Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 8 Aug 2010
This review is from: Kilimanjaro the Trekking Guide to Africa's Highest Mountain: Includes Mount Meru & Guides to Arusha, Moshi, Marangu, Nairobi & Dar-Es-Salaam (Paperback)
Excellent detailed book - covers all the routes on Kili. Highly recommend this book it has so much information about the routes and planning and preparation- but dont read more than a day ahead at a time when you are on the mountain...it will only spoil the enjoyment (and the less known about the pain the better!!!)
We borrowed a copy from a friend for the trip and enjoyed it so much I have just bought it now we are back as a souvenir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved the historical stuff, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Mark H (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro the Trekking Guide to Africa's Highest Mountain: Includes Mount Meru & Guides to Arusha, Moshi, Marangu, Nairobi & Dar-Es-Salaam (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this. It's a comprehensive guidebook which covers all the trekking routes in great detail. There is lots about planning and the surrounding area as well. What I personally liked most about it was the chapter on the history of Kilimanjaro, which contained many interesting and entertaining anecdotes. He's a good writer, and is also very funny. A thoroughly enjoyable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide for Kili !!!, 30 Aug 2010
This review is from: Kilimanjaro the Trekking Guide to Africa's Highest Mountain: Includes Mount Meru & Guides to Arusha, Moshi, Marangu, Nairobi & Dar-Es-Salaam (Paperback)
This book is the best guide for Kili. Very practical, clear, full of details and with GPS waypoints !
The top........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for info, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro the Trekking Guide to Africa's Highest Mountain: Includes Mount Meru & Guides to Arusha, Moshi, Marangu, Nairobi & Dar-Es-Salaam (Paperback)
My other half and I have booked to climb Kili in January 2015. This book recommended some great companies who all gave competitive prices and loads of info on their safety regulations and equipment lists etc.

It also proved invaluable when deciding which route we wanted to go with. We opted for Rongai based on the tips and advice for each in this book.

A great place to start if your looking to plan a trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Climb Killimanjaro, 16 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. James W. Coles (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro the Trekking Guide to Africa's Highest Mountain: Includes Mount Meru & Guides to Arusha, Moshi, Marangu, Nairobi & Dar-Es-Salaam (Paperback)
This book was a gift for someone intending to climb Mount Killimanjaro in 2011. Having only quickly looked through it I was impressed with the easy to follow guide for visitors attemting this adventure. I understand all climbs are supervised and controlled and led by experts but this book will give the visitor plenty of information on what to expect down to how many pairs of socks should be taken. In my view this book is a must for anyone intending to climb Africa's highest mountain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very practical, complete and full of brilliant tips, 24 Jan 2012
This review is from: Kilimanjaro the Trekking Guide to Africa's Highest Mountain: Includes Mount Meru & Guides to Arusha, Moshi, Marangu, Nairobi & Dar-Es-Salaam (Paperback)
I recently travelled with my girlfriend to Tanzania to do Kilimanjaro with several guidebooks in our suitcase. But on issues such as preparations for Kili, the practicalities of getting and staying in the region and obviously, climbing Kilimanjaro, this one stood head and shoulders above the rest and quickly became the only one we took out. The content is very complete and practical. The book is very clear and intuitive; it is really easy to find exactly what you search for, without having to scroll every chapter. You can immediately tell this is written by someone who has climbed Kili time and time again and knows the area inside out, but doesn't ignore the anxieties and worries of the first time climber. The section on climbing Mount Mehru independently could be a bit more extensive. The author says it is complicated to organise this climb yourself, but doable nevertheless, but then doesn't give advice on how to do it yourself, which would have been helpful. But since this is a book on climbing Kili, not Mehru, that little bit of criticism obviously is not overly important. Little detail: the recommended Indian restaurant in Dar Es Salaam, which was in no other book, was the most delicious (and cheapest!) meal we had during our whole trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love my travelling and travel books and this is a little gem. Lots of help, hints, tips etc., on what to expect trekking Kilimanjaro. I will certainly read it back to front, front to back and then again before we go. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect reading, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd definitely recommend this book if your thinking of climbing Kili, it has all the information you could possibly need, from how to prepare, what to take and what to expect all nicely contained in a pocket size book you can take anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Help for trip planning, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro the Trekking Guide to Africa's Highest Mountain: Includes Mount Meru & Guides to Arusha, Moshi, Marangu, Nairobi & Dar-Es-Salaam (Paperback)
I have bought this for my partner who is going to climb Mt kilimanjaro in 2015
We loves this book and says it is proving very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If your going get this book., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro the Trekking Guide to Africa's Highest Mountain: Includes Mount Meru & Guides to Arusha, Moshi, Marangu, Nairobi & Dar-Es-Salaam (Paperback)
Very useful information about the mountain and area, we'll worth a read if you going or thinking about going.a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews