Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another stellar piece from Piggyback
After buying (and reviewing) the collector's edition of the Final Fantasy XII Piggyback guide book, I decided I'd invest in in the collector's edition guide for Final Fantasy XIII. This is an example of another stellar guide brought to you by Piggyback. Similar to the guide for XII reflecting the ancient times of XII, this guide reflects the modern characteristics of the...
Published on 13 Mar 2010 by marv101

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No help at all!
I bought this for my son, on his request. I noticed that he wasn't using it, and asked why, only to be told that there was no information in it that he did not already know, and that he could get more of the help he needed from online sources. So although it wasn't bad value for a collector's edition. it fell short of expectations from a practical viewpoint.
Published 23 months ago by Julie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another stellar piece from Piggyback, 13 Mar 2010
After buying (and reviewing) the collector's edition of the Final Fantasy XII Piggyback guide book, I decided I'd invest in in the collector's edition guide for Final Fantasy XIII. This is an example of another stellar guide brought to you by Piggyback. Similar to the guide for XII reflecting the ancient times of XII, this guide reflects the modern characteristics of the world of cocoon in XIII, with an elegant, simple design cover that any FF fan from the PAL region should be familiar with. It's nice to see Piggyback pay tribute to traditions even though Square-Enix has strayed far far away from traditions in this game.

The actual content is of course as you'd expect from Piggyback. It's got everything you could ever possibly want to know, which is very helpful considering the lack of explanation in the game about certain areas, especially weapon/accessory upgrades. This guide easily breaks it down for you, telling you when they recommend you start upgrading, where to find the exact pieces, and the benefits of upgrading which weapon, seeing as you can get the "ultimate" weapons from all the weapons found in the game.

What I like most about this guide is the story recall. With the nature of the game trying to resemble first-person-shooters in terms of delving you right in the line of fire going from battle to battle, without much time to digest exactly what is happening. In the game, you playback memories of the past 13 days, but not in order, which can make things confusing. Piggyback nicely gives you the synopsis from each day as well as slightly analysing the events, making things easier to digest and fully understand the story.

As usual, there is artwork galore in the guide, making it an elegant addition to any FF fan.

My only tidbits is the fact there is no page holder like there was in the FFXII collector's guide. Also, my pages seem to have crimpled as though they've become moist, even after just a couple of hours of use. Hopefully they'll flatten back out, but this isn't a noticeable problem when reading the guide - just when it's shut, so it won't take away any enjoyment from browsing the guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a lovely thing to have :), 19 April 2010
By 
A. Myles "Ali Boy" (Totnes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was given this as a gift by my ever-so-thoughtful girlfriend and I really love it. All sopiness aside, it's got great illustrations, is well put together and is invaluable if you want to save your tv screen from rage propelled controllers after losing the same battle for the eighth time.
It looks great on my bookshelf and gets jealous glances from my fan-boy friends.
The ONLY downside is that it does contain some pretty huge spoilers (obviously) and so care must be taken not to read ahead of play unless you're really stuck.
I can't wait to finish the game so I can read it with complete impunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Fantasy XIII Guide Collectors Edition., 14 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This guide is brilliant,Extremely well presented and printed on very high quality paper.It Guides you through the game with a minimum of spoilers and the illustrations are of the highest standard.
I have no hesitation in giving 5 stars for this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical and beautiful, 31 Mar 2010
Length:: 0:34 Mins

This collector's edition official guide for Final Fantasy XIII has all the useful information on crystogenesis, upgrading weapons (very, very detailed guide to which components are best used to sell or used to upgrade your weapons and accessoires), bestiary...
But sometimes the maps in the walkthrough are a little confusing.$
Very clear lay-out.
Every page looks great: official artwork and screenshots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost essential?, 12 May 2010
By 
D. Stothard (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Final Fantasy XIII Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
Even as a veteran of the FF series I found myself with this book almost constantly open, especially post-game when it comes into it's own as a Hunt or Upgrade reference. Content does seem a little thin, it's more of a database than a good read, but I think that's more down to the games own limitations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding presentation for an outstanding guide., 4 April 2010
By 
C. Beneyto Dura (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The ultimate Final Fantasy XIII guide for those who not only want 100% completion of the game but want to go deeper into other aspects of the Final Fantasy XIII universe. The guide is incredibly user friendly and every area is separated to make any search easy and accurate. Since it contains heavy spoilers (something that the guide will inform of at some points), I'd recommend to use the guide for the last part of the game to maximize the game experience. In addition, the outstanding presentation of this limited guide will surely have a place in your cupboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 22 April 2010
By 
This guide is just great. I usually get the guides with FF games so that I don't miss anything, including secret endings to the story etc. This one is just as good as can be: very well presented, good pictures and a very good walkthrough split in small numbered paragraphs easy to relate to the accompanying maps. I particularly appreciated the fact that they've tried to avoid the story spoilers as much as possible to let the player enjoy them in the game. All in all, a very good product and the perfect companion if you want to do and see everything in FF XIII.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, only if your a collector., 5 April 2010
By 
M. kauppila - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i love this hard-back version but only get it if you truely are a collector. if you plan on only using it as a guide. then DO NOT get this version. as its hard to keep pages open due to the hard back bindings.

i have to rest a object on every left hand page just to keep it open, but that is not a problem its a 100% complete guide and the visuals are amazing piggyback once again show they are the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FFXIII - The Collectors Edition You Can't Miss!, 31 Mar 2010
There are a bunch of piggybacks and related FF guides everywhere. Either you want the guide for help or simply COLLECT it - this one is worth every penny! The Collectors Edition might be the most beautiful book I have in my book shelf. Fantastic hardcover with the FINAL FANTASY XIII logo. Besides containing 271 pages with wonderful details about bestiary, every item locations, cie'th stones, marks, trophies/achievement guides and so on. You'll also get some extra stuff like the alphabet from Cocon and the old alphabet from Pulse.

All in all it's a wonderful book. There are only 210,000 Collector's Edition avaliable. Considering the amount of FF fans global, 210,000 is in a way few. I'm owner of book number 59,954 (and i pre-ordered it). If you are an FF fan, then you will not regret getting this. Even if you have to pour out some crazy amount of cash.

Get it now or you'll might regret it!

FF reviewer - Itoc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Sordel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Generally I steer clear of videogame strategy guides, but for a big RPG it can be very tempting to have something that explains all the mechanics of levelling etc. If that's all you need, you can probably get a badly-printed tips book with a magazine ... this, however, is so much more.

Piggyback has a reputation for putting together exemplary guides - their guide to FFXII was already superb - and this is no exception. There's a walkthrough, which you probably don't need, but despite the fact that the maps actually boil down in most cases to showing you how to walk from A to B down a straight line they are lovingly integrated into the page, with lots of high-quality artwork and details that enable you to pick up every last treasure chest.

There are, of course, plenty of spreadsheets to get tucked into for the devoted RPG fan, and a full bestiary, and you are never going to feel that there is any data that you might need that is not readily at hand. Once you've finished the game, however, the book will continue to serve as an impressive piece of memorabilia thanks to its high quality of production and elegant design.

I bought this along with the collectors' edition of the game and here's the thing: when you compare what you get for the extra money from Square Enix, and what you get for the same money (or less) from Piggyback, it is clear that this guide is fantastic value for money. This isn't just a guide for the stat-crazed; it's the best souvenir you can get for this generation of Final Fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Final Fantasy XIII Complete Official Guide
The Final Fantasy XIII Complete Official Guide by Piggyback (Paperback - 9 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: £29.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews