Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best.
This is the book I wish had been written (and I had read) before I started building my overland campervan in 2000.

Since then I have spent many years driving round the world and now I no longer have to try and answer peoples questions. I just tell them to read this book.

Buy it!
Published on 11 April 2011 by ZenSlo

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but as usual, it belongs in the bin.
The book is absolutely fantastic. The information provided is priceless and there is nothing out there that gets even close to this one. 5 stars are not enough to give an accurate idea of what you are getting. The problem is that as with every purchase from Amazon lately, the book is a faulty one... it's all crocked, printed crooked, cut crooked and the binding has been...
Published 5 months ago by Mike Valeriani


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best., 11 April 2011
This review is from: Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck) (Paperback)
This is the book I wish had been written (and I had read) before I started building my overland campervan in 2000.

Since then I have spent many years driving round the world and now I no longer have to try and answer peoples questions. I just tell them to read this book.

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Overland Bible, 21 Mar 2011
By 
M. Blanche - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck) (Paperback)
Chris Scott and his Horizons Unlimited web site and forum has been a mecca for overland travellers for several years now. This book distills the thousands of posts from that forum into a substantial volume (700+ pages), with witty, articulate advice for both first time overlanders and repeat offenders. It includes comprehensive coverage of subjects such as vehicle selection, modification, route advice across every continent other than Antarctica, and for the armchair travellers a selection of trip reports to itch that travel bug.

The book repeats the basics of the vehicular advice from Chris's Sahara Overland, 2nd Edition: A Route and Planning Guide (Trailblazer) but then goes into a lot more detail about fitting out a living area (including building a cabin on the back of a flatbed truck!). Also, the route planning advice is obviously different in this volume. If you're focussing on deserts, the Sahara volume may be more useful, but for most overlanding adventures, this book is the dog's danglies. Pearls of wisdom on every page, from the life-saving (take a first aid course before leaving) to the mundane but essential (don't park overnight near a mosquito-infested pond if you want some sleep!).

You won't go far wrong by following the advice of Chris and the number of other contributors in this book, who between them have encircled the globe multiple times, by car, truck and bike, and powered by petrol, diesel or in one case even used chip fat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, so much good info, 17 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck) (Paperback)
I received this book this morning (17 March 2011). Travelling around the world is one of those things I have been dreaming of doing for years, this book has more useful information in it than anything other book or magazine I have ever picked up. I just can't put it down, (obviously I have to type this) I just need to work out my budget then the planning can begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, a veritable goldmine of information., 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck) (Paperback)
This is a first class book. If the thought of travelling overland with a vehicle has crossed your mind, or even if you are a seasoned traveller (see ZenSlo's comments) this is essential and comprehensive reading. Written with first hand knowledge and a sense of humour, Overlanders Handbook contains valuable advise and info on all aspects of overland travel, ranging from the selection of a suitable vehicle, equipment, trip planning and preparation onwards, it also includes first hand reports from a selection of folk who have made their "journey of a lifetime" dream a reality. Buy this book, you'll be glad that you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be renamed the Overlanders Encyclopedia!, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck) (Paperback)
Quite simply a fantastic and comprehensive guide for overlanders. Could possibly be renamed the Overlanders Encyclopedia! I can't put it down, really informative, interesting stories, full of ideas and something that will be in the glovebox for reference on our trip. A must have for anyone considering overlanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you want to know, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck) (Paperback)
Hundreds of pages of stories, advice, tips and tricks. Not only to read in one go, but also as a refrence book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overland, 16 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. J. Leatt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck) (Paperback)
Very usefull book for any one wanting to travel by vehicle. Good advice on pretty much all the 4x4's. How to prepare youraelf and car for the journey and what to expect in each of the countries.
Used more for reference once read but still really handy to keep close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but as usual, it belongs in the bin., 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mike Valeriani (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck) (Paperback)
The book is absolutely fantastic. The information provided is priceless and there is nothing out there that gets even close to this one. 5 stars are not enough to give an accurate idea of what you are getting. The problem is that as with every purchase from Amazon lately, the book is a faulty one... it's all crocked, printed crooked, cut crooked and the binding has been glued crooked. It's not a book that could have even been placed on the shelf of a bookshop. I am tired of returning every item I buy, especially because the replacement is usually just as bad, if not worse. Yes, I have returned it and the replacement was simply less faulty, but far from being a good copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just go!, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Mary Jane (Cayman Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck) (Paperback)
Lots of information on choosing a overland vehicle. Some of it repetitive, some outdated, but overall OK. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars top read, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck) (Paperback)
whether you intend to go overlanding or just like the idea of adventure this books a must have , a well written instructive book with plenty of humour and practicle advice if you fancy that trip of a lifetime or just a road trip to the lakes , I enjoyed it and think you will too,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overlanders' Handbook: Worldwide Route & Planning Guide (Car, 4WD, Van, Truck)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews