Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a no brainer - just get it!
I am relatively new to fly fishing, battling with challenging techniques, everything from casting that little bit of fluff and feathers to actually tying my own flies. I am pretty much on top of this side of things now, reading the water and knowing what fly to use on any given situation has however completely eluded me.

Many books, magazines and online...
Published on 12 May 2010 by Astranovum

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fly bible
This little book is very useful to the novice fly angler as it gives you a good understanding of trout flies and when to use them its also small enough to take on the bank with you.
Published on 19 Aug 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a no brainer - just get it!, 12 May 2010
This review is from: Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch (Paperback)
I am relatively new to fly fishing, battling with challenging techniques, everything from casting that little bit of fluff and feathers to actually tying my own flies. I am pretty much on top of this side of things now, reading the water and knowing what fly to use on any given situation has however completely eluded me.

Many books, magazines and online articles later I am still not much wiser. A nugget here and a gem there perhaps but that's about it. That was until I discovered 'Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch'. What a revelation! This compact little book contains just about all the info most of us would ever need clearly laid out with illustrations of the life cycle of each insect pus the patterns of the flies that represent it. The material is in chronological order working through the season clearly showing flies that work best on running or still water thus leaving little to doubt.

I dare say there are a number of seasoned anglers who feel they are above all this. However, judging from some of the vague, misleading and ill informed advice I have received at the water's edge I think perhaps they might like to reconsider. Personally I cannot recommend it highly enough, I wouldn't go out without it and for the price, it's an absolute no brainer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Guide to Matching The Hatch Vs Matching The Hatch - Stillwater, River and Stream, 25 Feb 2012
This review is from: Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch (Paperback)
I couldn't make up my mind whether to buy this book, "Pocket Guide to Matching The Hatch" by Peter Lapsley and Cyril Bennett, or the larger book by Pat O Reilly entitled "Matching the Hatch-Stillwater, River and Stream". In the end I bought both. Since I thought other fishermen might have the same choice to make I'm making a comparison of the 2. I spent a lot of time over the last number of years trying to identify flies and the artificial fly patterns to match them with some successes but a lot more failures. The Pocket Guide gets straight down to business with pictures of the flies and a picture of the pattern side by side along with the times of year to expect them to hatch and a map of the UK and Ireland to show the locations where they hatch. Even better, there's a double page with a chart which shows the flies by month, the patterns to use and the page number of the book on which you can find the information including pictures of the fly and the pattern. This is the kind of book that you'd like to have with you on the bank when you're fishing. It is a nice size for putting in a bag or large pocket but unfortunately it's not laminated.

There's also some information on the life cycle of flies which is useful, but the book concentrates more on matching the hatch. In comparison Pat O Reilly's book goes into much more detail about identifying flies by giving information about their life-cycle, explaining what to look for on a fly in order to classify it and points out that matching the class, of fly, can be as useful as identifying the name of the fly since fish look for certain outline features rather than an exact match. This book also shows pictures of flies and matching patterns, as well as fly-tying details if you tie your own flies, but it's more a book to read at home and if you study it well it does help to catch fish. The book gives a list of 7 flies that should catch fish for the whole season and another 12 that are useful to have. In the past I bought flies that local fishermen recommended and while some of these were good a lot were not. This book narrows down the choice from hundreds or thousands to 19 that work all season.

So which is the better book?. I would say that they compliment each other rather than cover the same information, although there is of course some cross over. I would recommend that both should be got. However if you only wanted to buy one, the choice would depend on the type of person you are. If you just want a quick fix to get catching fish then the pocket book is probably the best choice. If you are the kind of person who likes to read and re-read a book until you get it into your head the Pat O Reilly book gives more information on identifying the fly class even when you can't identify the particular fly and this would be your best choice.

I hope that if you're reading this review it helps you make your decision. Tight lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I've been waiting for!, 16 April 2010
By 
C. F. Simpson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch (Paperback)
This is an outstanding little reference book for those who find it difficult 'matching the hatch' to the particular artificial. The fact that it shows picture of all the corresponding flies to the artificial is a simple but brilliant idea. There is also a lot of additional useful information. I suddenly find I don't need all the varieties I have and carry a much smaller flybox! Success to date 100%! Strongly recommended....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 26 April 2010
This review is from: Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch (Paperback)
This guide is ideal for anglers having little or no knowledge of the more important insects and flies living near to the water. It is produced in a concise and straight forward way in a pocket sized guide. Natural flies are identified and expected times of the year for their appearance are shown as well as a recommended artificial match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 6 Nov 2010
By 
Bill1 (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch (Paperback)
Brilliant. Tells you all you need to know unless you are a professor of entomology or your name is Skues. Small enough to fit in the pocket to take to the water. The description of rises is very useful. Describes the fly, habitats and seasons and suggests an imitation. No padding, no waffle, no problem. For beginners and intermediates, it is indispensible - unless you like to chuck and chance it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Guide to Matching The Hatch, 4 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch (Paperback)
Excellent pocket book providing enough information to enable the right fly to be selected for the month of the year, and for the part of the country you are fishing in. Good colour pages identifying the nymph, dun and spinner stage and also the fly the closely resembling each stage of development. This is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matching the Hatch, 2 Mar 2011
This review is from: Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch (Paperback)
This little book is great to slip in your pocket when going fly fishing either on the river or a still water. It has clear pictures of the actual fly and the artificial fly. The rings make it easy to use even when the hands are cold. Very useful for the novice fly fisher or as a teaching aid for adults or children. Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 11 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch (Paperback)
THIS IS A GREAT LITTLE REFERENCE GUIDE IN A WELL THOUGHT OUT FORMAT. IT TELLS YOU WHICH FLIES/INSECTS ARE "IN SEASON" AND THEREFORE LIKELY TO CATCH, AND IN WHICH STAGE OF THEIR DEVELOPMENT YOU ARE BEST ADVISED TO IMMITATE. THE READER IS THEN ABLE TO FISH, NOT ONLY IN THE RIGHT MANNER BUT ALSO WITH ADDED CONFIDENCE AND EXPECTATION. EXRTEMELY INFORMATIVE AND "DOES EXACTLY WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 7 Jun 2010
By 
J. Owen (Staffs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch (Paperback)
The first 65 pages deal with various insects to imitate e.g midges, olives and damselflies. On the left hand page there are images of the actual insect with the artificial beneath it. The Larva, Nymph and Adult stage is shown. At the bottom of the page, there are boxes indicating which months of the year the insect appears and a small map of the UK & Eire, coloured in to show which area of the country has the insect. Still water & river are also indicated.

On the opposite page the text indicates size of the stage, colour, hook size & artificial fly name are given together with how to fish the fly e.g static.

Pages 66 to 71 look at fly patterns and pages 73 to 86 look at life cycles with diagrams of the stages. Pages 79 to 86 deal with triggers, how trout see, at what level should a fly be fished and rise forms. The final pages are given over to a hatch chart cross indexed to the first 65 pages an index and acknowledgements etc.

The spiral bound book is ideal for quick identification or preplanning the flies to select. I don't think it will stand up well to wet weather, perhaps the publishers will consider making a later edition laminated.

If you also tie your own flies, a good tying guide would complete your reference material, I'd suggest looking at The Fly Tying Bible by Peter Gathercole The Fly-Tying Bible: 100 Deadly Trout and Salmon Flies in Step-By-Step Photographs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fly bible, 19 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch (Paperback)
This little book is very useful to the novice fly angler as it gives you a good understanding of trout flies and when to use them its also small enough to take on the bank with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch
Pocket Guide to Matching the Hatch by Peter Lapsley (Paperback - 14 April 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews