Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glenn Hughes, The Autobiography, 17 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography (Paperback)
I have followed Glenn Hughes career since I was a teenager back in the seventies. The autobiography was due to come out a couple of years ago but was held back in order that a short section on Black Country Communion could be tagged on. It is the story of a man whose life spirals out of control, and comes back from the edge and is grateful for every day. The book has clearly been put together over a prolonged period of time though a series of interviews with the co-writer and it shows. The editing is sloppy as several stories are retold more than once and the sequence of events flits back and too, but do not let this put you off as it is one of the most honest rock biographies you will ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glenn Hughes - couldn't put it down!, 31 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography (Paperback)
I got this book for Christmas and I read it really quickly. When others say it isn't well written, I think that's because you can tell it's in his own words and I think that's a nice quality. Some books I've read recently ie Vince Neil from Motley - felt as if the person had been interviewed and then never went near the book again and you never felt close to what was being described, with this book you do, and you know he is being honest. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I will read it again. What a journey this guy has been on, he did well to come out the other side, unlike Tommy Bolin who sadly didnt. Lots of info on David Coverdale and Ritchie Blackmore and background stories you would never have known. Fabulous book - would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glenn Hughes Autobiography, 2 Jan. 2012
By 
Mrs. A. Reid "Annie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Bought for my husband as a Christmas present. He is a massive fan. He'd read the book by 27th Dec and although it was n't written that well, he still enjoyed it and found it very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no topic or mars barred, 11 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography (Paperback)
This is one of the most frank and open books that I've ever read. Glenn leaves no stone unturned. He's totally honest about his drug taking days. He tells the truth about the Gary Moore mars bar story. This man has written some of my favourite music of all time and it's a testament to his faith that he has survived to do so. More power to the healing force of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rock star gone bad, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
rock icon of the 1970s,want to know what happened in the 1980,a must read book if you like the rock n roll music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Voice", 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography (Paperback)
You do not get a nickname such as "the voice" within the music industry unless you are talented. In this book Glenn honestly and eloquently charts his amazing life with all the ups and downs (pardon the pun). The book substantiates why he is THE VOICE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy he is still around, 16 Dec. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (chasetown england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Glen Hughes is and must be the luckiest man alive, not only is he a local lad but if you havnt read this book its well worth a read, i bought it for my husband for christmas he knows glenn personally,recently they met up again at an old friends funeral. Obviously glenn looks nothing like his photo mores the pity lol. But he is so lucky to still be with us and when you read the book he holds no-one responable for how his life panned out, so gratefull he decided to write his book it really bought back some good memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 15 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography (Paperback)
I am still reading it. Great reading with great stories. Lots of well known players helped on this book. Tom Morello, David Coverdale, Tomy Iommi, Rob Halford...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but strictly for fans, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography (Paperback)
The other comments about the quality of writing is certainly true, but it does offer a insight into the greatest rock band in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling...., 31 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography (Paperback)
this is an incredibly compelling book that details the 'roller coaster' life of the man known as 'The Voice of Rock'. This 'warts and all' account will appeal to a mass market audience as well as anybody who has even the slightest interest in rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography
Glenn Hughes: The Autobiography by Joel McIver (Paperback - 11 Nov. 2011)
£13.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews