Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a book from the heart - worth reading
The story of the Sam Hammam years at Cardiff City Football Club as seen by those who got closest to a man who promised the earth but eventually walked away in controversial circumstances..

Through the eyes of the author and other Cardiff fans we see how Sam Hammam persuaded the fans of the club that he was for real and was destined to take the club to the...
Published on 17 July 2008 by Bluebirds4Me

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dreams
For anyone with even a remote interest in Cardiff City football club, Sam Hammam, or even the machinations of club-level football politics in general, this book is compulsory reading.

As a Cardiff City fan it came as no great surprise that the book was interesting. What did surprise me was that it is also entertaining. It is well-structured and well-written. I...
Published on 7 Aug 2008 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a book from the heart - worth reading, 17 July 2008
This review is from: From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis (Hardcover)
The story of the Sam Hammam years at Cardiff City Football Club as seen by those who got closest to a man who promised the earth but eventually walked away in controversial circumstances..

Through the eyes of the author and other Cardiff fans we see how Sam Hammam persuaded the fans of the club that he was for real and was destined to take the club to the Premier League. However, the club was set to fall short of his pledge and was left drowning in the sea of a £24M+ debt.

Hammam's promises and hyperbole turned to dust, leaving a club on the verge of bankruptcy and fans who felt betrayed by the man who had promised the club would be "bigger than Barcelona".

Passsionate, raw, often humorous. This is the story of how the fans of a failing football club were suckered in by the man who effectively signed the death warrant of Wimbledon FC and walked out with huge personal profit before ending up at the doors of the perennially struggling biggest club in Wales.

The recent history of Cardiff City has been a roller-coaster and this book documents part of the ride. A timely lesson at a time when the club is still owned by those who may not have the best interests of the club at heart, despite the achievement of reaching an FA Cup Final and the chronicle of an amazing never to be repeated 6 year period.

Essential for all those with an interest in Cardiff City FC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 18 July 2008
By 
J. Smith "Smiffy" (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis (Hardcover)
I totally agree with the above review, this book is a very interesting read. Well written with excellent photographs to illustrate the story. I disagree however, that the book is only of interest to Cardiff fans. Im sure fans of any club will be able to relate to this book, as many clubs have/are being mismanaged and abused by those pulling the strings. A good all round read which had me on the edge of my seat at times. Thumbs up, a top read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dreams, 7 Aug 2008
This review is from: From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis (Hardcover)
For anyone with even a remote interest in Cardiff City football club, Sam Hammam, or even the machinations of club-level football politics in general, this book is compulsory reading.

As a Cardiff City fan it came as no great surprise that the book was interesting. What did surprise me was that it is also entertaining. It is well-structured and well-written. I don't mean well-written in the purist sense - a masterpiece in English literature it certainly ain't. But that's the point - it is a book written by fans in the style of the contributor, which makes it all the more compelling as a story told straight from the heart.

As far as a wider audience is concerned, there may not be enough of interest here to attract those beyond the group mentioned in my introduction (I'll pass it on to one and get back to you!). I suspect it may come across as too parochial.

Also, for those that may have been put off by any perceived 'baggage' surrounding the book (hinted at by the headhunters tag and the ill-chosen cover) I suspect that reading the book may do more to confirm their misgivings than to allay them.

But, taking the book purely for what it is, I would consider this a very worthwhile project which certainly exceeded my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different type of book, 5 Oct 2008
This review is from: From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis (Hardcover)
This is well worth a read by anyone who fears that their club is going down the pan.
Forget any preconceptions about the club or the alledged activities of the author as the main thrust of this book is how a club can be run into the ground and the motives behind such events from both sides of the fence.
This is a revealing and honest look at the Sam H years at Ninian Park and how so many people were drawn into a dream that almost became the ultimate nightmare for Cardiff supporters.
I would recomend this book highly if only because it departs from the normal supporters tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read - Well thought out and honest, 19 July 2008
This review is from: From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis (Hardcover)
Having read all the usual books regarding "firms" it was a pleasant surprise to read a football book about fans and the management of a club. It tells the story of Cardiff fans, basically looking for a Messiah, and that came in the shape of Sam Hammam. It tells of his charisma and basically how most of the City fans just took it all in, including me. It is a good honest account of behind the scenes by honest fans hoping for a better tomorrow, a must read for any football fan regardless of where their club loyalties lie. Read it now and take it as a warning, it could happen to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any City fan or anyone who loves the beautiful game, 20 Mar 2009
This review is from: From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis (Hardcover)
Probably one of the best books written on Cardiff City, the book gives an open and honest account on Sam Hammans reign as Cardiff chairman.
The book is well written giving an insight on the running of a football club and the struggles that Cardiff City had before Hamman took over and roller coaster ride that followed.

Not only does the author give his own account but the book really does benefit from input from other City fans that had dealings with Hamman whilst he was in charge and this makes the book compelling reading as the contributions are brutally honest with a some humour thrown in.

This book really does tell it as it is and anyone that loves the game of football should give it a read as you wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For All Football Fans, 19 July 2008
This review is from: From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis (Hardcover)
This book is about a football club, written not by the press hacks or the investigative wannabees but by the true fans of the club itself.

Whilst it may be about Cardiff City in particular, a club so many of us have as part of our lives, the trials and tribulations, the highs and lows , the seemingly never ending sagas at boardroom level could be applied to a whole host of teams in british football.

Those that have written in this superb book are first and foremost football fans and will be around, as will those that pick up the flag in the future, for many years, supporting their team, as always.

Despite the shattered dreams.

Its what being a true fan is all about in this generation of sky tv and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read of my Football club, 21 Sep 2008
This review is from: From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis (Hardcover)
Well done to all who contributed to this effort,it gives an insight into how our club was being run by Sam.Thanks for letting us ordinary fans inside the rooms of Ninian Park.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joff, 28 July 2008
This review is from: From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis (Hardcover)
I fantastic read about issues that go on within a professional football club in the U.K.

A must for any sports fan, as the contents cover a wide range of topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 18 July 2008
By 
M. Tobin "cardiff74" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis (Hardcover)
Fantastic read, what stood out in particular was the commitment and passion the fans showed before and after the Sam Hamman years in keeping the club alive. It also hightlighted the way the fans had been treated over the past few years. This is a must read for all foot ball fans alike giving an in depth look into behind the scenes of Cardiff City. The book also gives an honest account of the supporters view of Sam Hamman. I have read many foot ball books and this one is up there at the top of my list, very enjoyable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis
From Shattered Dreams to Wembley Way: A Club in Crisis by Annis Abraham Jnr (Hardcover - 22 July 2008)
£11.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews