Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre Black Humour
Perhaps I have a wicked sense of humour but this little book had me laughing from page to page. The suicide shop sells everything you could possibly want to commit suicide. Yes I jest you not. One of the funniest moments for me was the elderly tramp who had little money so opted for a cheap kit and then proceeded to sit on the bench opposite the shop to try it out. The...
Published on 24 May 2011 by Dillyj

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A satire on death and happiness
This very French, dystopian satire reminded me very much of the stylish film 'Delicatessen' (a hilarious post-apocalyptic French sort of Sweeney Todd), but lacking some of its virtuosity. That's not to say that it is unimaginative ... Some of the ways that the proprietors of 'The suicide shop' devise to help their customers do away with themselves are really hilarious,...
Published on 20 Jun. 2008 by Annabel Gaskell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre Black Humour, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Suicide Shop (Paperback)
Perhaps I have a wicked sense of humour but this little book had me laughing from page to page. The suicide shop sells everything you could possibly want to commit suicide. Yes I jest you not. One of the funniest moments for me was the elderly tramp who had little money so opted for a cheap kit and then proceeded to sit on the bench opposite the shop to try it out. The shop owners felt he was bad publicity when he was unsucessful on repeated occassions so they asked him to move on. Humour all the way through, read it for yourself to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and quirky read, 2 April 2009
This review is from: The Suicide Shop (Paperback)
Despite the title and the subject matter, this is not a dark or depressing book. It is a very quick read (less than 170 pages), and it's quirkiness and irony makes for a very entertaining story.

Set at an undefined period of time in the future in France, we learn that Earth has been ravaged by man's selfishness and greed. Mankind is a depressed race, which means that business is booming at The Suicide Shop. This business has been by the Tuvache family for generations - they sell anything and everything that one might need to commit suicide, including some very clever inventions. The parents, Lucrece and Mishima, are very contented in their misery, and proud of their two eldest children Vincent (named after Van Gogh) and Marilyn (named after Marilyn Monroe). These two youngsters are both incredibly bored of life, and depressed. However, Alan (named after Alan Turing), the youngest son, is a worry to the family. He is full of the joys of life, and has an constant sunny nature. He refuses to buy into his parents' misery, and this worries them. But despite their resistance, Alan is determined to spread the joy...

All the way through this book, I was thinking that it would definitely make a great film, if someone like Tim Burton were to get their hands on it. It's an unusual premise, and is actually a lot of fun, but it definitely has a sting in the tail.

Short enough to read in one sitting, I would definitely recommend this for a lazy afternoon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A satire on death and happiness, 20 Jun. 2008
By 
Annabel Gaskell "gaskella2" (Nr Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Suicide Shop (Paperback)
This very French, dystopian satire reminded me very much of the stylish film 'Delicatessen' (a hilarious post-apocalyptic French sort of Sweeney Todd), but lacking some of its virtuosity. That's not to say that it is unimaginative ... Some of the ways that the proprietors of 'The suicide shop' devise to help their customers do away with themselves are really hilarious, but it lacks the film's lightness of touch with its macabre material. In particular, the Alan Turing suicide kit is inspired, as is the Kiss of Death given to Marilyn as her coming of age birthday present.
The Tuvaches are all cartoon characters, all named for famous suicides which tell you all you need to know about them - there's the father Mishima, the mother Lucrece, son Vincent, daughter Marilyn, and the wayward youngest son. He's named Alan after Turing, but does not display any of his namesake's traits! Alan is the despair of his parents being all too happy, and happiness is suddenly catching in this sulphurous City of Lost Religion (presumably a take on Paris being the City of Light?). Usually in novels, it's the other way around with everyone starting out happy before diving into the slough of despond - but this does allow a neat final twist.
A clever and funny, quick novel to read, but a little heavy-handed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars always look on the bright side of death, 5 Jun. 2008
This review is from: The Suicide Shop (Paperback)
You'll notice above that this book has started a discussion about whether suicide is a suitable subject for comedy. Be assured that this is a black comedy.

Set in a future where ecological disaster has left much of the planet uninhabitable, inside the City of Forgotten Religions with the daily news filled with stories of war, famine and disaster people are killing themselves in increasing numbers. All of which is great news for the Tuvache family who for generations have provided people with the means to do away with themselves in The Suicide Shop. 'Has your life been a failure? Let's make your death a success.' is their slogan and inside the store you will find myriad ways to end it all. Ropes, guns, poisons, a seppuku set (hari-kari to you and me) and the Turing Kit (you'll have to read to understand the genius behind that one) all available for the right price and service without a smile from Mishima, Lucrece, Vincent and Marilyn. There is but one shining light on the already blotted landscape. Their youngest child Alan is filled with optimism, hope and love, and as a result is a huge embarrassment to the family. Nothing can dent his outlook on life, not even the news:

'Oh yeath, we saw those pictures again of the Dutch dykes that exploded during the latht tidal wave, and the beach that now extendth as far as Prague. They showed the emaciated inhabitants of the German province crying out and rolling naked in the dunes. If you narrowed your eyes, the shining grains of sand mixed with the sweat on their skin looked like little stars. It was unreal but everything will be thorted out'.

So as he wanders around the shop singing 'Don't Worry, Be Happy' his parents worry about the effect it might have on business. What this short novel shows is how he will change the whole family and the wider community with the power of happiness. It's full of a quirky joie de vivre and a very quick read with an oddly touching ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darkly Funny, 13 Feb. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Suicide Shop (Paperback)
I'm afraid to say I'm a bit ignorant of french literature and wary of books in translation but I picked it up as Im a sucker for a dark comedy, and I'm so glad I did.

This book is a really quick read partly due to its simplistic language and narrative,which makes it seem by the end anyway like a fable.
The subject matter sounds dark, because in part it is, but this novel is warm and funny. Although before you read don't get too excited, on the front cover of my edition it says 'You will die laughing', I wouldn't say it was a rip roaring read but its definitely amusing.

Lastly the ending is really good, I'm not going to say any more just read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great title, but not as great as a work of literature, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Suicide Shop (Paperback)
I was hooked by the uniqueness of the title - it is genius as a title and idea - if it wasn't for this ingenuity, my review would have been a 2-star. Sadly, I was disappointed by the story itself and the quality of the writing. I felt that the chapters were a little too rushed and too little 'show not tell' of the story. The story could have been told a lot better, in my opinion. I gathered this is a translation in English, and felt that it could benefit from some proof-reading and editing work. I am surprised that that it was published with some obvious unintended grammatical errors...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The lighter side of suicide, 18 Sept. 2012
By 
A. Browne "avid reader" (Donegal Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Suicide Shop (Paperback)
This is a very small book which i stumbled on by accident. It is very funny dealing with a family who run a shop which caters for would be suicides in some undated future. Suspend belief and enjoy the tale of this family and their unfeasibly good humoured youngest child. I started this book yesterday evening and finshed it in the early hours of the morning having awoken remembering a good friend who is long gone. Thanks for cheering me up , when i finished this book, i went to sleep feeling better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Funny Side of Death, 29 Jun. 2010
By 
Simon Savidge Reads "Simon" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Suicide Shop (Paperback)
Set in a not too distant future life for people in the City of Forgotten Religions isn't great. The world has gone into a huge environmental decline; the sands are taking over and sulphuric acid rains down from the skies. There isn't much to live for really as the world seems truly without hope. That's where the Tuvache family come, in for they run `The Suicide Shop' which has everything a suicidal customer could want no matter what the budget. In fact at one point they give a tramp one of their free carrier bags to suffocate himself with as long as people can see the logo `Has your life been a failure? Let's make your death a success' clearly.

However there is a flaw in the Tuvache family, as after generation after generation of miserable sons have been born Mishima and Lucrece's youngest son Alan is born with nothing but joy, love and positivity in his heart. This is neither good for custom or indeed for the family as it seems to be contagious, even elder sister Marilyn falls in love with the local cemetery warden not long after she is injected with a venom that means she can kill with her saliva, making her the perfect kiss-o-gram for the shop. What follows is a comic caper of family drama and a wry look at just what could happen to the future of society.

I haven't laughed out loud so much at a book in ages, not quite sure what that says about me? I know it's a delicate subject but sometimes we need to have a look at the comic side of the worst aspects of life and this book does just that. What makes it such a great read is that despite their being the setting of a future world where anything could happen and having situations that could go into melodrama Teulé never does, it's always just funny enough without going too far and some authors simply can't get that balance. Teulé's humour is spot on. A darkly comic read that will leave you in shock by the ending that you won't see coming, I had to read the last few paragraphs twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read..., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Suicide Shop (Kindle Edition)
Loved the book and have recommended it to many of my friends and work colleagues.
The book is well written and humorous.
The ending is unexpected.
Definitely a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting & well-written, not recommended for the terminally depressed, 14 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Suicide Shop (Kindle Edition)
99.9% of this book is upbeat and funny in a black sort of way, the 0.1% which isn't is a bit of a kick. This is a writer who isn't very kind to his readers. No spoiler, but if you're feeling down, don't bother with the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Suicide Shop
The Suicide Shop by Sue Dyson (Translator) (Paperback - 2 July 2008)
£6.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews