Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


244 of 244 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best self-build book I have read
I have been interested in building my own house for at least 20 years and in that time I have read many books and countless magazine articles on the subject. Initially, most of the stuff I could find was american - often inspiring and very much geared to hands on do-it-yorself types but so far removed from the reality of building in bureaucratic Britain as to be almost...
Published on 30 Jan 2007 by Nicholas D. Lintott

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great content, presented horribly compared to previous editions
So disappointed! As the proud owner of the Sixth edition, which was an all round quality product, in colour and presented with neat tables, high quality photo's and smooth, luxurious paper; the publishers have decided to cut costs and present this like a book costing 4.99. I'm sure that Mark Brinkley's great content is still the same, but after reviewing for 10 minutes...
Published 16 months ago by C. Haynes


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

244 of 244 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best self-build book I have read, 30 Jan 2007
By 
Nicholas D. Lintott "Nick Lintott" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been interested in building my own house for at least 20 years and in that time I have read many books and countless magazine articles on the subject. Initially, most of the stuff I could find was american - often inspiring and very much geared to hands on do-it-yorself types but so far removed from the reality of building in bureaucratic Britain as to be almost useless. I have read books recently, written in this country, of a much more sober sort. They are often written by architects and, although many contain excellent advice on planning and contracts and garantees, there is often surprisingly little about the actual building process.

Mark Brinkley's book is different. It is immediately clear that this is written by a man who really knows about house building, both as a professional and a self-builder. He explains simply how houses are built, what choices there are to be made and what follows from them. Even better he explains why bulders, developers and the various subcontractors behave the way they do.

Building is not rocket science but there are many things that need to come together for it to work. Even if you don't intend to lift so much as a shovel in the process of your house build, you need to know the information in this book. It is clearly presented and easy to follow and cuts through the spin that various intrest groups put 'facts' and figures leaving you in a good position to make informed decisions.

For a book that contains so much information and insight, it is very easy to read and even entertaining in places and on top of that it really gives you a feel for what it is like to build your own house. I am 60% through the process of building my own house and still refer to this book often - if you only buy one book on self-build this should be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book you should read BEFORE commencing your SelfBuild, 30 Oct 2001
By 
Rick Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably the first book purchase that any SelfBuilder should make. I speak form experience - I bought the last 2 versions of it.
This title may mislead you to think this is a practical book, it isn't. However it is an excellent book, it has tables which allow you to work out the material and labour costs for just about every individual task involved with building a house. Rates are given in PC sums or as square or cubic metre rates.

I have prepared the detailed costings for my build using Marks tables, and it brings out many things which might have slipped by in my calculations. The cost per lightfitting to the charge per linear metre for scaffolding.

There is a fair amount of background detail to various stages of the build and to who does what and how to organise things. With plenty of examples of the various methods of achieving the results i.e. drylining costs and plastering costs are detailed.

It does take some getting used to, you need to look at the front example build find the relevant chapter and look at the breakdown and then find the relevant table to see the full breakdown of material & labour costs.

A very good book and a must if you want to know what you should expect to pay.

I now have the 98/99 version and the book although not greatly changed remains an indispensable item for those who are Selfbuilding rather than just taking a turnkey package from a company.

Still a little lean on timber frame details, but at least some new data in this version.

I can honestly recommend this book for anyone interested in carrying out a Selfbuild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading - well written, excellent value for money., 26 Feb 2002
By 
SimonL (Channel Islands, Gt. Britain) - See all my reviews
If you're attempting a full house build or just extending or renovating, read this book.
It provides practical and objective information about all aspects of house building; it is easily understood by the lay person, without any 'dumbing down', and a useful reference for beginners and professionals alike.
It clearly lays out all the options and costs for each stage of building, allowing you to make informed decisions on how to proceed.
Whether self-building or employing builders, don't consider embarking on any building project without reading it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Selfbuilders - If you do nothing else - buy this and read it, 30 Mar 2004
By A Customer
It's very simple - do not attempt to start planning the self-build or major renovation of anything more than a broom cupboard under the stairs (and it's probably worth the cover price for even that!) until you have bought this book and read it from cover to cover at least twice. I have half a dozen other "home building" books and this is the one I always go back to. Not for nothing is it called the Housebuliders "Bible".
It doesn't set out to tell you how to project manage building a house. HOWEVER, it's written in such a way that I learnt enough from an earlier edition of this book to do exactly that. It DOES tell you how much it might all end up costing and how to keep control over the costs when you are project managing - or more importantly - someone else is project managing the work.
By dissecting each part of the build process from planning all the way through to putting up curtains it gives you an excellent idea of what's involved when you build a house and as I've said controlling the single most important issue which is cost - and trust me on this - controlling costs IS the number one issue you will face.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute god-send, 4 Mar 2003
By 
Paul (Woodbridge, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If you're thinking of doing a self-build, then you simply have got to get this book. It can potentially save you hundreds, if not thousands, of pounds. At the very least, you'll know for sure whether someone in the trade is trying to rip you off! A cracking book that has made my project 100x more likely to keep on budget - and I'm sure it can do it for you to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tremendous reality check!!, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an owner of a large building plot I have often entertained the idea of building a nice house on it and over the years whenever I feel the 'urge' coming on I get myself a copy of the latest edition of this book. It truly is a wonderful read with detail which will fascinate anyone who has ever tried diy or anything more ambitious (or just even to hold conversations with builder mates down the pub!). The book is nicely structured with lovely detail on new developments in building and gives a good contrast between traditional skills and the new products to make life easier. One word of caution...the index is rubbish which does force you to read every word and add your own bookmarks and highlights (no bad thing I suppose). I was a bit disappointed in his choice of benchmark houses as they seemed a bit removed from reality but an entertaining read nonetheless. The real chilling chapters are the ones on pitfalls and design which really do show you why the building industry is in such a mess. With so much quality planning legislation from zealous councils, the UK must surely have the best builders and houses in the world ;)

What is really excellent are the costings, figures and estimates which give a good indication about whether it's really worth bothering. On recieving this latest copy I spent a day with calculator, tape measure, Council planning application forms, and estate agent's guestimates. I reckon the costs as shown are spot on and I concluded that it would be ridiculous for me to even entertain the notion of a self build. (My day job is as a Project Manager!). So once again the book has done its job and paid its way. I'll be doing some nice diy projects from out of the book but as for self build...not until house prices make a big jump. Equally I am sure some people will be inspired to go ahead and try it. Final word, the typos are hilarious but then again it was written by a builder ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Homebuilders Bible., 6 Jan 2003
By 
Colbie-lee (Bishop Auckland, Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Great book for people thinking of selfbuild,renovations and modernisation.It covers most issues you will come across doing any build work and its a great book for any one wanting to update their house.
As the book gives a lot of information written to 2002 specs you could add alot of modern features to your house without doing any drastic build work and if you are wanting to sell obviously this will help.Altogether this is a good book its full of information mainly written for the selfbuilder but if you are wanting the know how of how a house is built from top to bottom then this is the book for you but the book is not a diy guide but its absolutely full of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A budget delight, 1 Oct 2002
By A Customer
I have spent endless hours trying to find approximate costings in magazines, the internet and from building/ package companies, but none have the right detail to be able to complete a true mortgage application cashflow from the likes of buildstore.
If you want a book that can do this and much more with loads of comparable costs and an understanding of each stage then look no further. I wish I had it years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 6 Aug 2008
By 
paris kennard (england, dorset) - See all my reviews
this is a great book, so much useful information in there. in my opinion theres already enough good reviews to convince one to buy it, so theres not really much to add.
although its important to know, this doesn't tell you practical skills, 'how-to's like roofing, plumbing etc. its more about prices of materials verses labour, explains the ins and outs of employing an architect to design for you, explains how to deal with building regulations, that kind of thing.
VERY useful
paris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great content, presented horribly compared to previous editions, 4 May 2013
By 
C. Haynes "Book addict" (Cheltenham, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Housebuilders Bible 10 (Paperback)
So disappointed! As the proud owner of the Sixth edition, which was an all round quality product, in colour and presented with neat tables, high quality photo's and smooth, luxurious paper; the publishers have decided to cut costs and present this like a book costing 4.99. I'm sure that Mark Brinkley's great content is still the same, but after reviewing for 10 minutes and getting a headache from the small writing, on cheap recycled paper (as others have said, very difficult to read) and an absence of any colour throughout, this great book has now taken on the tome of a dull 1950's text book.

In disgust at producing such a cheap, nasty book, that looks akin to books from other publishers at a quarter of the price, I decided to vote with my wallet and buy the far more professionally presented Haynes manual for self-builders (in colour and half the price). Note to Ovolo and Mark Brinkley - please go back to producing a quality book that we can read and proudly present on our bookshelves, rather than this "tat", surrounding fantastic content. This edition is a huge step backwards on almost all fronts, when compared with the sixth edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Housebuilders Bible 10
Housebuilders Bible 10 by Mark Brinkley (Paperback - 22 Mar 2013)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews