Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem for your bookshelf
Unfortunately, I connected with the author after his masterpiece was finished but read the book with a critical eye, as I was fortunate enough to be Personal Assistant to Maurice King, manager of the famed Brothers. I thought it was brilliant. Reynolds' writing style is creative, expressive and pushes you forward into the story. I know the complex history and elusive...
Published on 30 Mar 2010 by June F. Clark

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Impossible Read
The only way I managed to finish this book was by just reading the first line of each paragraph for about the last 30 pages and the whole paragraph if I thought it was going to be of interest. I hate not finishing a book but this one was a real struggle for at least the last two thirds. I purchased the book after reading the review by June Clark who was there at the time...
Published on 15 Nov 2010 by L. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem for your bookshelf, 30 Mar 2010
By 
June F. Clark (Greenwich Village, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers (Paperback)
Unfortunately, I connected with the author after his masterpiece was finished but read the book with a critical eye, as I was fortunate enough to be Personal Assistant to Maurice King, manager of the famed Brothers. I thought it was brilliant. Reynolds' writing style is creative, expressive and pushes you forward into the story. I know the complex history and elusive facts pulled together must have been so difficult to research and I sincerely recognise these enormous efforts. The results go beyond anything else written on The Walker Brothers, as they tugged at my own memories to relive events, page after page.

I really had no idea poor Gary was thought of so poorly as a musician. I must have been distracted by his adorable personality and friendship, that lasts to this day. I know Maurice laughed at him, though smiled long enough to try to make money from The Rain.

I believe Reynolds captured so well Scott's personality, through the interviews. Not an easy thing to do, or express.

As far as I am concerned, this book is a shining star and does not compare with others previously written. This contains facts from legitimate sources and the picture overflows with vivid, colourful truths. The Impossible Dream was a pleasure to read and a book that stands alone for The Walker Brothers. You are gifted, Mr. Reynolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Was There, 8 Sep 2009
By 
C. McCall (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers (Paperback)
I worked with the Walker Bros both as a band and as solo artistes and very much enjoyed reading "The Impossible Dream" which accurately transported me back to times of mayhem and madness.

If you are or were a Walker Bros fan then it is a good read and there are interesting quotes from people who were around at the time.

Well done to the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sensible Appraisal and a Fascinating Read, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers (Paperback)
I'm fed up of reading po-faced contemporary criticism of Scott's 'MOR'/pop stuff from indie intellectuals who can never hope to understand the style in which he was working. They seem to want to judge everything he's done against his more recent, experimental work and are too quick to dismiss anything that isn't 'difficult' or self-written as pure schmaltz. This shows a distinct lack of understanding of the vocal tradition in which Scott belongs. Anyone who likes the 'romantic','popular' sound of Scott is dismissed as some sort of lightweight who doesn't understand his apparent life-long crusade against the entertainment industry.

Reynolds gives a fair appraisal and isn't afraid to praise some of the stuff that is so regularly frowned upon. The 'received wisdom' surrounding some of the 'wilderness years' songs is crippling and it's good to read an author who understands their musical context and isn't frightened of heavy string arrangements or lyrics about love!

I think 'Any day Now' is a great album. Surely, if Scott was drinking heavily and depressed at the time, it must be one of the most convincing examples of genuine sadness and disillusionment that he has committed to vinyl. I can certainly hear a desperate, dark beauty in his performance on that record but I think there's too many people 'reviewing' this music without really understanding the context of Scott's entire approach to singing at that time (whatever he says now, he clearly was once a huge fan of songwriters such as Bacharach, Legrand etc etc and was at some point fairly obsessed with jazz vocal and Frank Sinatra, Mark Murphy, Jack Jones et al).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an interesting story, well told, 16 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers (Paperback)
This is an entertaining and thoroughly researched book that captures the period well. There are numerous illuminating interviews and interesting commentary on the recordings. A useful companion to the Scott Walker biographies that have already been published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers (Paperback)
Got this as was avid fan of The Walker Brothers in my younger days, have not read it all yet but have enjoyed it up to now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says..., 21 May 2013
By 
Lisa Lewis-Martin "llm" (Wimborne, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers (Paperback)
As the title suggests it is all about Scott and the Walker Brothers...giving us different aspects of each member. A jam packed hardback which is great value for money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid history of the Walker Brothers, 16 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers (Paperback)
I quite enjoyed this book and bar many annoying spelling mistakes (how the hell did they get there?) it was very easy and enjoyable to read. One gripe was that it ended very suddenly, especially since the title includes 'the story of Scott Walker' which I felt got more interesting post-the Walker Brothers. But for an informative and thorough history of The Walker Brothers' career this is the best I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Impossible Dream The story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers, 4 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers (Paperback)
The Walker Brothers were one of the most successful bands in pop history. Their titanic chart hits - 'The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine Anymore', 'Make It Easy On Yourself', 'My Ship Is Coming In' - and their youthful good looks established Scott, John and Gary as the original teen idols. During their height in the mid 60s, the Walkers could boast a fan club larger than that of The Beatles.

After the group disbanded in 1967, the brothers pursued solo careers. Only Scott Walker met with any real commercial success, issuing a quartet of self-titled albums, now rightly hailed as classics. The trio would slide into obscurity as the decade turned, before reforming and rising phoenix-like in the mid 70s, with the classic 'No regrets' hit single. They concluded their recording career with a groundbreaking ablum, 1978s Nite Flights, but the extraordinary legacy of The Walker Brothers and their enigmatic frontman, Scott Walker, lives on.

In the first in-depth biography of The Walker Brothers, Anthony Reynolds traces the rise and fall of one of the seminal pop acts and examines their unique contribution to popular music. He also reappraises the talent and appeal of the cult hero Scott Walker, as well as tracing the often neglected careers of the other two brothers, John and Gary.

The book covers the years from the early 60s to their revival in the mid 70s, telling the Walkers' fascinating story through the words of the brothers themselves. We also hear from those who helped make The Walker Brothers such a phenomenon - the musicians, record label staff, and producers; the fans and the photographers - and many (including myself) were interviewed exclusively for this book. Tracing the band and solo careers, Reynolds assesses each album and single, including outakes and unreleased songs. Profusely illustrated, featuring many previously unpublished photographs, this volume is a must for any fan of classic pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Impossible Read, 15 Nov 2010
By 
L. Turner "neva" (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers (Paperback)
The only way I managed to finish this book was by just reading the first line of each paragraph for about the last 30 pages and the whole paragraph if I thought it was going to be of interest. I hate not finishing a book but this one was a real struggle for at least the last two thirds. I purchased the book after reading the review by June Clark who was there at the time but how she can describe it as 'a gem' is beyond belief as it is very dull, monotonous and often incorrect. One good example of this is Scott's age who, according to the author, was born in January 1943, 21 in 1965, 22 in 1966, 33 in 1974 and 34 in 1976. Basic maths tells you that this cannot be correct and if something as simple as someone's age is not right what else is incorrect? We are told that Maurice King was a gangster who went into places waving around a gun, but then on the other hand he wasn't. Well was he? Although now in my mid 50's with a memory that is already failing I do seem to remember stories of Scott's very heavy drinking, being found drunk in gutters, attempted suicides but in this book it is John who is the alcoholic. My memory could be deceiving me but many of the reports from the 60's are not even mentioned in this book. OK, we know the press lies but if that was the case this book should address those reports.
However what i find really irritating about the book is that it is not really the story of the Walker Brothers but the story of their music. Page after page is devoted to how, when and where albums were made, who the session musicians were, who produced and arranged songs (a true Walkers fan will already know this), who wrote the songs (again you know this as it is quoted on the album) and when this is done for about 20 albums it does become VERY trying! Not only do you have to struggle through all of this but then each song is dissected, the melody, the strings, whether it is, or is not, similar to another song previously recorded and yes, I becamle very bored! The author also has some rather bizearre ideas as to which songs he considers to be brilliant, just good or mediocre. It would seem that 'Big Louise', 'the Seventh Seal' and 'The Old Man's Back Again' are in the latter category and it got to the point that if he mentioned the way Scott pronounces 'enjoy' in 'Best of Both Worlds' once more I would probably have drowned the book in the bath, along with the author if i could have found him. Who cares?
This book is a total waste of money; what is needed is a proper autobiography of Scott; 30th Century Man' is good but there is more to be said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Impossib le Dream, 20 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers (Paperback)
Because of the way the book is written, it is difficult at first to get into the book as it jumps back and forth between each Walker Brother. However, once you get used to the style it is an interesting book with a slight bias towards Scott Walker, but that is probably due to the fact that Scott has had a varied career which has been longer than either John or Gary. A worthwhile addition to any Walker Brother fan's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Impossible Dream: The Story of Scott Walker and the Walker Brothers
11.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews