Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2008
In this book, Ralph has found mountains of evidence that show exactly what was going on 2,000 years ago, and this is reflected in the huge size of this book. Most of it isn't even that radical, at least not to the open mind. He demonstrates how the new testament events link with the events of Roman history in that period, and it makes perfect sense, unlike the nonesense we are told by secular bodies.
Using different sources, and translating words into the language of origin, we can see the most important religious and mystical characters become ordinary characters of history, and with one or two surprises.

Overall, a brilliant work worthy of the attention of the world.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2011
Some parts of the book are a little speculative and not entirely proven. Mostly it has to be said with regard to the matters regarding the title:- the final destination of Jesus. He does not claim to have proven all this. It's very persuasive but not quite proven yet. What a shame about that shopping center!!

With regard to the rest of the book, the level of proof given is entirely devastating for Christianity! It is so much that it gets a little repetitive at times, from wanting to be absolutely thorough. He is extremely thorough and very logical. You do not need to be a theologian to get his proofs. But if you know the Bible and the works of Josephus and Qumran as well as I do then you start thinking "Why hasn't this been acknowledged centuries ago?", or "Why didn't I know that already?" (kick - kick!).

I have also read many books on "alternative history" but Ellis is the real deal. This is no alternative. This is real history, the way it should be written, based on evidence, logic and not on preconceptions or prejudice. In fact read all his books. I recommend all of them (except perhaps "K2" - which is a little too speculative for my taste).

STUNNING:- This is the ONE that will still be talked about for as long as there are followers of "the Liar", trying to hide all the facts.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
The first half of this book probably deserves 4 or 5 stars, but from there it progresses into deeper and deeper speculation, which though not impossible, stretches the scant evidence to absolute breaking point. The primary theories relating to Paul/Josephus are extremely interesting and do have a degree of credibility - though, again, this is still highly speculative and should be regarded with a liberal dose of salt.
Ellis is an excellent communicator, competent writer and a noteworthy scholar, so his opinions deserve attention, while his books are commendably readable. In short, Ellis makes some fascinating observations relating to the historical record of 1st & 2nd century Judaea, which certainly make food for thought. However, his theories relating to Jesus are a little fanciful, given the singular lack of any hard evidence; there is a danger of forcing 2 and 2 to equal 5. My principle argument against those theories relate to Tacitus - and there are two ways of looking at this: if the 11th century copies of Tacitus' Annals are regarded as authentic, and specifically in relation to Jesus, then it would seem inconceivable that Tacitus would not be fully aware of his true identity and therefore refer to him in rather different terms than he does. Of course, then there is the other view of Tacitus' Annals that some or all of it is forgery, or has at least been doctored by Christian scribes - which is certainly possible. In this case, can we rely on any of the historical records pertinent to Ellis' thesis, much of which was written long after the events (and, in many instances, regarded as pure folklore by all other credible scholars), just because they were written by "anti-Christians" - who therefore had their own agenda and were probably more interested in disseminating that rather than any known facts, assuming that they were in possession of any to begin with? Ellis' assertion that Paul could have accomplished the greatest historical perversion and cover-up ever perpetrated does seem rather far-fetched, (albeit, not impossible), while his reliance on his interpretation of the Talmud (which also has an anti-Christian agenda) may be somewhat foolhardy. Ultimately, the "historical" material (currently) available can be manipulated by just about anyone with an axe to grind and made to fit whatever hypothesis they happen to champion. It is all just supposition to the power of supposition.
By all means read this book and Ellis' other work, just treat it with due caution. That said, I do empathize with Ellis' overall attitude toward the Biblical historical record, in that there is undoubtedly something fishy going on! However, what that is, is far from clear.
Where Ellis does score highly, though, is in his analysis of the potential theological roots of Judaism, Christianity and Islam; here he makes a great many significant observations within a narrative that runs through the entire book; he also makes some intriguing observations about John the Baptist and the Mandaeans. It is a shame then that commercialism is the likely driving force behind the voluminous and largely frivolous claims being posited by Ellis... [Incidentally, I am an atheist, in case anyone thinks I have bias towards Christianity.]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Ralph Ellis consistently finds a way to research and join the dots. His evidence is well researched, well thought out and highly compelling, especially bearing in mind that there are very few absolute "facts" available nowadays.
There are indeed more demonstratable facts in his works than in the Pentateuch and in Paulianity, sorry to say for those that have been duped by them.
We need Mr. Ellis write an overview of all his books to bring all his fantastic work into one thread.
Well done Ralph, please keep up the "Great Work"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
A most unusual book,and thoroughly researched .Found it hard to put down.
Gave me a lot to think about.Doreen Huscroft..
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2008
Quote:
"Priests and kings were anointed ... hence the title 'christ' or 'messiah' often signified the same as 'king'." -- Commentary on the Bible, Adam Clarke, 1832

Product Description:
On a quest to locate St. Paul (Saul) in the historical record, scholar Ralph Ellis found evidence that St. Paul was actually Josephus Flavius, the first century Jewish historian. This novel identification has exposed new perspectives on the life of Jesus. Ellis asserts that contrary to orthodox perceptions, King Jesus and Queen Mary Magdalene were the richest couple in the Levant, owning a city-state in eastern Syrio-Jordan and a private army. The Romans wanted to impose taxes on Jesus and Mary, an imposition that provoked the Jewish Rebellion. King Jesus fought and lost that war, and so he was crucified, reprieved and placed in custody. The safest place to corral this dangerous royal rebel was in a fortress at the opposite end of the Roman Empire, which is why King Jesus was exiled to England. In those remote Romo-Celtic lands, King Jesus became famous once again, but there the locals called him and his disciples 'King Arthur and the twelve knights of the Last Supper Table.' All research and quotations are from original sources, including the New Testament, Tanakh, Talmud, Josephus, Origen, Eusebius, Irenaeus, Herodian, Suetonius, Tacitus, Clement, Barnabas, Chretien and many others.

Ralph Ellis
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Such an insightful book. Answers a lot of questions I had from reading other books. ALso gave me plenty of food for thought. I can't wait to read other titles from Ralph Ellis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)