Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not from Bromley?
You do not have to come from Bromley to buy & enjoy this book! It is a tale that every supporter of lower league & so called 'non league'teams can relate to.
The expectations of a successful season,are soon outdone by the true reality, yet we still wake up on every match day, keen & eager to trapse all over the land watching our team. The glory hunters of the top...
Published on 25 Feb. 2009 by Mr. H. J. Jenkins

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Following non-league football
An interesting book, reasonably well-written, but very repetative and with very little to reference it in time and place apart from the results of Bromley FC, a (very) minor non-league football club at the time.
Basically, the story of how, over the course of a single season, a rather immature and fixated (nowadays we would say Obsesive-Compulsive) teenage boy...
Published on 9 Jun. 2012 by duncandisorderli


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not from Bromley?, 25 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain (Paperback)
You do not have to come from Bromley to buy & enjoy this book! It is a tale that every supporter of lower league & so called 'non league'teams can relate to.
The expectations of a successful season,are soon outdone by the true reality, yet we still wake up on every match day, keen & eager to trapse all over the land watching our team. The glory hunters of the top Premier league teams have no concept of the roller coaster that is suporting a team that struggles to survive on & off the pitch.

Every supporter thoughout the land shout buy this book for an insite as to the true reality of grass roots football, without which, the elite would not be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My sports book of the year, 25 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain (Paperback)
Found this book by accident but then could not put it down.

I was around the same age as the writer and lo and behold I used to go an watch Barking in the Isthmian League at the same time. We had quite a good team and didn't do too bad that season. we had a few good players who I remember - a guy called Butcher and Neville Fox who I knew well as he displayed his goal scoring skills on the pitch and was handy with the slipper at school since he was one of my PE teachers. Such was the joys of being a young adolescent in 1969!!

The book bought back so many memories and the joy of going to Barkings ground, Vicarage Field (Now a shopping centre) and watching every first team and reserve game come sun or rain.

The author really does deliver up a great read. I understand his passion and appreciate his effort in putting it all into writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When a 1-0 loss is a great result, 8 Jan. 2009
By 
G. Page - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain (Paperback)
This is a really enjoyable book in which Dave Roberts intertwines his memories of a spectacularly unsuccessful Bromley season with the growing pains of a teenage boy, first seemingly sent to a public school to better himself and then quickly 'expelled' partly through his Bromley allegiance. The book has a match by match structure, and with the false dawn of 3 earlish season wins, you wonder why the season is labelled as being so bad. A relentless loss after loss after loss from then onwards, with Bromley's few fans looking for any slight crumb of comfort justifies the title. There are many great anecdotes and stories on the way, with the author finally realising his dreams by helping out in the Bromley Supporters' Club and getting a lift in his hero Alan Stonebridge's car. Why don't Waterstones stock books like this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book of the year, 30 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain (Paperback)
It's rare for me to read a book that really makes me laugh. The Bromley Boys achieved it - I was laughing out loud, and regularly, right the way through. There were passages I'd still be thinking about (and snorting in public over) a week or so later...

'...when they went 7-0 up with only a couple of minutes left, I looked longingly towards the exit. When they went 8-0 up, the Barking fans started singing 'seven nil, seven nil, seven nil, seven nil'. It was the final humiliation. They'd actually lost count of the score.'

That's the sort of thing you have to tell everybody down the pub!

It's a funny and moving book, written in a disarmingly self-effacing style. I really loved it and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real footie fans..., 17 Mar. 2009
This review is from: The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain (Paperback)
...laughter and tears read. I bought this book for my dad after my husband read it cover to cover in just a couple of days (he isn't known for getting past page 1 of any books). Hearing the outbursts of laughter at regular intervals and seeing the occasions nods of agreement as he worked his way through the pages, only to get to the end and disappointedly say "I don't want to finish it, I'm going to read it again". He has since recommended it to everyone he knows (some of who have now bought and agree it's a cracking read), lent his copy to his dad and emailed the author his thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a book about football., 30 Aug. 2008
This review is from: The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain (Paperback)
The Bromley Boys plots the 1969/70 season for Bromley Football Club, a season that by any one's standards was a disaster for the club. Dave Roberts meticulously recollects each game, conjuring up the names of players who have come and gone, giving us brief glimpses of teams practically unknown, teams such as Corinthian Casuals,Wealdstone and Hitchin Town.

The despair at Bromley's persistently poor performance provides the backdrop for another emotionally engaging story. Dave Roberts takes the reader on a charming and delicate journey through a year in his teenage life. In 1969 Roberts was just 14 and in this book he reconstructs the events that occurred in his life, during that year.

These events, sometimes trivial, sometimes moving and sometimes a bit bizarre, spill into the narrative. As a female reader I often found myself almost glossing past the football, looking for these gems about the teenage boy whose awkward and sometimes strange behaviour is truly endearing.

I guess that the possible irony [?] of The Bromley Boys is that it is not only for fans of Bromley Football Club. The author's beloved Bromley could easily be replaced by any one of the many lower division clubs that dot the country. This is a book about what it means to follow a club, what it means to be obsessed, and perhaps most importantly, what it means to belong. It will appeal to any and to all true football fans. Anyone who has sat on a winter's night, shaking with cold as they watch their team hopelessly trudge about the wet pitch, should read his book.

But to call this merely a football book would be an injustice. The delicate and honest portrayal of a year in Roberts' life makes The Bromley Boys a worthy read for any fan of heartfelt, amusing, honest writing. One moment you get flashes of Nick Hornby, as Dave Roberts explains with uncanny accuracy the manner in which football weaves its way into his daily existence, then the next he becomes an intelligent version of Adrian Mole, as Roberts struggles to come to terms with his latest teenage mishap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember being 14 and football crazy?, 22 Mar. 2009
This review is from: The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain (Paperback)
Me too. I've just read The Bromley Boys, by Dave Roberts. It brought back all the passion, misery and desperation only a true obsessive can understand.

As a Celtic fan, I've had my share of dark moments, but this saga of a useless team having their worst-ever season in a lowly league puts it all in perspective. My hero was Jimmy Johnstone; the author's was someone called Alan Stonebridge. No, me neither.

I'm amazed that I could even relate to a tale set in a London suburb 40 years ago following a bunch of hapless amateurs. But it's bloody great - beautifully written, poignant and hilarious.

The main character went to every Bromley game in 1969, and always took his boots. Here's an excerpt:
"Why did I take the boots? Even though I was only 14 and not a terribly good footballer, I had a fantasy that a couple of Bromley players would get involved in a non-fatal car crash on their way to the match and, for some bizarre reason, a call would go out on the PA asking if anyone could take their place."

Priceless! That was me at Celtic Park too. I was so obsessive, I sent Christmas cards every year with SASEs, and was crushed when I never got a card back from them.

I've always been reluctant to review anything, but I had to share this with you. Do yourself a favour - read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars come on you lilywhites!, 23 Aug. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain (Paperback)
A book that made me laugh out loud and evoked so many memories of my own immature and compulsive behaviour at that age. Like all great football books it is more than just about football - even though that is a strength - but a reflection on the times, on adolescence, on schooldays and on the impossibility of ever finding a girlfriend! The hero of the book - the author as a 14 year old boy - is a profoundly tragic character and often, quite unwittingly, extremely funny - almost identical to me at that age but not so tragic! Yet, in his writing, the author brings insight, understanding and affection for his plight as an adolescent. Few though they are we revel in his triumphs - Bromley's ace striker's offer of a lift home from a meaningless away game and then the job in the Bromley FC tea hut. And we grieve for his tragedies - the unrequited love for Dave's sister and his incomprehensible and hopeless appearances week after week at centre-forward for an adult football team! At one point I thought maybe it was all just a dream - but then I checked the Isthmian league table and Bromley FC really were that bad that season!

So a great book - highly recommended - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY CLEVER BOOK, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
D. Brayley (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain (Paperback)
If you've ever known the feeling that nothing else on earth matters more than your football club, whether it's the players, the manager, the ground or even the tea hut...then this book is for you.

Dave Roberts leads us through his memories of a season in hapless Bromley FC's history and how, despite continual defeats, his admiration of the team and players actually grows. The action is set in 1969, so if you grew up 10 years either side of that date, then the extra dimension in this book is a trip down memory lane in terms of the clothes, comics, sweets and music popular at that time.

This is a really feel good book about following football in a far more innocent time. Roberts' greatest triumph is the strength of the voice of his 14 year old persona throughout, not once letting it slip and making the reader realise that it's actually written by a grown up 40 years later. That's probably the books greatest triumph.

A must read - you will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for any true footy fan, 26 Aug. 2008
By 
John Ashenden (u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain (Paperback)
This book is an absolute must read for anyone who has stood behind a goal at their favourite teams ground in the pouring rain cursing and muttering "never again"..only to turn up promptly and full of hope the next game of course!! Expertly written, Mr Roberts puts the reader in that exact place week after week as his beloved team and his sunday league team suffer the same fate as the season unfolds. An absolute joy to read, it had me in stitches. You really dont have to be a Bromley fan to relate to this, anyone who has followed a not so great non league team...especially in the 60's, 70's and 80's before football lost its soul...can relate to this. Buy it, you wont be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bromley Boys: The True Story of Supporting the Worst Football Team in Britain
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews