Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2012
On a recent visit to St Georges Chapel at Windsor Castle, I was so moved by a monument to Princess Charlotte, the Prince Regent's only daughter, who died in childbirth, that I decided to find out more about her and at the same time, learn a bit more about our Royal family tree.
This was the perfect book for my needs. I learnt a lot about who is who and how the monarchy evolved around this period. The book was easy to read and the insights were facinating. The historical content was more than just dates and names and I was caught up in the whole saga. My only critisism would be my own lack of knowledge as to who was who, and i felt that the book could have been more easily understood by such a historical novice as myself with the aid of a family tree for reference.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
I found this book very written, well informed & documented & enjoyable to read. Its not a hard book to read in terms lots of dates & boring information at all. There is information on the dates/how they meet/etc but due to author wanting people wanting to be able to understand Charlotte & Leopold love story.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
Currently immobilised following an operation, I am using my time to increase my knowledge of the dysfunctional Hanoverian kings. And although George III tried very hard to put his family on an even keel, Prinny really was an obnoxious character. Poor Charlotte stood little chance in life with him as a father and Caroline of Brunswich as her mother.
The book is well written, but would have been improved by a family tree. Based on the information available he does focus on Charlotte; I sometimes find that more extensive historical biographies focus on everyone else but the subject just to increase the page numbers. We get a picture of a child who was emotionally abused by her father as he becomes paranoid about the people who really care for her so he dismisses them from her service. She shows signs of a sense of humour, determination and a caring personality. He stops her from seeing her mother, then virtually imprisons her, almost certainly because he is aware that she is much more popular that he was. She did find happiness but it was short lived. Her cousin Victoria had a similar early life, and also had a successful relationship with a German prince, but again this was cut short.
To conclude a well written and enjoyable biography about the queen that never was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
This was a very enjoyable book. The story of Princess Charlotte is a very interesting and tragic one. And Leopold is a fascinating character in his own right. For more details on his side of the story it is worthwhile to read, The Coburg Conspiracy: Royal Plots and Manoeuvres. The only thing I would say is lacking here are some pictures. Otherwise, for anyone interested in royal history or just a sweet, albeit true, romance, than this book is for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
A well written and brilliantly researched look into two almost forgotten Royals. Before Victoria and Albert there was Princess Charlotte and Leopold.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Not enough literature about these two Royals. What a difference Charlotte early demise to our present royalty.

Very sad. but wonderful,.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
I should have preferred to read this as a 'proper book', as Kindle is not the ideal way to keep track of people and dates. It was intriguing to speculate on what kind of queen Charlotte would have made - probably it would have been difficult for her, though her popularity might have helped her take the monarchy forward into modern times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Too short and without real detail about an interesting couple. Good to see a younger Leopold when he is often portrayed as in later life with his enduring interest in his niece Victoria
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
What a very sad story of a royal princess, just when she finally found happiness .... all is taken away !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Well written - I didn't know much about Charlotte and even less about Leopold - but learnt a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)