Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good mix of history and humour and a marvellous read
We absolutely loved the book. We're particularly interested in the 1600's and attend a great many events, but you don't have to be a history lover to appreciate it because it's told in a way that mixes wartime drama with humour (in the shape of the hilarious pub crawl) to make a marvellous read.
Published on 14 Nov. 2009 by Gil

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining yes, informative?
I enjoyed this book and Mr Pascoe certainly has an easy to read style.

In essence he sets out to visit the main battlefields of the English civil war whilst visiting lots of pubs near the sites simultaneously!

It is a funny and quick read...I particularly liked the overheard conversations with some very ill0-informed tourists who though that the...
Published on 14 July 2009 by Mr X


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good mix of history and humour and a marvellous read, 14 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Death Destruction and a Packet of Peanuts: A Rollicking Pub Crawl Through Four Years Of The English Civil War (Hardcover)
We absolutely loved the book. We're particularly interested in the 1600's and attend a great many events, but you don't have to be a history lover to appreciate it because it's told in a way that mixes wartime drama with humour (in the shape of the hilarious pub crawl) to make a marvellous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 16 July 2012
By 
G. J. Weeks (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Destruction and a Packet of Peanuts: A Rollicking Pub Crawl Through Four Years Of The English Civil War (Hardcover)
An unusual guide to most of the major sites of the first English civil war, their monuments and pubs. One is surprised how little the civil war is remembered and commemorated. Not a single museum found but some pubs with good exhibits. Not finding drunkenness amusing I did not appreciate the supposed humour but the pub crawl is informative if you want to find good beer and civil war commemoration. The description of the battles could be enhanced by simple maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story-telling, easily readable and very hard to put down from start to finish, 19 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Death Destruction and a Packet of Peanuts: A Rollicking Pub Crawl Through Four Years Of The English Civil War (Hardcover)
It's a book that makes an already fascinating period of history even more fascinating by properly humanising some of its main characters. Prince Rupert, the wonderful cavalier romantic who could start a fight alone in an empty field and after the war blew his friends hands off for fun. And Essex his complex adversary who could never seem to decide whether to be cautious...or strip down to his shirtsleeves and bait a heavily armed throng coming straight at him. Then there's the brave and gung-ho Sir Posthumous Kirton and his Pikemen, 'all of whom no doubt expected to soon have `posthumous' linked to their names in some way', the womanising Earl of Newcastle, and the ghostly Whitecoats. Excellent story-telling, easily readable and very hard to put down from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun for the ECW enthusiast, 31 Oct. 2009
By 
Uncle Barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Destruction and a Packet of Peanuts: A Rollicking Pub Crawl Through Four Years Of The English Civil War (Hardcover)
Being a Civil War enthusiast I thought I'd enjoy this book... and I did.

It IS funny. There are some genuinely hilarious moments in it. The author's mate, Pete, is a larger-than-life character - a bit of an oath and a useful foil against which the author can show his own refinement (?) and knowledge of the mid-17th century.

The quest to find these battle sites (I wish he had done a lot more!) is also fun although the choice of what to include and what not to include seemed a little arbitrary in places.

There is a serious point in this book also. We have so very much history in this country (in comparison to America for instance) that we appear to be happy to ignore some really important sites. It really is amazing that our tourist industry is not doing more to exploit these ECW sites - the civil war is one of the most written about periods in our history - surely there must therefore be a market for battle site museums (we only have ONE for a major site - at Bosworth field!)

