Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Really For Those Who Haven't Been ...
As someone who has spent some time in China (a total of fourteen months, including an eleven month stint), many of Debbie's experiences certainly ring true, and are in no way limited to just one region of China. She's also done a very good job of trying to explain some of her encounters, or the phenomenon she witnessed, but I really think this book is of most use for...
Published on 11 Mar. 2011 by Harry J

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars sad
Short review: shallow and disrespectful

This book is a real disappointment. It is stated that the author has a Ph.D in Linguistics and from this you could have hoped for some good reflections and analysis. At least that was what I expected when I bought the book. Sadly, the book is a collection of erroneous statements and what appear to be random recollections...
Published on 23 Jun. 2011 by Mandarin Student


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars sad, 23 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming in Chinese: And Discovering What Makes a Billion People Tick (Hardcover)
Short review: shallow and disrespectful

This book is a real disappointment. It is stated that the author has a Ph.D in Linguistics and from this you could have hoped for some good reflections and analysis. At least that was what I expected when I bought the book. Sadly, the book is a collection of erroneous statements and what appear to be random recollections of her time in China. Her reflections seldom go beyond the most obvious.

Time and time over she conveys her ignorance and lack of cultural understanding. The highlight of disrespectfulness: It took two years in China before the author understood that Chinese people care about each other (the chapter about the earthquake).

She claims that since Chinese characters are written with uniform spacing reading Chinese is as awkward as reading English with no spacing between words. She admits that she cannot read and write Chinese. I do, I can assure that her statement is nonsense.

She suggest "..the Chinese should learn to imagine words without the proper tone". Since tones in Chinese in effect provide different sounds, finals (a part of a syllable that contains vocals) with different tones are as different as different vocals are to English speakers. Try this: Yas thut us I vyri geed adoa! ("Yes that is a very good idea").
Her lack of understanding of Chinese characters and the importance of these as an important cultural heritage is remarkable. In this context she characterize the "deconstruction" (yes, "deconstruction" in the meaning of understanding a character) of characters as "complete madness". And this is even though she does not read or write these characters. Madness, - I will not comment her statement.

There are plenty of other issues I could mention. However, I believe the examples above give you an understanding of the qualities of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, unless you like your 'fortune cookies' in Chinese..., 17 Mar. 2015
By 
This review is from: Dreaming in Chinese: And Discovering What Makes a Billion People Tick (Hardcover)
Someone who is a 'linguist' researches into language as a 'scientific' phenomenon. So can be quite lost to culturtal, historical etc. aspects, unless these can be 'scientically evaliuated'. I was brought up in languages, not linguistics. For most Americans as for most Brits, foreign language is as foreign as quantum physics. So this author will be applying the Barbara Cartland school of languahe and culture. I went to market, I learned phrases, I watched soaps (I should imagine Chinese soaps are littlre diffferent from 'globalised soaps' superfuicially). I dreamed how Chinese work out the world in American (sorry Chinese) soaps... Oh she 'chewed out a taxi driver' how very American! I can imagine the Chinese saw her coming a mile off and reacted (I love you) accordingly... Tourists, evening class beginners and potters about dilletante style will love this book. Anyone else, more intellugent, culturally aware and worldy-wiser than little miss america, best look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really For Those Who Haven't Been ..., 11 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Dreaming in Chinese: And Discovering What Makes a Billion People Tick (Hardcover)
As someone who has spent some time in China (a total of fourteen months, including an eleven month stint), many of Debbie's experiences certainly ring true, and are in no way limited to just one region of China. She's also done a very good job of trying to explain some of her encounters, or the phenomenon she witnessed, but I really think this book is of most use for those who have never been to China, or are just about to go for the first time, and is squarely in the "interest only" category for those who have been and seen it for themselves. The book is a little inconsistent in its use of chinese characters, pin yin, Debbie's own transliteration system (which I don't think is terribly accurate, unless she's been taught a very strongly accented regional type of Chinese), and this is quite annoying for someone (anyone) with knowledge of how the language works.

In short, I would recommend this book, even to those who have been, if only to serve as a refresher of experiences, and I would definitely advise first-timers to have a read, though if they already know Chinese they should just be aware it is definitely not a language guidebook, more a day-to-day life survival book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars insight to chinese, 1 July 2011
By 
Ian Kennedy (England. Shakespeare country) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the book well written light and amusing. BEWARE. author has another book listed on Amazon which by inference is list as "a peolple who bought this also bought" Its the SAME book with slight title modification. Save your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming away..., 1 Feb. 2011
By 
abclaret (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreaming in Chinese: And Discovering What Makes a Billion People Tick (Hardcover)
Part linguistic anecdote, part travel writing, Deborah Fallows documents a few insights into the Chinese, their culture and their fascinating language. I am now better for knowing why he/she causes immense problems for the Chinese, who the Laobaixing are, some tried and tested learning techniques for the asailing Chinese learner, the evolution of Hanzi (Chinese characters) and some of the well-worn characteristics of the people. For a brief read it was well worth delving into but was underwhelmed by some of the sociological insights. There are masses of literature about the changing makeup of China, and it would have done well to draw from that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An encouraging read, 11 Aug. 2010
By 
N. Bennett (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreaming in Chinese: And Discovering What Makes a Billion People Tick (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book to read if you're attempting to learn Chinese. It's a great relief to find that someone who is an experienced linquist has encountered exactly the same problems that you're struggling with. Reading the book is a strange mixture of recognition - yes, I also fail at distinguishing tones - and new information which gives a glimpse of a land that most of us are unlikely to be able to visit in person. Each chapter uses a word or language concept as a starting point to explore a particular section of Chinese life. These are usually entertaining as the author has sudden breakthroughs which seem obvious in retrospect, but they can also be touching, particularly in the chapter concerning the earthquake of May 2008.

I have a couple of criticisms, the first being a backhanded compliment in that it seemed too short for me; I could easily have read a book twice the length. And the second that it's unlikely to be such an interesting read for people with no knowledge of Chinese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, and very readable, introduction to Chinese language and culture, 27 Aug. 2010
By 
J. Baldwin "Reader" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming in Chinese: And Discovering What Makes a Billion People Tick (Hardcover)
I'm currently studying Chinese with the OU and enjoying it immensely. I've been reading quite a few books on China but this is one of my favourites because it's written by a Westerner trying to get to grips with the culture and the language. If you've ever been to China you'll recognise many of the situations she finds herself in, and if you're learning the language you'll identify with some of her questions (why is the future "down" and the past "up"? Why do they use the same word for "him" and "her"?)
Even if you've never been, and never intend to go, or have no interest in learning the language, this is still a very entertaining book.

The writing is journalistic and easy to take in, and the chapters are short enough that you can finish one in 10-20 minutes. In fact I read the whole book in one day, over a few sessions. That leads me to my only complaint - I wanted more!

If you're visiting China, or learning the language, read this book. If you're not, read it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended by the Open University as useful background reading for ..., 27 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommended by the Open University as useful background reading for their excellent L197 Beginners Chinese course and the first non academic book about china i read while studying. Entertaining and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un put down able, 20 Aug. 2010
By 
John Broaders (Dublin 16 Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreaming in Chinese: And Discovering What Makes a Billion People Tick (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic read providing a real glimpse of china at so many levels. If you are learning Chinese it's an absolute ESSENTIAL tool to calm you and give you some meaningful context. This should be mandatory reading for students and tourists alike. Most people I have spoken to have read this in days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming in Chinese (Paperback)
A wonderful wee book, for all expatriates wherever they go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreaming in Chinese: And Discovering What Makes a Billion People Tick
Dreaming in Chinese: And Discovering What Makes a Billion People Tick by Deborah Fallows (Hardcover - 1 April 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews