Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the Year
Literary, laugh a minute page-turner about Kenya's eccentrics, as seen though the eyes of their vet. The book is a panoply of exquisite observations, wittily expressed and with a modesty that belies the author's remarkable veterinary and personal accomplishments. Featuring virtually every creature from the camel to the chameleon, against the rich and often outrageous...
Published on 14 July 2007 by Zoe Banks

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious reading
I started to read this book with enthusiasm but rather quickly felt I was losing the will to live! The author gives far too much detail before getting to the point and the style of writing is far too rambling for me. I got only a short way into the book before I had to abandon it for something a little easier to read - maybe I will go back to it at a later date.
Published 3 months ago by Arekuna


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the Year, 14 July 2007
Literary, laugh a minute page-turner about Kenya's eccentrics, as seen though the eyes of their vet. The book is a panoply of exquisite observations, wittily expressed and with a modesty that belies the author's remarkable veterinary and personal accomplishments. Featuring virtually every creature from the camel to the chameleon, against the rich and often outrageous backdrop of a veritable Bayeux Tapestry of owners, this is a startlingly unique and highly valuable addition to each of the genres into which it so easily fits. It will be read for years to come - and would especially lend itself to being read aloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must to read, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Betty Kokholm "B.Kokholm" (denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And Miles to go Before I Sleep (Paperback)
This capturing book now in paperback with a map covering the most of Kenya where the authors daily life among animals and people unfolds .We experience life in all its facets .Exhilarating, exciting exhausting, exasperating, as his work can be in sometimes extreme conditions which would make the most of us run miles The authors passionate involvement in the work he does combined with a vast knowledge of all kinds of animals keep us turning the pages. The people he encounters he portrays with a wit and insight quite exceptional.There is no emotion not expressed we laugh, (very often), we cry, we hope and we are deeply moved.This book has it all Betty Kokholm Trige Denmark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And miles to go before I sleep, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Miles to go Before I Sleep (Paperback)
And Miles to go Before I Sleep
This contribution is in addition to the seven five star recommendations already on line.
I first met Hugh Cran in 1970 whilst stationed at Nakuru., and again earlier this year. He was and remains a single handed practising veterinary surgeon in a developing Kenya. A consistent character in a changing world.
Imagine being on 24 hour call seven days a week, 365 days a year as Hugh has been on occasion. Many people, some (e.g. teachers and politicians) in positions where they guide the lives of others, have no experience of such a lifestyle. Nor can they accurately imagine it. Unlike the established referral procedure of human medicine, every clients case of animal disease stops with Hugh. Such immersion in a life style does focus the mind and perhaps partly explains the accuracy of details from 40 years ago. I recall some of his characters and his descriptions are remarkably accurate.
Whites, Africans and their fascinating interface are described. His work also takes him amongst different strata of society. Whilst a gregarious character who meets lots of people, he is usually left to his own resources. He lives what many in the UK would regard as a continuous adventure. The toughness of the environment and often his work is treated as routine. He records some quite serious illnesses of his own with sardonic humour.
One agrees with the reviewer in the Veterinary Record that this book is "of real literary merit" . It can be dipped into at intervals for a satisfying read .
The publishers have requested a post 1978 follow up, which will appear in due course.

Trevor Jones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable and evocative, 5 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. P. Mcmahon (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read about Hugh Cran's life in Kenya as a vet - both the descriptions of a vet's work, and of the ex-pat life in Kenya (including the roads) were well written and enjoyable - pity it didn't cover more recently but maybe there will be a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must to read, 11 Aug 2009
By 
Betty Kokholm "B.Kokholm" (denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A book which had to be written and has to be read .The author has a wide knowledge and deep passion for the work he does among animals of all kinds in Kenya . This combined with humour,warmth and a quick perception of the nature of their human owners makes his book a rivoting experience. Read about the colourfull purple Pete and the frightened young Megan (afraid of losing her pony )but Hugh Cran can use her help to the well being of both and the success of the operation.The experience in the flying above kenya and on the roads below is in itself an adventure Elizabeth Kokholm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable read, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Miles to go Before I Sleep (Paperback)
I must admit I was not sure what to expect but had ordered the book as I liked the title (!) and also enjoy reading about pioneer days. I was pleasantly suprised and enjoyed this book very much. It is well written and although some of the procedures are explained in perhaps too much detail for a non vetinarian reader the stories of life & characters he meets are very interesting.
I hope there will be another book that will tell us how his life progressed over later years and if he remained a bachelor or is he still propping up the bar at the aero club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful journey through the eyes of a vet, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Miles to go Before I Sleep (Paperback)
I have really enjoyed this book. Having been brought up in Kenya in the area that Hugh Cran writes about I have been transported back in time to join with him on his many dusty bumpy journeys to various farms and and to meet the colourful characters which he met on these journeys. There is so much truth in his rather tongue in cheek narrative, the laid back Africans, the hearty and jovial farmers who always as we did welcomed the vet when he managed to turn up either with a cup of tea or something stronger if it was an evening visit. The book is well written and Hugh Cran has done well to include so many characters and events into one book. I hope other readers enjoy it as much as I did. Well done Hugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of an african veterinary., 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Miles to go Before I Sleep (Paperback)
If you love animals and you are fond of stories about life in Africa, this is an absolute must.
Dr. Cran arrived in Kenya just after independence ran like a bonfire through the african continent.
People have to make do under new circumstances and the dear vet has to cope with underequipment and a
huge workload. His never failing optimism and wonderful sense of humour make for entertaining tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 18 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent description of life as a young vet in conditions that can only be described as medieval. Mr Cran perfectly explains the difficulties dealing with his varied clientele, the climate and the new diseases which he certainly would have never encountered in Aberdeenshire. The book does not carry on into more recent times, but I hope Mr Cran finds time to write a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AND MILES TO GO BEFORE I SLEEP, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Miles to go Before I Sleep (Paperback)
A LOVELY READABLE BOOK. ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE LIVED IN THE COUNTRY AND KNOW EXACTLY WHAT AND WHERE THE AUTHORS IS TALKING ABOUT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And Miles to go Before I Sleep
And Miles to go Before I Sleep by Hugh Cran (Paperback - 9 April 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews