Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly funny
This is a splendid manifesto for those who would prefer a nice sit-down and a hobnob to gallivanting around the globe in search if dubiously entitled thrills. The authors intelligence and wit make it essential reading,
Published on 21 July 2011 by Mr G

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well I CAN be arsed - to write a good review!
Can't Be Arsed
Can't be Arsed asks `why do we put ourselves through the pain and so called excitement of bungy jumping (why indeed) and what drives us to go and see the Great Wall of China when we can sit in the comfort of our homes and watch other fools on the TV doing it?' These questions posed by author Richard Wilson are wittily answered in an entertaining but...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Susan from Find The Real You


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly funny, 21 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Be Arsed (Hardcover)
This is a splendid manifesto for those who would prefer a nice sit-down and a hobnob to gallivanting around the globe in search if dubiously entitled thrills. The authors intelligence and wit make it essential reading,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Title Says It All!, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Jean Nisbet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Be Arsed (Hardcover)
Ever screwed up your Sunday newspaper in rage as yet another lazy journalist fills column inches with the indispensable hundred things to do, places to go, restaurants to eat in, books to read, etc, before you die? Then this is the book for you. The author Richard Wilson (not that Richard Wilson - this one is the producer of TV's Have I got News For You) has put the lists together in this slim volume along with reasons (including scientific but totally bogus graphs) showing why you shouldn't do any of them.

Enjoy dipping into Can't Be Arsed and laughing at people you know who take these bucket lists seriously - Richard Wilson certainly doesn't. A dose of humour in a dreary world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's your life - live it!, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: Can't Be Arsed (Hardcover)
This book is a send-up of those patronising "100 places/things you must see/eat/do before you die" -type books. The message is: it's your life, and you need not feel obliged to canoe down the Amazon, swim with dolphins, or ride down the Grand Canyon on a mule just because everyone else down at the tennis club has done it. If you prefer to curl up on sofa with a DVD box set and a large glass of chilled white wine (and, let's face it, who doesn't?) then that is perfectly fine. There are a few laugh-out-loud moments in the book - I particularly enjoyed the experience of the nervous Dutch bungee-jumper - but principally this is a book about just being you and living life for yourself without following the herd. It's a refreshing point of view and, once you've read it, it can serve as a coffee-table (or downstairs loo) book for visitors to dip into and enjoy. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your wife/girlfriend may not enjoy this book but you will, 5 Mar 2011
This review is from: Can't Be Arsed (Hardcover)
To quote from page 184:
"Most men know that you don't actually need to spend a fortune to achieve total relaxation and inner peace - all you need is an armachair, some cans and a television."
My biggest dilemma at the moment is whether to give my copy of this book to a friend or keep it myself. Perhaps he's not that good a friend? I haven't laughed so much for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly funny - if you like this kind of thing, 27 Oct 2012
This review is from: Can't Be Arsed (Hardcover)
I thought it was brilliantly funny and I finished it in no time. Which might be one of the disadvantages of this book - it's a bit too easy to read, and before you know it the 207 pages are at an end.

For anyone considering buying it, I'd suggest you read the first page of the 'Visit Machu Picchu' entry (it's free to view on Amazon - just click 'look inside') and see if you like that type of humour. The rest of the book is written in a similar style, so if you hate this page, you're going to hate the rest of the book.
The style of humour is very definitely aimed at men, and is seriously London-based. It's pitched somewhere between Have I Got News For You and Loaded, and is gleefully cynical about just about everything that a certain brand of snob holds dear. I suspect the snobs that Wilson is insulting are the dinner-party fraternity of the West London media circus - being a TV producer, he probably knows loads. I don't know any, but I still did a lot of chuckling, quite a lot of nodding in agreement, and a bit of laughing-out-loud from time to time.

In among the silliness and cynicism there are a few points that really make you stop and wonder. One of my favourite passages, about visiting Auschwitz so you 'don't forget':

"If you are going to visit a concentration camp for the purpose of making a vow, you already know all you need to know and you're indulging in nothing more than grief tourism."

Makes you think, eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another teenager, 22 Jan 2013
By 
TillyTee (Salisbury, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Be Arsed (Hardcover)
This is one of my 17-year old grandson's favoured expressions as he lounges about the place doing nothing very much. He laughed out loud when he received this as a Christms gift. I don't know yet though if he "can be arsed" to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 28 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Be Arsed (Hardcover)
This was a christmas present for my friends son, I wish I had one myself, very funny and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Be Arsed (Hardcover)
I bought this for my dad. It arrived fairly quickly, and in a decent condition. And the bits that I actually read were really funny.
I'm sure my dad will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am being arsed - to write this., 1 Jan 2012
By 
A. Brothwell "clogger21" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can't Be Arsed (Hardcover)
Good read. I share many of the sentiments, although some to be taken with a pinch of salt. Excellent bathroom read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book To Read before You Die, 5 Sep 2008
This review is from: Can't Be Arsed (Hardcover)
A hilarious take on all those worthy lists of things that you're meant to do to make your life complete, like touching a tiger or swimming with dolphins. Richard Wilson's answer is to stay at home and read a good book instead. Like this one. Very funny indeed and heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can't Be Arsed
Can't Be Arsed by Richard Wilson (Hardcover - 15 Sep 2008)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews