Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Swiss in a nutshell - Sehr lustig!!!
The author manages to sum up every aspect of the Swiss with a typical British sense of humour! Having lived in Switzerland for some time now - this book was still able to teach me some idiosyncrasies of the Swiss I didnt know. If you want to find out who what where why and how the Swiss do things - read this book. Essential reading for the smallest room in the house.
Published on 6 Aug 2001 by N. Cload

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but...
In order to get an idea of the accuracy of the series, I orderd along with the books for Spain and Portugal, also the book about my home country, Switzerland. In general it is an enjoyable read, and while many facts are true, and the peculiarities pointed out nicely, I must say, that there are certain things mentioned in this book, that are outdated and/or partially ore...
Published 15 months ago by Fabian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Swiss in a nutshell - Sehr lustig!!!, 6 Aug 2001
By 
N. Cload (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The author manages to sum up every aspect of the Swiss with a typical British sense of humour! Having lived in Switzerland for some time now - this book was still able to teach me some idiosyncrasies of the Swiss I didnt know. If you want to find out who what where why and how the Swiss do things - read this book. Essential reading for the smallest room in the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best of the series - as good as on the English!, 14 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Swiss (Xenophobe's Guides) (Paperback)
Brilliant book. Hilarious. Unlike many other authors of this series, the punchlines keep coming to finish off the facts. I'm not sure if the Swiss have more odd characteristics or if this author simply knows his subject better, but the book is exactly what the series should be: informative and a laugh-a-page. It may hurt a Swiss person's feelings but so did the equally good one on the English until I got over that and found it hilarious and true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is Great!, 1 Dec 2000
By A Customer
I really enjoyed Xenophobe's Guide To The Swiss. It kept me laughing but well informed all the way through. I found it to be a very thorough reference to the Swiss. Without being too long and drawn out. I particularly liked the sections on "The Bells" and "Dental Holidays". I liked this book so much I want to send a copy to my whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate as a Swiss Watch, 15 April 2005
By A Customer
Pinpoint accuracy including all the little nuances that you hardly notice. This book you re-read, after spending any time in Switzerland, and find yourself nodding in agreement whilst still enjoying the humour with which it is written. The humour is genuine and not aggressive or truly xenophobic like some other 'so called' cultural guides.
Essential reading and pocket sized for real handiness.
Going to Switzerland? Get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love switzerland, 28 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Swiss (Xenophobe's Guides) (Paperback)
Having visited Switzerland last week and many times previously over the last 30 years (as a tourist). I found Paul Biltons book fascinating and so very amusing. Every chapter portrays the reality of life there without any malice. I laughed every time I opened the book and only wish that I had read it many years ago. By the way, I do admire the Swiss and their beautiful country and only wish that the Brits could be as well organised and successful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but..., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Swiss (Xenophobe's Guides) (Paperback)
In order to get an idea of the accuracy of the series, I orderd along with the books for Spain and Portugal, also the book about my home country, Switzerland. In general it is an enjoyable read, and while many facts are true, and the peculiarities pointed out nicely, I must say, that there are certain things mentioned in this book, that are outdated and/or partially ore completely untrue (especially the sections: Behaviour & Manners, Eating and Drinking, and Police and Crime), and thus must be read selectively.

However for the price, and under the condition that not everything in the book is taken literally, i can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nearly perfect summary of Swiss culture, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Swiss (Xenophobe's Guides) (Paperback)
I have read most of the books in the series about Western Europe, and I agree with other reviewers that this one is among the best, along with those about England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland (the publisher's home turf). My only criticism is that the author doesn't seem to know well enough other European countries and often describes as typically Swiss things that are in fact exactly the same in other Germanic countries or even in France. This is the case of recycling (p.29-30), disposable fees for household electric items (p.31), gutters that are made of not in plastic but in metal (p.33), or high-quality bus stops (p.34). Other things are an extension of the German system, like gardening or washing the car prohibited on Sunday (p.18), or baths prohibited between 10 pm and 7 am (p.80).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Swiss (Xenophobe's Guides) (Paperback)
This was an interesting book to read a bit. A close friend has read more of it and has a good report.
It seems to be entertaining and may contain some information rather than steeotypes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cute book...strong content!!, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Swiss (Xenophobe's Guides) (Paperback)
Love the xenophobe guides...wish there was one for Indians too. Its a present to my friend and she loves it too. Book was in perfect condition when I received it..thanks ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Xenophobe's Guide to the Swiss (Xenophobe's Guides) (Paperback)
Good to dip into. Very Funny. Useful to give as a gift and has lots of information which you may or may not find useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Xenophobe's Guide to the Swiss (Xenophobe's Guides)
The Xenophobe's Guide to the Swiss (Xenophobe's Guides) by Paul N. Bilton (Paperback - 24 Aug 2008)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews