Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old dog = new tricks, 29 Nov 2011
By 
D. J. Hope "Dailaffin" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Kayak Handling: A Practical Manual, Essential Knowledge for Beginner and Intermediate Paddlers (Paperback)
As an intermittent paddler who goes back to a wooden angmassalik, I can almost claim to have seen most of it (certainly not all of it). However it is nice to have much of what you've learned summed up in words and pictures. The book uses modern coaching method as a starter and fills the pages with constructive learning backed up by photos that help technique rather than fill pages. I can't wait for the accompanying WW kayak or canoe book. Highly reccomended. Don't read it cover to cover - sit and dip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top tips for beginners: sea kayaking, 3 Aug 2011
This review is from: Sea Kayak Handling: A Practical Manual, Essential Knowledge for Beginner and Intermediate Paddlers (Paperback)
I found this to be a useful book, dealing with techniques and skills for sea kayaking. This is complemented by a series of brief videos on the website which do make it all look a bit easy. Note that he doesn't cover the Eskimo roll and other roll techniques - as he says there are entire books devoted to that topic. He also doesn't say much about how to handle tide/wind etc, so I've given it a 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New to kayaking, 12 July 2011
This review is from: Sea Kayak Handling: A Practical Manual, Essential Knowledge for Beginner and Intermediate Paddlers (Paperback)
I bought this book as a guide for my 12 year old son who has recently taken up kayaking. It is an excellent book and essential reading before our trip to cornwall which will be our first attempt at sea kayaking. My son has found the book easy to read and it has provided me as a parent with sound advice on how to approach this sport safely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good practical manual, 21 Feb 2011
By 
Ga Bronsdon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea Kayak Handling: A Practical Manual, Essential Knowledge for Beginner and Intermediate Paddlers (Paperback)
the book does exactly what it says on the title and was a very good practical manual on sea kayak handling. the language used was clear and concise and explained everything in a manner suitable for beginners but with enough detail for more experienced kayakers. excellent use of pictures to support the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality book, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Kayak Handling: A Practical Manual, Essential Knowledge for Beginner and Intermediate Paddlers (Paperback)
Started on my 3* sea kayak progression and have found this book to be of great interest and would recommend this and for further reading..Rough water handling and also Sea Kayak navigation. Money well spent to accompany my journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Kayak Handling: A Practical Manual, Essential Knowledge for Beginner and Intermediate Paddlers (Paperback)
As a Coach I've been debating which book to buy for some time; in the end chose this one, I wish I had chosen it sooner. The pictures are brilliant as is the explanation on the strokes I will use it in conjunction with coaching on Club Nights.
If you look just inside the cover it refers you to a website where you can see the strokes in action, this in conjunction with the book makes it brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manoeuvrable, 10 May 2014
By 
D. W. Young "the magician's nephew" (Blackford, Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Kayak Handling: A Practical Manual, Essential Knowledge for Beginner and Intermediate Paddlers (Paperback)
A good guide to the essentials of getting a sea kayak to do what you want it to. Good online videos, too. A spur to practise and develop skills - provided you take it out onto the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Knowledge for beginners, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Kayak Handling: A Practical Manual, Essential Knowledge for Beginner and Intermediate Paddlers (Paperback)
Although I have been paddling for years found this helpful to inprove my handling. had'nt realised how many bad habbits I'd picked up over the years. This good is good for a beginner and for those wanting to brush up on better techque before teaching others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For me this was the pwefwct gwt-started and the develop instruction., 17 Dec 2012
By 
Erik Dalfelt "Promovie" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Kayak Handling: A Practical Manual, Essential Knowledge for Beginner and Intermediate Paddlers (Paperback)
I have had tis one as as akind of reference book for over a year and it has helped me a stet at a time. uperb for all starters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sea kayak handling, 14 May 2010
By 
Liotta Gianfranco (catania, sicily, italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea Kayak Handling: A Practical Manual, Essential Knowledge for Beginner and Intermediate Paddlers (Paperback)
Sea kayak handling explained in all its forms. It is a book you can learn a lot from. Permits a complete handling for every sea condition, a must for te all-rounder kayaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews