Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was hooked immediately by this novel.
This review was writted by my mother Betty Greenwood and is posted on her behalf as she does not have internet access.

The narrative starts off with a horrific event when the Alan Brading's young French wife of two years is shot dead in a London street by his side. Though his father-in-law, Charles Limosin supports him through the early months of despair,...
Published on 24 May 2007 by P. Greenwood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Superficial and far-fetched.
Not the best suspense/murder/revenge story I've ever read and a bit far-fetched. The villain is a stereotypical baddie and the plot lines are superficial in the extreme. However, the central story of the eight children is believable, given the atrocities committed by the SS in the war.
Published 7 months ago by Janie S


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was hooked immediately by this novel., 24 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Eighth Child (Paperback)
This review was writted by my mother Betty Greenwood and is posted on her behalf as she does not have internet access.

The narrative starts off with a horrific event when the Alan Brading's young French wife of two years is shot dead in a London street by his side. Though his father-in-law, Charles Limosin supports him through the early months of despair, eventually anger propels him to seek answers for the crime and revenge. The trail leads to events of the Second World War, the French Resistance Movement and of honour and betrayal.

It is an extraordinary `page-turner' and I stayed up until 4 o'clock in the morning to finish it. A very good read. Let's have many more.

Betty Greenwood, Wiltshire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read thriller, 10 April 2007
This review is from: The Eighth Child (Paperback)
This book has everything. The complex yet well written easy to follow plot tantalises the reader with every turn of the page. At times you feel you are running with the imagination of the author but he tricks you time and time again. A great mystery thriller, a great debut book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good adventure, 12 July 2007
This review is from: The Eighth Child (Paperback)
Mr. Hillier has shown us that a first novel really can be good. The book is well paced and invites you to continually turn the pages. The twists are unexpected and keep you guessing until the very end. Well done Mike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where has this author been hiding?, 8 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Eighth Child (Paperback)
It has been a long time since I read a book that instantly gripped me in the way the Eighth Child did. The characterization was excellent, the plot had me enthralled. A must have! Can't wait to read Mike Hillier's next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a debut., 7 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Eighth Child (Paperback)
Well Mr. Hillier, what a debut. heres a writer both skilled and talented, I cant believe this is his first book. What a find, will Alan Brading run and run? I think this writer definately will, cant wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning - This is a stay up all night read!, 8 May 2007
This review is from: The Eighth Child (Paperback)
I couldn't put this one down. Unlike many thrillers, the twists in this story are unpredictable.

I particularly enjoyed the way in which Mr Hillier has woven together recent French history with the modern day; the skeletons in the cupboard just won't let go! There is plenty of action, an element of romance and the psychological angle is intriguing, altogether a recipe for a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Readable..., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eighth Child (Kindle Edition)
An interesting tale of loyalty gone wrong, perseverance and romance. Starts well and ends neatly; the journey in the middle is graphic, but not upsetting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Superficial and far-fetched., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eighth Child (Kindle Edition)
Not the best suspense/murder/revenge story I've ever read and a bit far-fetched. The villain is a stereotypical baddie and the plot lines are superficial in the extreme. However, the central story of the eight children is believable, given the atrocities committed by the SS in the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Predictable - couldn't even finish it, 20 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Eighth Child (Kindle Edition)
I have to disagree with everyone else's comments regarding this book - it was badly written, very predictable and not at all enjoyable. Probably the worst book I've read in a long time; I never normally write reviews but this prompted me to warn others that this book may disappoint - it certainly did me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reminding me of the prolific and once popular Victor Canning, 24 May 2008
By 
R. Nicholson-morton "Nik Morton" (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eighth Child (Paperback)
It's 1982 and Alan Brading witnesses his wife being shot in a London street. The murderer was driven away in a car and Alan was left to pick up the pieces but he didn't seem capable. His wife Suzanne was French and her father, Charles, arrives to arrange everything, including the transportation of Suzanne's body back to her homeland for burial.

At the family chateau, Alan meets Suzanne's devastated sister, Jeanette and they all attend the funeral. Here, Alan is certain he spots the man who fired the gun from the car. But it's too brief a glimpse and, besides, nobody believes him. What would Suzanne's murderer be doing here when the crime was committed in London?

London's Detective Sergeant Cabot doesn't seem to get anywhere with his enquiries; the official line is that Mrs Brading was killed in error, a gangland or terrorist assassination that went wrong. Frustrated, Alan can't let the matter drop. He becomes obsessed. He must find out what happened.

Persistence and stubbornness drive him on to the point where he even convinces Jeanette that the connection between her sister's death and the chateau is highly significant.

This was a pleasant read, reminding me of the prolific and once popular Victor Canning. Hillier has the same laid back elegant style, making you want to read on to find out what's in store for the determined hero. An old-fashioned hero, in fact, and all the better for that; he makes a change from the cynical anti-heroes we've had for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eighth Child
The Eighth Child by Mike Hillier (Paperback - 1 Feb 2007)
Used & New from: 5.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews