Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 112 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars astonishing facts but unfounded and illogical conclusions.
Firstly I'm not sure if I'm a critic or a supporter of this book. I've given it 4 stars because the actual data and numbers that are given are extremely interesting and need to be known by the world. The ratios of days, orbits and diameters, are correct, even if not worded properly: "The moon is exactly 400 times smaller than the sun" should be "the diameter of" the moon,...
Published on 28 Nov 2007 by Alpo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Credible Evidence, but Crazy Conclusion
If there is any substance to the notion that the moon may have been constructed it is obviously a truly remarkable discovery that is worthy of the widest attention. The question is, is there enough evidence to support this? The evidence that is presented includes 'coincidences' in the paths of the sun and moon in the sky, their similar sizes as viewed for Earth and their...
Published 9 months ago by Fair Comment


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

101 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars astonishing facts but unfounded and illogical conclusions., 28 Nov 2007
By 
Alpo (London UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Built the Moon? (Paperback)
Firstly I'm not sure if I'm a critic or a supporter of this book. I've given it 4 stars because the actual data and numbers that are given are extremely interesting and need to be known by the world. The ratios of days, orbits and diameters, are correct, even if not worded properly: "The moon is exactly 400 times smaller than the sun" should be "the diameter of" the moon, sun etc.

There is clearly something in this that needs further research, but there are a couple of things that bother me about the book.

I personally will not come to a conclusion about what all this means until I have analyzed it far more thoroughly. I might never come to a conclusion about it ever, unless there is an actual fact that proves or disproves something.

That is my main problem with this book, the conclusions the authors come to, have no evidence to support them, its pure speculation. Don't get me wrong, the planetary mechanics and ratios are amazing, and are far too perfect to be coincidence, but that doesn't mean that people from the future did it all, which is what the authors state is their best theory. Theres just as much evidence to support that idea as there is to say the whole solar system is the poo of a giant space fish.

I recommend everyone reads this book before they come to any conclusion and once they've read it don't just settle with the authors ideas. there are more possibilities than just god, aliens or people from the future. Perhaps the solar system is a living organism or maybe theres a completely natural phenomenon where for some reason not yet known to physics, planets harmonize themselves with each other on many different levels ie size, rotation, who knows?

Once these facts become more well known, everyone from Jehovahs witnesses to star trek fans are going to jump on the band wagon and try to use this to support their views.

What I'm trying to say is, the implications of what this could mean are endless, so please don't dismiss these remarkable figures just because someone says it means we are all slaves of the reptilians, or that these facts prove the plot to the terminator films actually happened.

And no matter what anyones opinion is,

The Earth still rotates about 366 times per orbit of the sun, and has a polar diameter 366.0431 percent larger than the moons.

The moon has an orbital period of 27.32 days and has a diameter 27.32 percent that of the Earths polar diameter.

The suns diameter is 109.2 times the size of Earths diameter, and the distance from the earth to the sun when we are at our furthest from it is 109.2 sun diameters.

if you divide 109.2 by 4 you get 27.3

366 moon orbits equal 10000 days

I could go on and on but the fact is you keep on getting the same recurring numbers and multiples of them again and again:

4
27.32
100
109.2
366
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading purely for thought provocation, 19 Sep 2010
This review is from: Who Built the Moon? (Paperback)
It's true that when reading books of this nature which question mainstream science (of which there are many now) that you mustn't get carried away with the train of though whilst leaving your analytical baggage behind. It's easy to get whipped up in the premise and accept practically everything presented in order to help support the notion that simply reading a book can turn the world on its head. But at the same time, the same can be said of mainstream education and science. What we think we know is only accurate in light of all the evidence and verifiable facts available at the time - and should the sands of evidence shift then so should the edifices that are founded on them.

So then, the book. The authors have done a good job in presenting a sound argument for there being a mathematical relationship between The Sun, Moon and Earth. As mentioned in other reviews, the relationships and their interplay between the bodies appears mind boggling. If it is true that these ratios are only present in and between Sun, Moon and Earth and no other planetary body in the solar system then it gets you pondering what the statistical chances are and how it could have occurred.

The fact that the moon is where it is with the apparent composition it has also appears, according to the authors, to confound common sense. Naturally, it's unhealthy to just accept what were told here at face value but if their assertions are accurate then science still has many questions to answer. A frequent theme in books like this is that science often feels the need to adopt a hypothesis and present it as final fact whilst still half baked. In this case, it's the 'Big Whack' theory of moon formation that gets put back under the microscope.

Sections detailing the impact that the Moon has had on our our own planetary environment over the aeons are awe inspiring. The Moon is not to be taken for granted. I would recommend this book for this content alone.

The end of the book does get slightly muddled as the authors attempt to present possible scenarios for who actually built the moon but I think it was always going to be hard to wrap up because the implications are mind blowing and they needed to find something to match the scale. I managed to come up with my own theories and it would surprise me if others couldn't think of more satisfying ideas than the three presented.

Still - it was a gripping read which I managed in about three days. Even if it's not accurate, it's got the neurons firing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to Reconsider, 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: Who Built the Moon? (Paperback)
Read "Our Spaceship Moon" by Don Wilson, and his sequel "Secrets of our Spaceship Moon" (both unfortunately well out of print and subsequently expensive...!), marry them up with this book, then make your own mind up. THERE IS NO DOUBT. If only 1% is true, then we have a real problem. I'm consolidating them all (with others), and will be in print in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Credible Evidence, but Crazy Conclusion, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Built the Moon? (Paperback)
If there is any substance to the notion that the moon may have been constructed it is obviously a truly remarkable discovery that is worthy of the widest attention. The question is, is there enough evidence to support this? The evidence that is presented includes 'coincidences' in the paths of the sun and moon in the sky, their similar sizes as viewed for Earth and their relative sizes; the relative sizes of the Earth and moon, and the round-number size of the moon in units derived from dividing up the Earth into 366 degrees. The authors seem to show there is something going on here, although the case is far from clear-cut, mainly because some of the mathematical relationships are transient, changing over time. Still, the other evidence they present is supportive, such as indications from the moon landings that the moon is at least partially hollow. The book seems rather padded out to make it long enough for publication, including digressions and rather tedious basic explanations of such things as evolution for the benefit of the uninformed. However the most serious flaw is the authors' conclusion as to 'who made the moon', which rather defies the Occam's Razor test that they applaud elsewhere in the book. They come up with the most far-fetched and unlikely option, mainly I think because whilst they seem to accept that life could not have created itself, ergo God must exist, they do not question the veracity of Darwinian evolution from basic cells. This rather blinkers their thinking and prevents them conceiving that ancient humans or aliens could have been responsible, for me a much more believable notion that would fit in well with the writings of others such as Zecharia Sitchin and Richard Hoagland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book worthy of more then 5 stars, 25 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Who Built the Moon? (Paperback)
I found this book to be truly fascinating. I read a few reviews here and as usual am disappointed by the lack of genuine support for the theories and questions things book generates. The facts and figures are unquestionably accurate and the conclusions are very interesting indeed. There are no answers to the hows and whys regarding the moon. There is no answer to why life (DNA) has come to be. And time travel is mathmatically possible even if we have not actually acheived it. With the progress humans have made in the last 100 years then everything is this book is entirely possible and actually makes sense.

I understand that the ideas put forward will be a stretch for most but try disproving them... its not going to happen. A brilliant book, a fascinating read and a truly life changing perspective on many fundamental questions that have, up until now, been unanswered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting and the number relationships are surprising. I wonder if some of these relationships are linked though. I.e. How many independent relationships? The 'whack' theory too easily dismissed as the principal objection was the unlikelihood of a second collision to adjust the angular momentum. However, later in the book, it is explained how the tidal effect is a mechanism to transfer energy to the moon, and it is not explained why this couldn't be the agent for slowing the earths rotation without needing to invoke an unlikely second whack. The suggestion of a hidden message in our DNA is pure speculation and is not justified. I keep an open mind, but I have to say I remain unconvinced. Nevertheless, an interesting read to while away the time on a sunbed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The MOON!!?, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting. Although quite hard to believe. The moon just looks too big for it to have been artificially made. Makes you think though .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, loved it and want more!, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Built the Moon? (Paperback)
Sounds a bit quirky but I have to say the facts included don`t half make you think! I am a sceptical old bugger but the recurring pattern of numbers and the possibilities of hidden information is mind blowing.. A Great Read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars full of facts, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Mike3 (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Built the Moon? (Paperback)
despite the crazy title, this book is packed with astonishing facts about the moon and its remarkable relationship with solar system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange but a very thought provoking argument, 15 Jun 2006
This review is from: Who Built the Moon? (Paperback)
Quite remarkable. I came to this unusual book after it was studied by the National Science Teachers Association and found to have a case that required an answer. The maths used in this book are simple, clear and inescapably accurate. I see one reviewer has suggested (without substantiation) that the authors are in some way numerically illiterate. Not so.

People prefer to see proof of what they already believe to be true and it is obviously disconcerting when a book like this brings up so many inconvenient facts. A growing number of scientists are now realising the dishonesty that exists to protect old ideas. Terance Kealey a clinical biochemist and the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Buckingham has observed "Scientists actually treat facts the way barristers treat hostile witnesses... it is a myth that working scientists always respect falsifiability. Scientists often ignore inconvenient findings".

Anyone who likes to think for themselves should read this fascinating book and deal with the facts as they stand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Built the Moon?
Who Built the Moon? by Alan Butler (Paperback - 15 Mar 2007)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews