Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a terrific Book!, 25 Nov 2008
By 
PJ SMITH (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book offers everything the keen salmon fisherman could want or ask for. It has a huge collection of flies - at over 1,800 the publishers' say it's the largest collection ever published and I for one believe them.
The layout is very clear and the illustrations are superb. Moreover there are three separate indexes which enable you to find flies by name, creator and type so there is no excuse for not finding the flies you are looking for.
This is a terrific achievement by Chris Mann and at a very competitive price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Illustrated Directory of Salmon Flies, 17 Dec 2008
By 
N. E. Browne (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This directory is an important and most welcome reference book. It will be essential not only for fly tyers but for all salmon fishers. We have all at one time or another been told about or read a river report which gives the names of successful fly patterns with which we are unfamiliar, this book will put an end to our blank looks and, perhaps it is too much to hope for, our blank days. It is well illustrated and excellently indexed, I consider it a major work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Illustrated Directory of Salmon Flies (Hardcover), 3 Jan 2010
By 
W. Simpkins "FLY TYER" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fantastic directory of Salmon Fies. A great credit to Cris Mann for publishing such a great informative book. I would recomend this book to any one interested in fly fishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for a friend who is passionate about fishing and has been making his own flies for years, he was extremely pleased and was looking forward to the challenge of making flies that he had never come across before. It is beautifully illustrated and a wonderful gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illustrated Directory of Salmon Flies., 1 Jun 2010
By 
Excellent book, only improvement I could suggest is slightly more narrative on how to tie the flies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unreal, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Illustrated Directory of Salmon Flies (Paperback)
Pages were pristine condition also
Not a mark on the book. I will certainly be buying off you again
If your into salmon fly tying this is the book for you
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive guide to Salmon Flies., 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Illustrated Directory of Salmon Flies (Paperback)
Magnificent and superb! Beautiful pictures and excellent text. All a salmon fisher could ever wish for, but is it now a little out of date? I look forward to a new edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good books, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Illustrated Directory of Salmon Flies (Paperback)
hi just wanted to say what a great book this is it has some great flies in there which also can be used for seatrout fishing.this book has very good pics of salmon and steelhead flies with all materials listed which is great.all flies show great colour aswell.if any of you want a good book or any books amazon is the place to go looking around on here you will be amazed what you can find and get for a great price all the fishing books i have found which have all bin used have all bin in very good condition like new.also they do good fly fishing tackle just have a look around and you will find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Illustrated Directory of Salmon Flies (Paperback)
An absolutely superb book, the illustrations are fabulous and although a sizeable section of this book deals with flies for Steelhead, which we dont have in the U.K., I dont feel that this detracts from the relevance to the U.K. angler. I would highly recommend this book to both fly anglers and fly tyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a book !!, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Illustrated Directory of Salmon Flies (Paperback)
.Brilliant book. Nicely illustrated gives a brief history of the fly and a three way cross reference. Best money I have ever spent.
Only down point is that I would have published as two books .....one for salmon and another for steelhead,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Illustrated Directory of Salmon Flies
The Complete Illustrated Directory of Salmon Flies by Chris Mann (Paperback - 19 April 2012)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews