Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands-on, practical guide that does what an NLP book actually should
One of the most frustrating aspects of books on NLP is that though they often promise to be a guide to how to practice NLP, they often turn out to be more of a guide to the principles underlying NLP. This excellent work - written in a lively and engaging manner - actually delivers on how to undertake the NLP enterprise. It is ultimately a practical guide to improving...
Published on 13 Oct 2008 by D. Stevens

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not bad
I have read the book and its ok, though the author does not give enough real life examples.
It is very theory based and not practical enough for me, i much prefer
Excel at Sports: Be the Best at Sports, Business & Life with NLP Neuro Linguistic Programming
by author Jimmy Petruzzi, it gives real life examples and is very practical
Published 17 months ago by Biz Coach


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands-on, practical guide that does what an NLP book actually should, 13 Oct 2008
By 
D. Stevens (East Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport (Paperback)
One of the most frustrating aspects of books on NLP is that though they often promise to be a guide to how to practice NLP, they often turn out to be more of a guide to the principles underlying NLP. This excellent work - written in a lively and engaging manner - actually delivers on how to undertake the NLP enterprise. It is ultimately a practical guide to improving sports performance via NLP methods, and it keeps its eye on that ball the whole time. More abstract notions and understanding are employed when it is necessary to do so, but Jeremy Lazarus doesn't fall into the trap of putting the cart before the horse.

An immensely useful work which has provided me with clear-cut directions that I've been able to put into practice immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent All Rounder For Athlete and Coach, 25 Aug 2008
By 
John O'Connor (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport (Paperback)
I'm an NLP Practicioner with a particular interest in Sport. I am also a trained Hypnotherapist. I have also coached international basketball teams for over 15 years. I have read Ahead Of The Game Twice. It is a really excellent book for all athletes and coaches willing to invest a little time. I think i have read nearly all similar books that have been published in recent years and i would put this at the top of the list. many books describe problems, often without solutions for the athlete. This book focuses on the solutions to the problems and are easy to follow and put into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 11 May 2010
By 
A. Phillips - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport (Paperback)
Probably the best book on NLP I have read. Full of practical examples and ideas, Jeremy brings the theory to life in a way that is engaging, well-written and easy to use. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone - sportsperson, coach, NLP Practitioner - who is interested developing performance in sport, or in fact any other area of life where mental performance and resilience is important. From a personal perspective it has given me some interesting new insights on how to use many NLP techniques with my sporting clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 Aug 2012
This review is from: Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport (Paperback)
I confess I could not stop reading it!!! Jeremy Lazarus explain all the topics with such a lively spirit!!! Easy to understand and pleasant to read. In my opinion, he goes on and on like he is talking to us. I can say for sure it is a good work on sport psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy 'wins' for sports egotists., 30 Jun 2012
By 
K. Lee "ken18977" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport (Paperback)
A well presented book which does not take long to read.
Contains many 'easy' tips for winning based on NLP products - which the author promotes non stop.
Will suit those looking to get an edge in modern sporting events with minimum effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of the Game - A real winner!!!, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport (Paperback)
A compelling guide on how to use your mind to win in sport. I found it a very practical guide for all levels of coaches & athletes. I love the way it provides the 'how to' of many of the techniques and concepts in traditional psychology books.Great structure to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars practical and usable, 13 April 2011
By 
Bruce Grimley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport (Paperback)
What I love about Jeremy's book is that it is down to earth, practical and written by someone who knows about sport. The book engages the reader and encourages them to start USING NLP through stories, tips, and exercises. Jeremy's writing style is straight forward and jargon free. Where there is NLP Jargon it is well explained. I cannot imagine of a sports person reading this book and not improving their game...whatever that may be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport (Paperback)
Easy to read, has easy exercises that you can clearly understand and do. Lots of facts backed up with evidence. I am not a top sports person by no means. but I wanted to improve my thinking on being positive with the hobby/sport that i dearly love which is dog agility. It is a book that needs to be read cover to cover including the introudction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Insightful Book, 17 Dec 2007
This review is from: Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport (Paperback)
Just over a year ago I attended a training course on which I learned the basic principles of Neurolinguistic Programming (NLP) and its application in business. The course was run by accredited NLP trainer and performance coach Jeremy Lazarus, the author of this book Ahead of the Game. Jeremy is an excellent trainer who is very knowledgeable and passionate about his subject and his same clear style of teaching is reflected in the text of this book.
The book is split into four main parts and is written for both sports people and coaches at all levels. The principles described in the book can be applied to any sport - I am a competitive horse-rider and keen eventer and found the book fascinating. The text is well written and easy to read with plenty of interesting stories, handy hints and summary sections. Exercises are given throughout so you can apply what you've learned at each stage and establish what steps you can take to meet your goals.
No prior knowledge of NLP is required as Part 1 provides a thorough background of the technique including how you can tap into your unconscious mind to work with and help your conscious mind. It explains how we "filter" the information we receive through our five senses because of our beliefs, attitudes and life experiences. Part 2 considers some of the factors that can prevent players from achieving their sporting goals. It describes how internal as well as external factors can influence goal attainment. Beliefs and motivation as well as fear can affect performance. Ask yourself whether you are naturally motivated to win or are you motivated by the fear of losing? Part 3 forms the bulk of the book. It gives lots of practical techniques and guidance on how you can overcome the hurdles identified in Part 2 using the principles learned in Part 1. It covers NLP techniques such as visualisation, anchoring and perceptual positions as well as advising on how to deal with difficulties and setbacks. Part 4 provides more advanced coaching tools and is written primarily from a coaching perspective. It includes tips and techniques for building rapport, managing teams and advice on how to use effective language and communication to motivate sporting clients.
This book gives a practical and fascinating insight into the application of NLP for sporting success. With its clear format, it's a book that can be referred to time and again in order to help you to achieve your goals, whatever your sport or level. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 April 2014
This review is from: Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport (Paperback)
You don't have to be a sportsperson to read this book. It is ideal for you if you are. Lots of tips and techniques you can use easily in sport, life and work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport
Ahead of the Game: How to Use Your Mind to Win in Sport by Jeremy Lazarus (Paperback - 20 Nov 2006)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews