Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2014
I am really enjoying this welcome addition to my collection of books on idiom. It's pretty & functional...terrific. Collections of words are useful & the charming illustrations are a real source of pleasure.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Excellent book, beautifully illustrated containing lots of forgotten collective nouns
Would make a very informative Christmas present.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I have Mr Palin's other books and was very excited to receive this one too. It does not disappoint! Beautiful illustrations and fascinating facts that reaffirm the loveliness and complete bonkersness of the English language. Buy it immediately!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Bought this for my younger brother, who loved it! Lots of colourful pictures and many collective nouns we never knew about!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Bought s a Christmas gift for an elderly friend. Very informative
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
Bought this for my wife's Xmas present, well one of her many presents not daring to buy her but a single present.

It's a beautifully illustrated book but I have no confidence at all on how factually accurate it is having read the rather stunning statement on page 5 that snakes are warm-blooded animals. Duh?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Bought as a present, delighted with illustrations and style of writing
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
This was bought as part of a birthday gift - I think she liked it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Sort of book you can
pick up any time and find something new both my wife and myself are often referring to it
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
A lovely little book with delightful colour illustrations, a good present to buy a animal and bird lover. A welcome possession.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)