So, well done to the author for pointing this out - and good luck with your next venture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have enjoyed reading some relatively academic treatments of this period of ..., 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Destruction and a Packet of Peanuts: A Rollicking Pub Crawl Through Four Years Of The English Civil War (Hardcover)
I have enjoyed reading some relatively academic treatments of this period of our history, and wish I'd read this first. The writer makes it clear that the causes and events before and during the conflicts are complex, often confusing, and open to interpretation by historians who sometimes quite shamelessly give partisan slants on what may have happened. Having got that out of the way, he then gets to grips with what I, and possibly many others, look for when we visit historical sites - an outline that forms a picture from which the reader can form their own view of the various battle scenes, aided by places (well, pubs mostly) where information can be gleaned.
An easy, enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Chris Pascoe's books!, 2 May 2010
This review is from: Death Destruction and a Packet of Peanuts: A Rollicking Pub Crawl Through Four Years Of The English Civil War (Hardcover)
Whatever he's writing about he picks out the humour! It can be about history, accident prone cats, toddlers or whatever but he will make you laugh your socks off. This one is his best yet. Its so interesting, so full full of fascinating facts and still hilarious! He's now my favourite author and I only hope he writes many more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun And Interesting Read, 30 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Death Destruction and a Packet of Peanuts: A Rollicking Pub Crawl Through Four Years Of The English Civil War (Hardcover)
There are many reasons I enjoyed this book and best of all for me is the way the book flits from absorbing Civil War history to present day fun at just the right moments so that you're never bored and always in the thick of the action, on a battle cliff-hanger, exploring the battle-sites, or having a good laugh. Also I find the two heroes, or perhaps anti-heroes, Chris and Pete very funny. They are mercilessly direct with each other and their jokes and insults rendered me helpless with laughter. Pete quietly convincing a pub landlady that Chris is a vagrant, and Pete getting unwittingly filmed while trying to take a crafty leak into a near-on hurricane are two of the most excruciatingly funny episodes from any book I can remember reading. A great read and whatever Chris and Pete do next will be top of my reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Living Book about the English Civil War -- the ONLY living book?, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
Dr. K. E. Patrick (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Destruction and a Packet of Peanuts: A Rollicking Pub Crawl Through Four Years Of The English Civil War (Hardcover)
I'm a 17th-century specialist whose PhD was about Royalist prisoners, and I also homeschool my children. When it came time to explore the English Civil War together, I realised that all my old, dry history texts weren't going to bring the subject to life for them. I searched high and low for something that would capture their imaginations and help bridge the gap between any battlefields we managed to visit and the dearth of information about them at the sites.

Enter Chris Pascoe's book. It reminds me more of a Bill Bryson-type travel book, humorous and wry and self-deprecating, than a history book, but he manages to slip the history in amongst his adventures with his friend Pete.

Basically, if you read the "see inside" material, you'll get a good feel for the style.

I can't wait to take the book to the pub at Edgehill he mentions, and read his book while we sip our pints (beer for some; lemonade for others), eat our peanuts, and gaze out over the unremarkable fields that once saw the deaths of 1500 solders. Without such an enthusiastic guide, the era would just be musty and stale like a set of old beer mats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and highly entertaining, 26 May 2009
This review is from: Death Destruction and a Packet of Peanuts: A Rollicking Pub Crawl Through Four Years Of The English Civil War (Hardcover)
As someone who doesn't drink and has no interest in history, this book didn't seem particularly promising. A bloke goes on a massive pub crawl, while visiting sites of major battlefields of the English Civil War.
By the end of the second page, I was hooked. The author, Chris Pascoe, is a very funny writer - I defy anyone not to laugh at his story of the shed-eating dog or the American tourist rewriting history. But even more impressively, he brings the Civil War, a subject I've always associated with memorising dates at school, to full technicolour life. Some of the descriptions of battles are breathtaking and the characters mesemerising. Prince Rupert was my favourite, a man who didn't seem to have any concept of personal safety.
And then there was Pete. Pete was the author's traveling companion and a one-man disaster zone. His adventures are enough to make a book on their own, the highlights being an ill-advised toilet seat attack on a skinhead.
Throw in an incoherent Northerner called Dave and a dog of the same name, and you've got a book that I couldn't put down. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gas Mask and Goggles for the English Civil War, 31 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Death Destruction and a Packet of Peanuts: A Rollicking Pub Crawl Through Four Years Of The English Civil War (Hardcover)
At last, a lively account of the four years spanning the Civil War that recreates the events with stunning detail and brings to life their sometimes flamboyant and frequently feckless characters. Pascoe's command of history is excellent, and his retelling of the principal battles imbues them with rough-and-tumble escapades, grandiose personalities and, occasionally, a supernatural atmosphere that has the reader holding his breath.

Told within the context of retracing the battles in chronological order against a present day ordeal involving a travelling chum or two (bent solely on visiting every pub in the vicinity of each battlefield), Pascoe's long-suffering role as teetotal chauffeur is related with good-natured humour and recurring hilarity. Discover with him the secrets of Chalfont Field, where no birds fly ... Observe how he imaginatively deploys a gas mask to cope with a drunken, snoring, farting passenger while driving up the M1 to Marston Moor. The juxtaposition of gruesome past with modern monkey business creates at times a surreal tableau that heightens both the serious historical accounts and the ridiculous pursuits of beer. At the end of a year's extensive research, the reader benefits from not only facts but also the experiences of eerie apparitions, ghostly sounds, and ... a chilling silence ... There is also a comprehensive catalogue of the best ales in England.

All is related with sincere love of history, pithy philosophical observations on human nature, funny anecdotes in passing and the toe-curling antics of his companions. We have here a delightful combination of near-picaresque chronicling and an excruciating pub crawl - in short, 17th century adventure, 21st century humour! A captivating page-turner that sharpens your thirst for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews