it to several friends and they too have been delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and helpful, 11 Oct 2006
We often use Alistair Sawday's British bed and Breakfast and others in the series and swear by them. We have never been disappointed. The reviews are accurate and all the places really are Special with a capital S! The rooms are always beautiful and the breakfasts are to be relished. What's more all the places seem to be very reasonably and fairly priced. The French Bed and Breakfast is also excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best B&B book you can buy., 22 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. K. Terry (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We have used Alastair Sawdays books for a few years now, after staying in one of the recommended farms by sheer luck and found a copy of the book there.

Having purchased later editions, I must now admit that when we plan a UK break of any kind, we use this book as our first guide. This year we even changed location of two weekends away as the accomodation in the area we first wanted to stay in was already booked, so we chose another area and went there instead.

Books of other countries are in a similar format and again are excellent.

The books are accurate, in easy detailed quick reference sections of type, location, singles, wheelchairs etc., etc., and even an index for those on a budget. They ensure wonderful food and excellent hosts that seem like friends you are visiting rather than someone running a business.

An excellent investment, and are even great as a jolly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calm places, calm book!, 30 Oct 2006
The places look so civilised, and so is this book. No hysterical write-ups, just a nice (sorry for that word but it's true) clear, calm write-up, so we can make up our own mind, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From abroad, 11 Oct 2007
Living in France, and not returning very often to the UK, it is essential to have a book that `will keep us up to date with really good places to stay.
We never travel without a copy, and have found so many delightful 'homes abroad'. The only problem is choosing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential for the minibreaker with taste, 10 Oct 2007
By 
F. Miller (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you prefer to stay somewhere with a great breakfast/ decent view/ unusual decor/ classy service/ more charm in general rather than in the cheapest or the most convenient place in town then this is an essential guide. Its not just that these guides have never let me down on any choice I've made from them, but that they have usually surpassed my expectations. They also make it dead easy to find your perfect destination, en route or off track.
Furthermore their interest and knowledge in ethical/ sustainable/ organic options is, I think, fairly unique.
All the Sawday guides are brilliant but this revised version gives one of the most popular (I think) a bit of a facelift.. and some extra places for those of us who've scoured the website and the previous guide already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never stay in a bad B and B again, 10 Oct 2007
By 
If you've ever stayed in a poor Bed and Breakfast or one that you felt was not good value for money this is the book for you. As with all of Alistair Sawday's books this one is superbly presented, expertly researched and jam packed with the top Bed and Breakfast places you can find. Even if you're only going to stay in one place this book is worth it's weight in Gold - one stay and you've got your money's worth. From Suffolk Vineyards to Lighthouses and Castles this will guide you through places of charm, character and beauty. Written well and a very interesting read this is a must for any Bed and Breakfast lovers. Why settle for the ordinary when you can experience the very best that Britain has to offer with the help of this book. I've stayed in over 50 places all over Europe recommended through these guides and have never been disappointed. If you buy one book this year buy this one. If you buy more than one buy another from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must., 10 Nov 2009
By 
Crimas (E R Yorks UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Bed & Breakfast Special Places to Stay (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay British Bed & Breakfast) (Paperback)
If you are looking for somewhere to stay and want a good alternative to hotels for a change, buy this book. The B&Bs in it are not cheap, they can't be for the standards most of them reach. These Sawday books have a great reputation, one which they guard by inspecting the establishments therein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x104ff0c0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews