Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read
Murphy writes a wonderful account of her amazing trek through the Ethiopian highlands. Murphy describes the topography and the people she encounters along the way splendidly. As with any Dervla Murphy book there is lots of tough travelling, strong opinions reserved in particular for the Ethiopian Clergy and a few scrapes. However this all wrapped up with a lot of humour...
Published 14 months ago by Nico

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Condescending
Having recently returned from travelling in Ethiopia with a growing love for the country, I was looking forward to reading this book.

The beauty of the country is vividly captured by Ms Murphy and I found myself back in Ethiopia walking on dusty roads and mountainous tracks. However, the manner in which Ms Murphy describes the local people who helped her along...
Published 3 months ago by SnowCat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 26 Mar. 2014
By 
Nico (Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Ethiopia with a Mule (Paperback)
Murphy writes a wonderful account of her amazing trek through the Ethiopian highlands. Murphy describes the topography and the people she encounters along the way splendidly. As with any Dervla Murphy book there is lots of tough travelling, strong opinions reserved in particular for the Ethiopian Clergy and a few scrapes. However this all wrapped up with a lot of humour particularly when the author is laughing at her own unique brand of madness. Her comments on the disconnect she noted between Addis Abba and the the rest of country she travelled through were highly perspective given the events that were later to occur in Ethiopia. In summary a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Condescending, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Ethiopia with a Mule (Paperback)
Having recently returned from travelling in Ethiopia with a growing love for the country, I was looking forward to reading this book.

The beauty of the country is vividly captured by Ms Murphy and I found myself back in Ethiopia walking on dusty roads and mountainous tracks. However, the manner in which Ms Murphy describes the local people who helped her along her way is condescending and, in my view, offensive. Perhaps that is a result of the book/notes being written in the 1960s, but I can imagine the offence this book would cause to an Ethiopian who read it.

My views seem to be at odds with other reviewers, so judge the book for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dervla is amazing, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book just before visiting Ethiopia. Although the book was written in the 1960's lots of things haven't changed. This book is a joy to read Dervla Murphy is a strong minded fearless traveler. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in a real life adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Dec. 2013
By 
Peter Munn (Chambery, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Ethiopia with a Mule (Paperback)
This up to the very high standar of Dervla's travel writing. She shows courage, perseverence and shares the dangerous dramas and highs of her voyage. At all times she has her feet on the ground and tries to communicate with those she meets. One relly feels that one has travelled with her!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great descriptions, not a lot has changed in the ..., 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great descriptions , not a lot has changed in the 40 or so years since it was written , except more tourists.Liked the fact that she didn't dwell on too much introspection , good to read before a trek and after one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Ethiopia with a Mule (Paperback)
Wonderful book by a brilliant and inspiring writer.Expectations were high as I'd read a couple of her others and she doesn't disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Ethiopia with a Mule (Paperback)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Ethiopia with a Mule
In Ethiopia with a Mule by Dervla Murphy (Paperback - 5 Feb. 2012)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews