Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fun way to catch lots of big coarse fish!
Flyfishing requires amazing casting and tying skills, a PhD in entomology, a large wallet, and only works for trout and salmon, right? Wrong! Flyfishing is a superb and often simple method for catching coarse fish, and not only that, in my experience it often selects the bigger ones too. After all, what is that wily old fish going to be most wary of - yet another...
Published on 27 April 2012 by Mr Greenfingers

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great on techniques
I am a course fisherman thinking of trying fly fishing. This book goes into great detail about how to locate and tempt each species. A couse fisherman already knows this, what he needs it detail on choice of tackle, how to make different types of cast, etc. This book would however be great for a fly fisherman wanting to try to catch course fish rather than trout.
Published 22 months ago by M. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fun way to catch lots of big coarse fish!, 27 April 2012
This review is from: Flyfishing for Coarse Fish (Hardcover)
Flyfishing requires amazing casting and tying skills, a PhD in entomology, a large wallet, and only works for trout and salmon, right? Wrong! Flyfishing is a superb and often simple method for catching coarse fish, and not only that, in my experience it often selects the bigger ones too. After all, what is that wily old fish going to be most wary of - yet another boilie/bright yellow maggot, or that tempting bug which it has happily munched all it's life? You will certainly have a lot more fun catching them on the fly, and that is why you should be going fishing in the first place!

Fans of Dominic's newspaper and magazine articles will be familiar with his style, which takes you right to the riverbank. He has a deep appreciation for his quarry and the beautiful habitats they are often found in, and combines this with great wit and some terrific anecdotes (my favourite here - the story of Bob James hooking a giant Wels catfish on a dry fly imitating a drowning swallow chick!). But it is just as much an instruction manual - each key species is given a seperate chapter and the correct approach, tackle, leaders and flies are discussed in each. There is even a final chapter giving full step-by-step tying instructions with photos for important flies, including many which can be easily tyed by beginners (which I fully recommend - catching fish on your own flies is even more fun). In short, there is everything you should need here to get started. This book should appeal to both 'coarse' and 'game' anglers - indeed as Dominic rightly points out, why is such an artificial distinction made between these disciplines anyway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book well written, 1 May 2012
By 
Mr. Clive Edwards "flyboxfan" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flyfishing for Coarse Fish (Hardcover)
This is a superbly well written, well researched book, you know that this young man has been, done it and got the tea shirt. He covers all of the usual suspects, and then more, and then goes on to give a few of those that you've not thought about.We all know about fly fishing for rudd, chub, carp and dace but how about trying for eels and big bream (what sort of mind thinks about fly fishing for eels). He does and what he says is well thought out and his suggestions are brilliant. I think that this is a book that I will come back to time and time again. If I want a new fly fishing challenge then this the book I am going to get off the shelf first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fly fishing for course fish by dominic garnett, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flyfishing for Coarse Fish (Hardcover)
i have been wanting to have a go at fly fishing and as i mostly fish for course fish i thought this book would be very helpful, and that is what i found, the book lists the most common course fish to go for on the fly and how to go about it.
well written and with good photos, the chapters are well thought out and with all the information you need to go about this form off fishing.
i would recommend this book to anyone who wants to try this form of our sport, and i hope you enjoy the book as much as i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfussy and very helpful, as well as being enjoyable to read., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flyfishing for Coarse Fish (Hardcover)
As an experienced fly-fisherman whose efforts have been concentrated so far on game fish I have found this an excellent 'cross-over' book. It tells you in a very unfussy way what flies, equipment (i.e. weight of rod and line and other items), locations, and tactics to use for coarse fish and how to deal with varying conditions. It has already helped me catch a few pike on the fly which I might otherwise have missed, and I would feel comfortable trying for other coarse fish using this book. It gives a real leg up to 'reading' unfamiliar water in search of unfamiliar fish and how to fish a fly to them to give you the best chance of catching them.

The other joy is that the book demystifies a form of fishing that is really very simple at heart - there's far less to master than with most types of coarse fishing in terms of equipment and techniques. The equipment needed is limited, simple, and highly portable. Learning to cast a fly requires an element of timing, skill, and technique, and introduces an immediate barrier to enjoyment for true beginners, but with a well-balanced outfit it's not difficult to learn to cast adequately very quickly; there are plenty of good videos on youtube, and a 30 minute casting lesson would work wonders for most people at a bearable cost. The book quite rightly concentrates on what really catches a fish - what lure/imitation to use and how to fish it in the water. No fish awards marks for casting, they are interested in how you fish the fly - the book understands this well.

The book is not a comprehensive catalogue of every sort of fly that could be used or every sort of technique of fishing a fly, nor is it an instruction manual for casting - it could be all of those things, and therefore longer. However, I don't agree at all with the reviewer who says that someone who has fished for a couple of seasons could produce a more informative guide - they could produce a longer guide for sure, but that's not the same thing.

When I read this book it occurred to me that the writer had learned many hard lessons over several years of making mistakes and trying to catch fish in many different sorts of water, he does not wear that learning heavily, he gets to the nub of his subject, and there is very little unnecessary material in this book. It is easy to read and is deceptively light, but it conveys a substantial amount of information and gets you into an unfussy and unintimidated way of thinking about what you are really trying to achieve and why, which is what you need if you are to work out things for yourself on the water's edge. That is far more enjoyable and useful than following or trying to remember dryly written detailed instructions.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read and extremely helpful!, 26 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. J. A. Garrett "JAG" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flyfishing for Coarse Fish (Hardcover)
If you want to learn about techniques and equipment needed to fly fish for course fish then this is the book for you! Dom is a very accomplished writer and this is very enjoyable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Flyfishing for Coarse Fish (Hardcover)
It is good book on how to fly fish for coarse fish
It has plenty of good tips and what to use etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fly fishing for coarse fish, 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: Flyfishing for Coarse Fish (Hardcover)
As a trout fly fisherman myself I was interested to learn a different angle to this method of fly fishing and Dominic certainly makes this book compelling reading as a fly tying consultant for Turrel his expertise is evident in this book recommended reading and a must to have in your collection. Keep up the good work Dominic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book review, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flyfishing for Coarse Fish (Hardcover)
interesting alternative fly fishing book. Not read through yet but quick lool at content seems promising. Well known author who still fly fishes as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flyfishing for Coarse Fish, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Desmond G. Brown (Wilts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flyfishing for Coarse Fish (Hardcover)
NOW I KNOW WHAT I'VE BEEN CATCHING!! An interesting book that stimulates the imagination. Good present for a fly fisherman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flyfishing for Coarse Fish (Hardcover)
If you are a fly game fisherman looking to try something different then this is the book. Found this book easy to read, informative with good photographs and is all about fishing in British waters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flyfishing for Coarse Fish
Flyfishing for Coarse Fish by Dominic Garnett (Hardcover - 10 May 2012)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews