Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better
Trailblazer's Coast to Coast is the book to have judging by my time on the C2C in July 2012. It works subject to you not going off route and is by far the most popular guide book amongst C2Cers.
It appears to pack a lot of information into a pocketable size book but it is not without problems. The gps waypoints are really an aside, just a nod to isolated points a...
Published on 6 Oct 2012 by European Traveller

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Used on C2C in July 2013 - not as helpful as I'd hoped
Bought this book for the C2C primarily for the walk guide. There is a lot of other info on places to stay, services on the route etc, non of this I found particularly useful (internet much better for this) and it makes the book heavier and generally harder to use for what I did want.

I found the walk maps and guide did not help me very much when things got...
Published 15 months ago by ONG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 6 Oct 2012
This review is from: Coast to Coast Path: St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay planning, places to stay, places to eat (Trailblazer British Walking Guide) (Trailblazer Guide) (Paperback)
Trailblazer's Coast to Coast is the book to have judging by my time on the C2C in July 2012. It works subject to you not going off route and is by far the most popular guide book amongst C2Cers.
It appears to pack a lot of information into a pocketable size book but it is not without problems. The gps waypoints are really an aside, just a nod to isolated points a long way from each other. Loading these into a gps route for the day could get you into trouble more often than get you out of it. If you want to use gps' pin point navigational accuracy then look on the web for a complete set of waypoints, Viewranger have the whole route in day by day detail and there are other sites with the gps info that will help you.
Also the sketch maps while initially looking good are only useful if you are on the correct route. You don't need to go far off the defined route, say fifty metres, to be off these maps and then you could be really lost where the book is no use at all. It is essential that you have mapping that covers the areas either side of the route, then you can find your way back onto the correct route.
Each Stage/Day route directions seem very sketchy at times, being broken up between other information about places along the route is quite frustrating, and it seems the author expects you to navigate by the hand drawn sketch maps; this works most of the time but not all of the time.
Imho you will probably buy this book because it looks good value and has a lot of reviews but also take sections of OS maps but best of all is a gps preloaded with all the key waypoints for each days walking. If you want to navigate the C2C without unnecessary stress then look to Viewranger, Walking World, Trailzilla and the many more online gps resources for an accurate route, then load it into your gps or phone and you'll confidently navigate the whole route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide. Nice maps. Excellent for planning your route., 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast Path: St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay planning, places to stay, places to eat (Trailblazer British Walking Guide) (Trailblazer Guide) (Paperback)
I have the guidebooks for Ridgeway and Cotswold Way. Both Trailblazers. When I started reading this one, I thought...this isn't the same as the others. It seemed different. I looked at the other books and realized they each had different authors. Doh! I hadn't realized that. So maybe it is just the tone or something in this book that made me look at the others, but the others must have been similar enough to each other that no flags were raised. But that doesn't mean this isn't a good guide book.

It has the same type of maps, very detailed with walking times (but it doesn't have a slow & fast pace like the others do -- I think that irked me a bit -- I really like having the two paces so I can plan or walking days/lunch stops).
It gives a few itinerary choices, which was good. And it listed a number of places to stay in each town, which is also good. This book is basically just like all the other Trailblazer Guides, so if you liked them, you'll probably like this one too. Although, like I said, it seemed different some how. Maybe more distant than the others.

I will update this review once we've done our walk and let you know how accurate it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This seems to be what everyone uses, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast Path: St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay planning, places to stay, places to eat (Trailblazer British Walking Guide) (Trailblazer Guide) (Paperback)
Only went wrong once. Maps give good little tips, but also need OS. We used Harvey's, which is easy to handle, waterproof and shows the route, plus compass plus iphone GPS, just to check where we were. Is quite heavy to carry and use. Also would be better if the maps were separate, for lightness and ease of use whist walking, especially in the rain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Walk, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast Path: St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay planning, places to stay, places to eat (Trailblazer British Walking Guide) (Trailblazer Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent guide to the trail.
The scale is sometimes a bit iffy, but otherwise if you keep your eyes on the route maps, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motivating!, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast Path: St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay planning, places to stay, places to eat (Trailblazer British Walking Guide) (Trailblazer Guide) (Paperback)
Great little book, fulfills expectations and is going to help motivate me to do the damn thing this summer. Watch this space!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic but brilliant, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast Path: St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay planning, places to stay, places to eat (Trailblazer British Walking Guide) (Trailblazer Guide) (Paperback)
All the info I needed to plan and cost the walk in a compact and accessible form at a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The guide to have, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast Path: St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay planning, places to stay, places to eat (Trailblazer British Walking Guide) (Trailblazer Guide) (Paperback)
We walked the C2C in august 2013 and very much appreciated this book. Under a very limited volume and weight (around 210g after chopping out the introductory part, very useful to prepare the thing but not so useful in the field) you pack a wealth of easy to access information on the go. Each stage is described using the same pattern : first a general description of the day, including a broad elevation profile and a good hint of what is waiting ahead, then highlights of specific navigation tricks, then detailed (1/20.000th) maps showing through simplistic drawings any piece of information helping you find your way and finally the description of the resources to expect in the villages you will come across, with clearcut useful comments.
For the navigation we relied heavily on the detailed maps and can't imagine how to do without them, given the (very) low signposting of the path (especially according to french GR paths standards). Depending of the terrain, we used a combination of compass, GPS (waypoints downloaded from their internet site) three of four times to confirm the way to go and harvey 1/40.000th linear maps most of the time in the Lake District.
The cons are that the navigation information are not totally errors free (we found three of them, sorted out using the other navigation means), but overall this guide does the job very correctly and we recommend it without any hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trailblazer Coast To Coast Walk, 6 Aug 2013
This review is from: Coast to Coast Path: St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay planning, places to stay, places to eat (Trailblazer British Walking Guide) (Trailblazer Guide) (Paperback)
I followed the directions of this book from St Bees to Keld and found it a fantastic guide. The detail is simple and the detail is exact in every way. It is perfectly simple to follow.
I would highly recommend this book for anyone who is planning the Coast to Coast walk. It is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Best C2C book around., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast Path: St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay planning, places to stay, places to eat (Trailblazer British Walking Guide) (Trailblazer Guide) (Paperback)
When you are on the C2C this is the book you will see most people using, and that is because it works which is more than can be said of some other books.
Packed with information, directions a bit brief at times but with good sketch maps. The only problem is that the sketch maps are linear and narrow so you don't need to be much off course, say 100 yards, and you are off the mapping with no directions on how to get back on the route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the information you need..., 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast to Coast Path: St Bees to Robin Hood's Bay planning, places to stay, places to eat (Trailblazer British Walking Guide) (Trailblazer Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent book packed with useful information. My friend and I are considering a guided coast to coast walk but could easily do it on our own with this book and a compass. I shall read it cover to cover more than once before attempting the walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews