Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent boof for those interested in the wildlife around them in the Welsh Mountains
This book is an excellent introduction to the wildlife of the Welsh mountains. I bought it after being instructed by Mike on a Mountain Leader assessment. It is clear and detailed without being unreadable to non scientists. The photographs are good and the idea of seperating it into 4 seasons is a great way to break it up. I would recomend this book to anyone...
Published on 6 Mar 2010 by Ed

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good In Parts
Mike Raine's natural history of Snowdonia starts off promisingly enough with an excellent introduction to the geology of the area. Thereafter, it seems that Raine's enthusiasm for the content waned and, by the end of the book, it had petered out all together. Of course, Janet Summer authored the geology section and one can't help wondering if she should have finished the...
Published 23 months ago by John Dexter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent boof for those interested in the wildlife around them in the Welsh Mountains, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Ed (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment (Paperback)
This book is an excellent introduction to the wildlife of the Welsh mountains. I bought it after being instructed by Mike on a Mountain Leader assessment. It is clear and detailed without being unreadable to non scientists. The photographs are good and the idea of seperating it into 4 seasons is a great way to break it up. I would recomend this book to anyone venturing into the Snowdonia National Park with an interest on the plants and animals that the may see. A fantastic read in the armchair too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellant Book that will compliment a day in the hills, 30 April 2010
By 
S. Ellis (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment (Paperback)
I have been involved with taking people of all ages into the hills of North Wales and elsewhere for over 30 + years. This is the first book that I have come across that is concise and easy to understand and shows people aspects of the hills that are often overlooked throughout the four seasons.
I would recommend it to anyone thinking of undertaking the Mountain Leadership Award , indeed it should be essential reading for all aspirant leaders and others who are interested in more than just going for a walk in the hills of not just Snowdonia but the hills of the UK in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nature of Snowdonia: Abeginners Guide to the Upland Environment, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment (Paperback)
Found this book was exactly what it said. A really good introduction to the geology, flora and fauna of Snowdonia. It was very thorough but easy to read and well illustrated. It was also small enough to fit in a day rucksack to take out in Snowdonia with me. I liked the division into spring, summer and autumn, so I can concentrate on what I am most likely to see in any one season. It has really inspired me to look more closely around me, when I go out walking in Snowdonia, and also left me wanting to know more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nature of Snowdonia: A beginners guide to the upland environment, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment (Paperback)
Very informative on the geography, flora and fauna of Snowdonia, but is relevant for other upland environments also. It does not go into too much detail on any particular topic, so this gives the reader a good basic knowledge of a range of outdoor subjects. It will be invaluable to anyone taking the Walking Group Leader or Mountain Leader accreditations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential guide, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment (Paperback)
This is a very useful book for both quick reference and taking with you on a trip in the hills. I bought this book after being instructed by Mike on an ML Refresher and his knowledge on the mountain environment is extensive. This is a really easy to read book suitable for anyone who is interested in learning more about Snowdonia without being baffled by science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for ML, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment (Paperback)
I picked this up to help me sharpen on the environmental side of my Mountain Leader Assessment, highly recommended!

It's easy to just pick up and have a flick through to remind yourself of the different plants, rocks, animals etc, and gives a short description of uses, Latin name, and other little facts. Has a nice extra bit on Myths and legends in the back as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment (Paperback)
If you're scratching up to take a mountain assessment such as ML, this is a definite must read.

The book not only includes high quality photos of all the nature described, but also includes a decent amount of history, such as ancient uses of plants, which walkers should find very interesting.

Very interesting read for walkers and group leaders to learn and pass on to others, written by a genuine expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good In Parts, 16 Nov 2012
By 
John Dexter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment (Paperback)
Mike Raine's natural history of Snowdonia starts off promisingly enough with an excellent introduction to the geology of the area. Thereafter, it seems that Raine's enthusiasm for the content waned and, by the end of the book, it had petered out all together. Of course, Janet Summer authored the geology section and one can't help wondering if she should have finished the whole job!

The problem isn't one of breadth, but one of depth: in places Raine even resorts to sentence fragments (for instance, see p.104) so little has he to say about some of the flora and fauna the that he thought worthy of inclusion. This would (perhaps) have been forgivable had the pictures been of sufficient quality to compensate or had Raine included explanatory illustrations: however, the former are (for the most part) too low in resolution to be very helpful and the latter are entirely absent. The result is a book that is neither manual nor field guide and therefore it fails to find its niche.

On a more positive note, I suppose that it might prove useful for identifying some of the wild life that I encounter on my travels around the Park and I will almost certainly be keeping my eyes peeled for the 8" Ground Beetle (p.101) that is rumoured to roam the hills!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good course information., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment (Paperback)
This book has lots of information to make anyone's stay in Snowdonia a much more interesting experience,it has already paid for itself with the help it gave me on a recent course.Delivery good Packaging good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for outdoor enthusiasts, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment (Paperback)
Mike's book is the clearest guide out there for all of us outdoor enthuisasts. If you are on the mountain assessment programme, this is an invaluable companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nature of Snowdonia: A Beginner's Guide to the Upland Environment
£12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews