Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye Full
A pleasant enough introduction the exploits of Victor Legris and co - there is a nice ensemble feel already about his band of cohorts. There are some incongruities about some of the translation, minor quibble really and no doubt there are difficulties in directly translating French idioms into English to give them similar meaning.

The mystery itself is dealt...
Published on 22 Jan 2008 by Jack Victor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars French Farce
This was the first in a series of "mysteries" with Victor Legris, a second-hand bookseller in late 19th century Paris. I won't be trying the others. The authors (sisters with a pen name)clearly have a detailed knowledge of late 19th century Paris, yet, for all that, they failed to transport my imagination to 1889. Maybe a second-hand bookseller wouldn't make for a...
Published 20 months ago by gerardpeter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye Full, 22 Jan 2008
This review is from: Murder on the Eiffel Tower: The Victor Legris Mysteries 1: A Victor Legris Mystery (Paperback)
A pleasant enough introduction the exploits of Victor Legris and co - there is a nice ensemble feel already about his band of cohorts. There are some incongruities about some of the translation, minor quibble really and no doubt there are difficulties in directly translating French idioms into English to give them similar meaning.

The mystery itself is dealt with reasonably well. There is a bit of suspense along with a couple of inconsistencies in the reasoning of the murderer (who is to say that a murderer will act rationally?) and the list of suspects is soon whittled down, although I picked the wrong one of my final two suspects by the denouement so I must have fallen for some of the red herrings. As other reviewers state, this is not brilliant, but on the whole this is an excellent introduction to what promises to be an enjoyable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent murder mystery, 13 Aug 2007
By 
Prince Barry (North of England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder on the Eiffel Tower: The Victor Legris Mysteries 1: A Victor Legris Mystery (Paperback)
This was the first book that I read from Gallic Books. I am so glad that these publishers came into being because they allow top rated French novels to be translated and made available to people who's French may not be up to reading a full book in French.

It combines my 3 favourite aspects of an excellent read - crime, Paris and history.

I really got into the characters and found Victor to quite a hero. The descriptions of 19th century Paris are excellent and certainly add to the atmosphere of the book.

I can't wait for the next Victor Legris mystery to be available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read murder-mystery, 10 Jun 2007
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder on the Eiffel Tower: The Victor Legris Mysteries 1: A Victor Legris Mystery (Paperback)
The Eiffel Tower has just been constructed and is the pride of the Paris Universal Exposition of 1889. But its glory is overshadowed by the death of a young woman, who was apparently stung by a bee and died as a result. A couple of similar deaths, centred around the exposition, cause people (especially in the newly founded sensationalist newspapers) to suspect murder.

The suspicious deaths are investigated by Victor Legris, a young bookseller, who is determined to find out what happened.

The novel is well written and easy to read. It contains interesting information about Paris in the 1880's and also a strong cast of characters. It doesn't quite have the psychological depth of some murder mysteries but is nevertheless very enjoyable.

Good beach reading. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read., 8 Jan 2009
This review is from: Murder on the Eiffel Tower: The Victor Legris Mysteries 1: A Victor Legris Mystery (Paperback)
If you like light, quirky murder mysteries, then this one is a good bet. Like most books of the genre, it doesn't take itself seriously but then that's usually their major appeal. This particular book, however, also provides lots of historic colour and Gallic charm.

Set in Paris of the 1880's, I thought the location and the time (set during the Paris Exhibition) provided an interesting and lively backdrop for an adventure. Like all of these books, the crime and its perpetrator is not really the draw, it's the lead character and their exploits that keep you reading and I thought the hero, Victor Legris, and the cast of characters that surround him were engaging and surprisingly well written.

In all, it isn't great literature, but that's not what you buy these books for, but it is fun and kept me hooked from the first to the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars French Farce, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first in a series of "mysteries" with Victor Legris, a second-hand bookseller in late 19th century Paris. I won't be trying the others. The authors (sisters with a pen name)clearly have a detailed knowledge of late 19th century Paris, yet, for all that, they failed to transport my imagination to 1889. Maybe a second-hand bookseller wouldn't make for a private detective, but then Victor seemed much more interested in chasing the heroine than solving the case. A detective of some sort is pretty much essential in crime ficion and without one a book in the genre is going to have a problem. With no help from Monsieur Legris,the other characters, in a don't take us too seriously kind-of-way, struggled to keep the plot going. I couldn't take the plot, the supposed mystery, very seriously anyway. It was all a bit silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire!!, 26 April 2010
This review is from: Murder on the Eiffel Tower: The Victor Legris Mysteries 1: A Victor Legris Mystery (Paperback)
Just awful dull stuff! Yes there is some colourful detail about historical Paris BUT the characters are sketchy: unengaging and unconvinciing. The ending is silly and the motive of the killer totally ridiculous.
Dreadful ... Much as I wanted to discover a new series of mysteries to enjoy; I will not be bothering with Victor Legris!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect vacation read!, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't resist the book-cover but did not know what to expect. Paris is not my favourite place in the world but the two sisters that write under the pseudonym Claude Izner, really made an impression. Their knowledge of Parisian history in the 1880s and their knowledge of their city, makes it a wonderful read.

It's not the sort of mystery that you can figure out as you read along. A lot of information is withheld from you till the end. But it still makes it an exciting read. You try to figure out things whether you want to or not. The protagonist is a very likeable man in his late 20s, a book shop owner who loves his books, taking photos and who is getting weary of his latest mistress, a married woman by the name of Odette, who drags him around shopping for dresses and beauty articles.

Before the book starts really, an old man that supports himself by collecting what other people throw away, dies while he is watching Buffalo Bill, arriving at a train station, for the world fair in Paris 1889. His last thoughts are that he thinks he has been stung by a bee. A month passes before the book really starts. Victor Legris, our book shop owner, has been invited to the Eiffel tower to meet the staff from a newly formed newspaper. The owner want to persuade him to write literature articles. While in the tower, a woman with nothing in common with the old man at the train station, having been forced to take her sister's children to see the tower, dies, stung by a bee. Victim after victim dies in Paris or at the world fair, seemingly stung by bees. Victor gets suspicious though and starts looking in to things, partly because he has fallen head over heels in love with a girl at the newspaper, who acts like she could have been guilty of the murders. Victor very soon figures out that noone dies from a bee sting as quickly as the victims in the story do, which in turn leads him to start suspecting his stepfather, the Japanese co-owner of the shop, Kenji, of perhaps being the murderer. Victor does not want his new found love or his stepfather to be the murderer, so he must find out who it really is.

The end is a very surprising one but the book ends on a happy note. I ran to the library for the next in the series! The only annoying thing with this book, was the number of people working at the newspaper. It made it somewhat confusing when one couldn't keep them apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Barely passable, 28 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder on the Eiffel Tower: The Victor Legris Mysteries 1: A Victor Legris Mystery (Paperback)
The only good point of this book is the period detail and local color; it does indeed give an interesting and enjoyable picture of Paris in the late 19th century.

However, that is pretty much its only merit, other than the fact that it is not actually badly written. To begin with, it can hardly be called a detective story, since the hero has only the most vague interest in solving the murders. The only reason he takes any kind of interest in them is because he suspects (on evidence that wouldn't hang a dog) his best friend and the woman he is in love with as the killer. The characters are rather two-dimensional and not particularly well drawn and the plot proceeds in such a leisurely pace that I once fell asleep while reading. The love interest, which takes up a lot of the book, is frankly unbelievable; the hero, a man of the world with a married mistress, falls madly in love with a young, independed artist. So far so good, but his passion for her is apparently so incapacitating that he behaves like a boorish teenager having his first crush. And the solution is completely unconvincing, as well as unsatisfactory; almost anyone else might have done the murders for more or less that same reasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward historical crime fiction, 17 Mar 2009
By 
Feanor (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder on the Eiffel Tower: The Victor Legris Mysteries 1: A Victor Legris Mystery (Paperback)
The French sisterly duo comprising Claude Izner wrote the whimsical Murder on the Eiffel Tower. Set in 19th century Paris at the time of the Exhibition and the installation of the eponymous tower, this breezy book deals excellently with the history of the period. The murders that occur are not as fascinating. The main protagonist, Victor Legris, is a bookseller who lives with the (Japanese) man who brought him up. Victor is puzzled by the deaths of several people in the lead up to the grand opening of the Eiffel Tower (and indeed on it), supposedly attributed to bee-stings. From then on, it's pretty much straightforward. In the original French, the book was a bestseller, but in translation, it is fairly pedestrian, reading almost as a parody (for another weak series, check out Gilbert Adair's Agatha Christie tributes).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This book disappointed me a little - it began intriguingly but as ..., 16 Aug 2014
This review is from: Murder on the Eiffel Tower: The Victor Legris Mysteries 1: A Victor Legris Mystery (Paperback)
This book disappointed me a little - it began intriguingly but as it progressed I found that none of the characters were of sufficient interest for me to care if they were victims or murderers. I ploughed on to the end but was somewhat relieved when the mystery was solved, to be brutally honest. Doubt if I will try another Izner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder on the Eiffel Tower: The Victor Legris Mysteries 1: A Victor Legris Mystery
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews