Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Reference Guide, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Adventure Cycle-Touring Handbook: Worldwide Cycling Route & Planning Guide (Adventure Cycle Touring Handbook: A Worldwide Cycling) (Paperback)
We've owned both editions of this book, and it's a great reference guide for any bike tourist but especially those who want to explore off the beaten path. It starts with a good overview of the gear you need and moves on to profiles of all the key cycling regions in the world, plus lots of stories from other bike tourists. Great material for fueling the dreams and plans for your next big bike tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cycle touring bible, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Cycle-Touring Handbook: Worldwide Cycling Route & Planning Guide (Adventure Cycle Touring Handbook: A Worldwide Cycling) (Paperback)
Having just done 2 car trips from Brittany to St Tropez ( some 1100kms each way)in plus 30 heat and endless kms stuck behind caravans and lorry s, I began to think how nice it would be to do the trip on a cycle and take in all that beautiful scenery, so much that is missed behind the wheel of a car ; So on my finale return oiled up my old 10 speed racer, brought a helmet, and jumped on to find out if my totally unfit 62year old beer bellied body was still up to it. Well after 2 weeks of every evening doing short up hill rides, i think i am up to doing a not to distant trip; So I thought that i had better go on Amazon and find out what books are available on the subject and this is the first one that came up, and what a choice!; The book is split into 3 parts ,the first, what kit to buy, secondly, what routes to take, and the third, inspirational tales from cyclists who have traveled all over the world including counties that i wouldnt or would be seen dead in!!.
Well it wasn't quite the book i was looking for for my gentle amble through France,but what the heck, with retirement looming, what a way to spend it!!.
Brilliant book!, doubt if i will ever be able to afford all the kit recomended; but all those adventures have realy got my legs working, cant get off my bike now!!; Great service by amazon, 3 days to France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Bike Touring Bible, 15 Aug 2012
This review is from: Adventure Cycle-Touring Handbook: Worldwide Cycling Route & Planning Guide (Adventure Cycle Touring Handbook: A Worldwide Cycling) (Paperback)
This is a "Must" read for anyone taking up cycle
touring.It's an informative insight in what you'll really need to cycle tour most parts of the World.

I found the experience of the author ,helpful in deciding my bike & camping gear,as well as, other great tips I would not have thought of-
especially country specifics in regards to bike touring.

In all,it's concise, practical & easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A point of view, 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Cycle-Touring Handbook: Worldwide Cycling Route & Planning Guide (Adventure Cycle Touring Handbook: A Worldwide Cycling) (Paperback)
An excellent book. It starts with the preparation and planning. Then gives insights into touring around the world. Not much on UK though. Then anecdotes from others. A very interesting read with lots of tips. I am experienced and still got something from this book - Good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Cycle-Touring Handbook: Worldwide Cycling Route & Planning Guide (Adventure Cycle Touring Handbook: A Worldwide Cycling) (Paperback)
Great book for planning a great trip. Compliments my other travel books nicely. Prompt delivery, and arrived in perfect condition. Couldn't ask for more! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Mark E. Lowen (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Cycle-Touring Handbook: Worldwide Cycling Route & Planning Guide (Adventure Cycle Touring Handbook: A Worldwide Cycling) (Paperback)
The best book I have read on cycle touring with up to date and relevant infomation. I read it from cover to cover when it arrived and it answered several queries and questions that I had and now sits on my coffee table and I find that I continually dip into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill book, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Cycle-Touring Handbook: Worldwide Cycling Route & Planning Guide (Adventure Cycle Touring Handbook: A Worldwide Cycling) (Paperback)
I found this book very full of brilliant ideas from a guy that has done a lot of touring and knows his stuff The book makes you want to Leave your job Pack your tent & butties and pedal off to see the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough guide & nicely written, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Cycle-Touring Handbook: Worldwide Cycling Route & Planning Guide (Adventure Cycle Touring Handbook: A Worldwide Cycling) (Paperback)
Authentic feel to text and very informative. You would not really take this book with you when travelling by bicycle but it is great for planning and dipping into sections as required. Small sections desrcribing personal experiences is an added bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Books, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Cycle-Touring Handbook: Worldwide Cycling Route & Planning Guide (Adventure Cycle Touring Handbook: A Worldwide Cycling) (Paperback)
Found this a great read and it's very good value with a great deal of interesting and extremely useful informatin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touring Bible, 11 April 2014
By 
Andy (Lerwick, Shetland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure Cycle-Touring Handbook: Worldwide Cycling Route & Planning Guide (Adventure Cycle Touring Handbook: A Worldwide Cycling) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book that covers how to go touring very well, even down to tent recommendations. The author speaks with great expertise on a wide variety of subjects concerned with cycle touring. A great value read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews