Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pass the ISEB BA Exam
Will this book let you pass the ISEB Business Analysis Foundations Exam? YES.

You can use only this book to pass the foundation exam.

Have a look on the BCS website at the syllabus for the subject, if you have any experience or exposure in the following it'll help even more:
- Business Analysis (ie PESTLE and Porter)
- Project Management...
Published on 25 July 2011 by Calacorm

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars more general
This is more general book, probably good description of the BA competency model. Unfortunately I founded some bat thinks like a "UML class diagram could be use for data modelling)": (authors writing that ERD and UML class diagram we can use for data modeling, but it's not true.. ERD yes, UML no...).
Published 13 months ago by Jarek Zelinski


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pass the ISEB BA Exam, 25 July 2011
By 
Calacorm (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Business Analysis (Paperback)
Will this book let you pass the ISEB Business Analysis Foundations Exam? YES.

You can use only this book to pass the foundation exam.

Have a look on the BCS website at the syllabus for the subject, if you have any experience or exposure in the following it'll help even more:
- Business Analysis (ie PESTLE and Porter)
- Project Management (ie Prince2 and PMP)
- Modelling Techniques (ie UML, entity and class)
- Software Development Approaches (ie Waterfall and Scrum)
- Financial & Business Documentation (ie NPV, ROI & Prince2)

There are a couple of frameworks in this book I have not come across before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for BCS certification and knowing about Business Analysis, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Analysis (Kindle Edition)
The contents are specific and appropriate for those who are looking to be business analysis certified and start their career in business analysis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business Systems Analysis, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Analysis (Paperback)
This book has just arrived and from what I have saw, it has everything in the book that the subject/ module requires from information to diagrams. I am looking forward to this book to help me understand the diagrams with examples which are in the book, to help me pass this module at university level. There is so much information in the book and I would highly recommend anyone to purchase this book, looks excellent reading and just what I need to help me pass my exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you need, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Analysis (Kindle Edition)
This book is precisely what you need to know about the fundamentals of business analysis. It might be dry sometime but concise topics makes it a joyful read . Definitely worth reading, for new business analysts .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speedy delivery, no problems at all., 25 Feb. 2012
By 
Rachael Hagger (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Business Analysis (Paperback)
I bought this book as support for the ISEB Foundation Certificate in Business Analysis exam. It was an excellent source of revision material. Highly recommend this book to any new BA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good core reference, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
Neil Mcpherson "snapshot" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Analysis (Paperback)
For someone new to Business analysis this is a 'must have' book. In a very compact form it puts techniques into context and is a first class broad focus reference. You will need to read additional texts to get a practitioners view of many of the techniques. As an example Agile development gets a very short treatment.

Overall pleased to have it on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business Analysis, 5 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Business Analysis (Paperback)
The Business Analysis by James Cadle covers some useful and vital areas that BA will need cover in order to provide support to institution or business.
I like the fact it starts with a historic look on this new field and tries to identify several key aspects of being a BA, from System Analysts to more stategy management roles and where a BA should fit in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice overview about business analysis for beginners, 17 Dec. 2011
By 
Pirkka Rannikko (Tampere, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Business Analysis (Paperback)
I guess I was looking for a book about business process modelling when I stumbled upon this one. The reviews here were so positive that I decided to read the book, although it wasn't exactly what I was looking for.

I think the book gives a nice overview about the subject for someone new to the field. It is very well written and relatively short which makes it an easy read. The book won't be as useful for someone already experienced in business analysis, but perhaps it is a mandatory piece in the bookshelf. I am not a business analyst myself, but having a strong UX/UCD and "requirements engineering" background, there was less new information for me than what I had hoped.

In my opinion the most interesting parts of the book were the ones discussing about specific techniques like fishbone diagrams, business activity modeling (BAM), benefits mapping etc. Perhaps the companion title Business Analysis Techniques: 72 Essential Tools for Success would be a worthwhile read for the likes of me looking for practical information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended reading, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Analysis (Paperback)
Recommended reading material for the diploma in Business Requirements from the BCS formerly known as ISEB. I bought the book and passed the exam :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference for ISEB/BCS courses and exams as well as day to day work, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Analysis (Paperback)
This book would be handy not just for Business Analysts, but for Project and Programme Managers, Change Managers and Analysts as well as other disciplines like systems analysts, business development teams etc. it is clearly written, very concise and you will not be surprised by anything in your ISEB/BCS exams if you study this thouroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Business Analysis
Business Analysis by Craig Rollaston (Paperback - 7 July 2010)
Used & New from: £5.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews