Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morocco Overland - An Excellent Resource Book
Morocco Overland is another thoroughly researched and well presented book by Chris Scott. As an overland Morocco veteran of 13 years I still found new gems of information in this book! For example the tip that you can go to a Moroccan government website and complete your vehicle declaration form online, print it out and just present it at customs to save time & hassle. As...
Published on 28 July 2009 by R. H. Morgan

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for an easy tour.
Good enough for an easy tour, but nothing more demanding. Unfortunately, the pace of development in Morocco means that without constant updating, these sorts of books become outdated very quickly.

I was disappointed in the easy routes Chris describes in this book. There are much more adventurous alternatives out there.

The waypointing could be...
Published on 27 Dec 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morocco Overland - An Excellent Resource Book, 28 July 2009
By 
R. H. Morgan "Dr Dick Morgan" (Leamington Spa, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike (Paperback)
Morocco Overland is another thoroughly researched and well presented book by Chris Scott. As an overland Morocco veteran of 13 years I still found new gems of information in this book! For example the tip that you can go to a Moroccan government website and complete your vehicle declaration form online, print it out and just present it at customs to save time & hassle. As with Chris' book Sahara Overland Sahara Overland, 2nd Edition: A Route and Planning Guide (Trailblazer) he gives comprehensive route detail and GPS data. I have yet to explore these new routes, but hope to do so later this year. Definitely a must have book - particularly for the first time overlander to Morocco! Dr Dick Morgan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Morocco guide book, 7 Aug 2009
By 
K. Constable Maxwell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike (Paperback)
Scott has a skill for communicating essential information for adventurous travellers with clarity. Waypoints, mileages, equipment, cultural hints, safety tips and above all a great selection of tracks and trails through some of the most spectacular reaches of the world. This new publication does not disappoint, and I would recommend this to all my fellow travellers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, knew it would be..., 4 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike (Paperback)
Yep, another wonderful book from Chris Scott, makes me really keen to head south again... Practical and informative, a must for any traveller itching to explore off the beaten track in a charming and visually stunning country.

My only complaint isn't with the book at all, but with the free trial of Amazon Prime... Guaranteed next day delivery? Ha Ha. Four days. First class post would have been quicker...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great morocco adventure book, 5 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike (Paperback)
What a great surprise this book! Tons of information about trails and scenic routes including extensive GPS points, fuel stations and overnight choices. Have read a lot of morocco guides (LP, rough guide...) but this book get's you beyond the tourist info and really drives you into a whole different approach.
If you're looking for an offroad book for your next morocco adventure you can't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly superb. I wish I had this for my trip to the Sahara last year., 5 Feb 2010
By 
Richard J. Georgiou (Buxted, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike (Paperback)
First of all I have to say a very big thank you to Chris Scott who has written a fantastic book on travelling in, or near to, the Sahara. Last year I rode my Honda Transalp to Mohamid, Morocco on the edge of the Sahara. I had a great time but this book would have made the trip so much better.

I can't recommend this book highly enough, it really is a must if you're visiting that part of the world.

Well done Chriss, another must have book!
Richard Georgiou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for an easy tour., 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike (Paperback)
Good enough for an easy tour, but nothing more demanding. Unfortunately, the pace of development in Morocco means that without constant updating, these sorts of books become outdated very quickly.

I was disappointed in the easy routes Chris describes in this book. There are much more adventurous alternatives out there.

The waypointing could be better too - ie, more detailed and a waypoint list of end-points/destinations would be v useful.

For your first time in Morocco in a motorhome, it'll be fine. For 4x4s and a sense of adventure, way too soft.

Gandini is better for the latter.

2.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike (Paperback)
Don't think there is anything better available if you are planning an independent trip to Morocco, even though i would of preferred the latest edition this earlier copy is still perfectly suitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good source of info, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike (Paperback)
Lots of realistic information, especially the route info for south of the Atlas that is really difficult to find elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars chris scott, I thank you, 24 Jun 2011
By 
Martin Qualters (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike (Paperback)
This book was exactly what i was looking for. OK not really the kind of book you would curl up on the sofa and loose yourself in but if your planning an overland trip to Morocco this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All an overlander could want, 1 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike (Paperback)
I've found this a very interesting and useful book - Chris seems to cover all of the aspects of overland travel to Morocco that I had queries about, from equipping your vehicle, organising your documents, planning your route, to dealing with the locals - it's all here.

The book is well laid out with clear sections and headings and appears to be well written - with just enough personal and anecdotal content to keep you interested.

Overall this is probably the best guide you could buy for a planned trip to Morocco - and is actually worth reading even if you've got no plans at all. Be warned though, it's likely you'll get the urge to after absorbing this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morocco Overland: From the Atlas to the Sahara - 4WD, Motorcycle, Van, Mountain Bike
Used & New from: 0.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews