Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible for PW walkers! All the practical info you'll need.
3rd Edition, published May 2011. ISBN 978-1-905864-34-8.

This guidebook is streets ahead of the opposition in my view. It has all the info you'll need, clearly laid out and easy to find your way around, without the waffle or annoying slavish adherence to a set itinerary of some of it's competitors;

- a fantastic public transport map to aid those who...
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by EllenDexter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pennine way: edale to kirk yetholm
having previously walked the route from S to N in 2008 decided to walk N to S using this book as well as the harvey maps (excellent). it was at times hard to navigate and others infuriating using this guide book. it is what it says, a S to N guide
Published 7 months ago by mickeyt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible for PW walkers! All the practical info you'll need., 22 Jun 2011
This review is from: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) (Paperback)
3rd Edition, published May 2011. ISBN 978-1-905864-34-8.

This guidebook is streets ahead of the opposition in my view. It has all the info you'll need, clearly laid out and easy to find your way around, without the waffle or annoying slavish adherence to a set itinerary of some of it's competitors;

- a fantastic public transport map to aid those who do the walk in stages
- great route maps to supplement your 'proper' map, with navigation notes just where needed when the route on the ground is unclear (I guess it could even suffice instead of a map if you're that kind of person, but I'm not)
- info on all the accomodation options, including days of the week when shut, prices, single room supplements, phone numbers, which places are dog friendly, even which have baths available
- info on all the places you can resupply with food and cash points
- several different suggested itineraries for slower and faster walkers for campers, wild campers and B&B/hostellers, but the route notes are not dictated by any particular itinerary
- sensible, practical advice on sensitive issues such as wild camping and solo walking

I can't think of anything more which it would have been helpful to know which wasn't included.

I can't comment on the previous reviewer's comment on the GPS waypoints, as I don't use one. I think it would be hard to get lost with a map, compass, this book and a reasonable amount of attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide., 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) (Paperback)
This guide book gives you all the information you need to prepare yourself for walking The Pennine Way. Although not to be used as a map book, the drawings of the various routes references to OS Maps are great. The book highlights areas that are difficult to navigate and gives clear instructions on how to find your way.

The infromation regarding public transport is brilliant too. Although this may date over time, it gives you a good understanding of what needs to be done to make sure you get to all your stops easily.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone considering doing this walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A top-quality guide book!, 1 Jun 2011
By 
Stuart W. Greig (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) (Paperback)
It seems like almost no time at all since I was reviewing the 2nd Edition of this guide book - but looking back , it was over 18 months ago. I liked that edition of the guide book so much I walked the route; something I had been interested in for several years, but the book spurred me on to actually do it.

I walked the Pennine Way in May 2010 and the guide book was superb - it will be hard to improve on that with this edition of the book. It's release date of late May 2011 seems a little late to catch the bulk of 2011 Pennine walkers; but should be just in time for the late summer walkers.

The book looks almost identical to the previous edition and is the same weight at 330g and has the same number of pages (270) and the same number of hand-drawn maps (135), it's even the same RRP (11.99). It does have a new author though. The very first edition of the book was written by Edward De La Billiere and Keith Carter - the second edition was heavily re-written and completely re-walked by Chris Scott (who also did the Coast to Coast re-write) and this latest incarnation has had the same treatment from Jim Manthorpe.

I can see lots of minor updates, some tweaks of previous information boxes and a little more depth in one or two areas, but as the book is the same size it's not been heavily added to since the previous edition. One example of the update is the pub in Garrigill - the George and Dragon has had something of a rollercoaster history in the past couple of years and in the second edition it was listed as open and serving - in this third edition it is not mentioned at all - as it was closed for much of last year. Unfortunately - for the printed guide - the pub is open again and doing food and drink. This is where the website updates will be invaluable.

The accommodation options for the final day (Byrness to Kirk Yetholm) have been updated, now that Uswayford is not an option, but new services are available and these are detailed as you would expect. So there is still no imperative to walk the monster final day.

GPS waypoints are included again of course and downloadable from the Trailblazer website - these have been updated from the last edition, but are probably my only source of complaint in this review. There are 255 waypoints in total and when you load them into a mapping application like Memory Map you can see some huge inconsistencies in their coverage. Some sections have 10 waypoints per mile and others have none for several miles - and the terrain being covered doesn't account for this discrepancy. There are only 7 waypoints for the first day - one of the most tricky days for navigation, especially if misty. Yet there are 20 between Dufton and Great Dunn Fell, which is probably about right.

Still on the waypoints - many of them are very inaccurate, at least when plotted on my maps using Memory Map - many are over 100 yards from the path. I would recommend anyone planning on using a GPS with these waypoints checks them carefully before using them.

That said, this edition of the guide has not changed my original opinion - this is still the best guide book for the walk and the only one you need. If you have the second edition, I'm not sure there's much reason to buy this third edition, even if you're planning to walk it again so soon, but if you're thinking of walking the path this year - this new edition is a must-have! Forget the others, the Trailblazer guide is the Daddy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is best guide when completing a long distance walk., 7 Jan 2013
By 
Mark Davis (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) (Paperback)
I always buy a British Walking Guide when considering a long distance walk. It helps with planning where to stay, how far to walk each day and transport options. Easy to follow, looking for landmarks, places for lunch. Also good for terrain. This book will help with planning this years walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PW, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent guide to the walk. Clear maps and illustrations throughout, Easy to use wirh a simple index. Well writtten in simple English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars pennine way: edale to kirk yetholm, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) (Paperback)
having previously walked the route from S to N in 2008 decided to walk N to S using this book as well as the harvey maps (excellent). it was at times hard to navigate and others infuriating using this guide book. it is what it says, a S to N guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long distance walk: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm., 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) (Paperback)
An informative book. Handy size. Good discriptions and pics. No other book to compare a walk like this with. I'll walk the Pennine Way next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) (Paperback)
This book is full of all of the information needed to walk the Pennine way, clear maps, lots of info on each area and accommodation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) (Paperback)
Used this book for a couple of sections of the Pennine Way with no problems - brilliantly illustrated with little or no need for OS map. Lots of information on transport, accommodation, shops etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best by a country mile, 23 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) (Paperback)
I had already used a Trailblazer guide for the Coast to Coast, so I knew I would be getting an excellent guide.

Take it that this book is light years ahead of any other well-known guide on the market, and allow me to remark on one or two shortcomings.

(1) The passage on the initial choice of Grindsbrook/Kinder (now unofficial) or Jacob's Ladder does the publisher a disservice. It's clear that the author(s) haven't actually tried the route over Kinder recently. Walk a bearing over the peat hags? Don't be silly - just follow the path.

(2) In some areas, the GPS waymarks are consistently 200m out. They plot that way on Memory Map and they work that way on the ground.

(3) Official alternative routes (eg Chew Green area) are not described.

(4) Most folk follow the old rail route to Lambley nowadays, so why not accept it and help by describing, at the very least, the exit at Lambley, which can be tricky?

(5) I can't help getting the feeling that different researchers covered different bits of the route. For example, north of Hadrian's Wall, odd bits of detail are wrong and some instructions are very vague.

(6) As some people have remarked about Trailblazer guides, they carry A LOT of extra information. I enjoy reading it until the day I set off, then I cut out all of the pages about wildlife, etc, to reduce the weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa526c12c)

This product

Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides)
Pennine Way: Edale to Kirk Yetholm (British Walking Guides) by Chris Scott (Paperback - 15 April 2011)
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews