Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lucky find
There are plenty of text books that go into excruciating detail on individual techniques - I recently bought a 270 page book Writing Effective Use Cases (Crystal Series for Software Development), and good though it is, all I really seem to need day to day is the 7 pages in this book. My other favourite things in this book are the ice breaking techniques and workshop...
Published on 5 April 2010 by Hillplodder

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only buy if you haven't got the Business Analysis book
This is a good book, but is basically a re-hashing of what is in the Business Analysis book (which covers the BCS Business Analyst Diploma course). I hoped this book would flesh some of the techniques out for me, but it doesn't.

However, if you've not got the BA book and want a one-stop shop for all BA techniques, then this is a great book (though I question...
Published on 30 April 2010 by J. Stupart


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only buy if you haven't got the Business Analysis book, 30 April 2010
By 
J. Stupart (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Analysis Techniques: 72 Essential Tools for Success (Paperback)
This is a good book, but is basically a re-hashing of what is in the Business Analysis book (which covers the BCS Business Analyst Diploma course). I hoped this book would flesh some of the techniques out for me, but it doesn't.

However, if you've not got the BA book and want a one-stop shop for all BA techniques, then this is a great book (though I question some of the techniques as being of any use to a BA. Maybe to a management consultant or strategic change consultant... but I guess that's down to the semantics of job descriptions)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lucky find, 5 April 2010
This review is from: Business Analysis Techniques: 72 Essential Tools for Success (Paperback)
There are plenty of text books that go into excruciating detail on individual techniques - I recently bought a 270 page book Writing Effective Use Cases (Crystal Series for Software Development), and good though it is, all I really seem to need day to day is the 7 pages in this book. My other favourite things in this book are the ice breaking techniques and workshop section in general, storyboarding, interviewing and mindmaps.

All are given enough treatment to give you the basics if you don't already know the technique (sufficient to work out if it's worth a more in depth study), or to remind you of the key points if it's something you've already previously learnt.

I have loads of books on business analysis, project management and general management, but this is the only one I consistently refer to. I'm thinking of buying a second copy so I can have one at home as well as in the office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starting point for any analysis, 20 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Business Analysis Techniques: 72 Essential Tools for Success (Paperback)
This book contains an excellent collection of tools and models that serves as a perfect starting point when engaging in analyses (whether it being huge og small analyses). Of course the book doesn't do the thinking for you, and it doesn contain detailed instructions. But it provides a superb overview, that helps you do further research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for quick reference, 16 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Analysis Techniques: 72 Essential Tools for Success (Paperback)
"A very handy book to recollect/review management frameworks and business analysis tools during client consulting and business case development"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book -- great quick reference, 14 April 2014
This book will be of interest to practicing business analysts as well as those learning the profession. It provides a whole range of useful techniques, and is a useful 'aide memoir' for even the most experienced business analyst.

It is also useful when you're faced with an unusual project or situation -- you can flick through and look for inspiration, perhaps uncovering a technique that you had forgotten about.

This is one of the four books that I keep within arms length of my desk. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book and easy to read, 4 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its a great way to understand business analysis. the book is laid out well and is full of easy to follow examples
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No excuses, 19 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Business Analysis Techniques: 72 Essential Tools for Success (Paperback)
This book is superb.

I do own, the Business Analysis book as well and deem them both very useful. In the day to day throws of a BA this book will definitely aid you. In fact, I'd say that a lot of the techniques are not exclusive to the role of a BA, I can imagine a lot of managers (all levels) would find this book a great resource from which to make a start on understanding where they are, where they want to go and how they might get there.

For some techniques I feel the book is only a starting place for your knowledge (the authors recognise this) however what I find of most value is a.) there a specific techniques to use and b.) when and where they are best applied.

I now have no excuses not to do a good job as a BA....damn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could do with diagrams, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Analysis Techniques: 72 Essential Tools for Success (Paperback)
A really good reference book covering just about everything in a short paragraph, but it's light on example diagrams so you have to go an look online for those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carry it everywhere I go, 20 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Business Analysis Techniques: 72 Essential Tools for Success (Paperback)
This is a great book, detailing the various techniques a BA will need/use.
Team members are always asking to borrow this book!
This book has made me a more rounded BA as I am now confident using various methods to elict, document, deliver requirements.
Stakeholder analysis, business case, Rqmt's specification documents etc...
Very well structured put together book.
A must for all BA's or indeed IT professionals :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and easy to read, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and easy to read. Perhaps some scenario-based exercise to work through at the end of each chapter would make it better, just to ensure the information has been properly understood and can be applied. This is, after all, supposed to be a practical guide meant to aid Business Analysts in the execution of their jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Business Analysis Techniques: 72 Essential Tools for Success
Business Analysis Techniques: 72 Essential Tools for Success by Paul Turner (Paperback - 1 Feb. 2010)
Used & New from: £16.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews