Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact and accurate
I've bought and studied a handful of books on landscape photography techniques and this one was by far the one that interested me the most and where I've learned the most. The author approaches the landscape photography techniques through Ansel Adam's works and develops them to the digital era in a very smooth way. All in all it is a very interesting book to read and very...
Published on 15 Jun 2010 by Joao Sousa

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the serious landscape amatuer
Hard to see who this book is for? It has a vague focus on landscape photography in everything it covers, and it covers alot, but nothing you won't already know if you are a decent amatuer photographer. There is to much written about iso, contrast, depth of field, etc. This could be a good book for anyone who is just starting out with there first DSLR camera and want to...
Published on 10 Sep 2011 by Tobias


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact and accurate, 15 Jun 2010
By 
Joao Sousa (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters (Paperback)
I've bought and studied a handful of books on landscape photography techniques and this one was by far the one that interested me the most and where I've learned the most. The author approaches the landscape photography techniques through Ansel Adam's works and develops them to the digital era in a very smooth way. All in all it is a very interesting book to read and very easy to read too. The tools and techniques explained are really useful and I have already improved my technique after reading through the book and starting practising with that in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top shelf keeper, 4 Jun 2010
By 
Twill (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters (Paperback)
Thought the approach and demonstration through pictures and topics, before and after, of ideas and digital processing workflows was excellent, appropriate and well pitched. Author's explanations were brief but to the point and not overly technical, the pictures were varied in scope and range of associated treatments and I found the book to be wonderful food for thought and an excellent guide to better practices, visualization and composition. Would recommend to beginner and intermediate photographer and user of lightroom and photoshop. If your a fan of Ansel Adams, Weston etc this delivers the digital take with respect and intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masters, 2.0..., 6 Mar 2011
By 
John P. Jones III (Albuquerque, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters (Paperback)
Humbling. Both the book, as well as the reviews posted to date. This book indicates how the master landscape photographers, like Ansel Adams, might have taken their pictures if they had a digital camera. Frye has included everything you would expect from a quality "how-to" book. He has mastered his material, does not talk down to the reader, and makes his points lucidly. He knows a lot more than I do, and that is why you pay the money for his expertise. He has included numerous quality pictures, often taken in similar settings to the "masters." For me the real strength was looking at multiple pictures of the same scene, as taken under different parameters.

And then there are the other reviews. Submitted by those who will probably always understand the zone system, tone, composition, and digital manipulation better than I. Still, there is much to aspire to, and as one reviewer said, "...for the advanced amateur it offers the glimpse of becoming a master."

So, I struggled to find something original to say, in order to "thank" the Vine program for its book. And there is was on page 6: "Moonrise, Hernandez, New Mexico," a copy of the photography that Ansel Adams took in 1941. A lot of photographers have been moved by this picture, so, why not try, as a first approximation, to duplicate what Adams admitted was a "lucky shot," in digital? There is a book entitled New Mexico: Then & Now in which the author traveled around the state, taking pictures in the same spot as one was taken 50-100 years ago, in order to illustrate the development and changes. Even he didn't try! The problem is this: Google might easily find Hernandez, but you'll have a much more difficult time sorting out where it is in the doublewides that sprawl along US 84, north of Espanola. I persevered though, and suddenly it dawned on me that I was standing in the exact spot that Adams had. There was the church; there was a sliver of the graveyard. But the austerity was long gone, replaced with congestion, including doublewides and bright red pickup trucks. A picture is obviously possible, if your inclinations run towards Diane Arbus. True landscape photographers should carry crying towel in hand.

Well, when your own resources are limited, and inadequate for any further effort, as the former Vermont Senator, George Aiken once said about Vietnam: "It is time to declare victory, and get out." And so I will, but not before thanking Michael Frye for an excellent book that will be a standard reference for many years to come. Highly recommended.

(Note: Review first published at Amazon, USA, on February 01, 2010)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good stuff and some contentious bits, 16 Jun 2011
This review is from: Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters (Paperback)
The analysis and suggestions for landscape photography are great; most readers will learn a lot.
Maybe because of the subtitle, many of the examples are of the classic American subjects. Personally, I'd have liked a few examples of more intimate landscapes but that is a very personal view.
The author assumes the use of both Photoshop and Lightroom (or Aperture on a Mac) which is fair enough for a book seeking to emulate the masters like Adams and Weston.
There are lots of techniques, carefully explained, for producing the best results from your
files.
Every assistant in every camera shop should be made to read and reread page 14 on "Megapixels and sensor size" and tested until they show that they understand it. That way we'd be spared the embarrassment of overhearing the horse feathers that they spout to gullible customers. Maybe camera manufacturers should be made to read it too! Advertisers certainly should read it.
The author does make some assertions that are open to question without any references being given.
One that jumped out at me was that Photoshop's sharpening facilities are superior to those in Lightroom. This was in a section on printing and Schewe, Evening and the late Bruce Fraser would not agree. For creative sharpening, Photoshop does provide more flexibility than Lightroom, but that didn't seem to be what the author was saying.
The author's strategy of preparing a copy resampled for printing is also superseded by Lightroom's ability to do this accurately on the fly.
Before adopting this particular suggestion, a photographer who uses Lightroom would do well to look at the round-trip workflow in Evening's book on Lightroom 3.

These quibbles do not detract from the value of the main part of the book which I am hoping will improve my attempts at landscapes.
I would expect any buyer to enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent (if not the best) book on Landscape photography, 6 April 2011
By 
Steven C (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters (Paperback)
I bought this book as I am digging more and more into Photography. I recently bought a D700 and wanted to expand my Landscape photography skills, and if possible get a few tips on how Ansel Adams was doing it.

Well, I've been quite surprised by this book, in a good way. It's full of examples, detailed and well explained, it's really accessible, from Starters to Advanced level.
Some would complain about the pictures not covering the whole two pages, but where would you put the tips? I like having both so I don't have to flip the pages to see what he's talking about.

Let's get back to the book now, it covers a wide range of topics, Colors, Zoning System, Histogram, Black and white, processing (Raw Jpeg). The book finishes on printing and getting your file ready before sending it to the printer.
For once a photography book which doesn't focus on gears and talks about is really important in Photography, the way you see things, composition, focus etc...

And all that in an accessible and not patronizing manner. It's not a coffee table book, it's more a manual which you'll need to read and take notes to assimilate its content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 30 Dec 2010
By 
D. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters (Paperback)
This is one of the best photography books I've come across. Not only are the photos superb, but there is detailed information to allow you to try to get similar results yourself, which is exactly what I find lacking in many other publications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss this book!, 2 April 2010
By 
L. Benjamin (Penn UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters (Paperback)
Having been a life-long fan of Ansel Adams I was skeptical that this book would deliver but it does in a number of ways. The quality of the pictures and the examples used are excellent and the explanations first rate. Michael Frye's understanding of traditional as well as digital photography is what helps this to be a seminal work.
I have read it twice and already use a number of the techniques decsibed therein.
A superb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leasin from the masters, 27 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters (Paperback)
Very good book and full of excellent advice. I would recommend this to anyone interested in landscape photography.
It blends lessons from the past with our new digital equipment in an entertaining and useful way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly Detailed Book, 22 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters (Paperback)
Of all the landscape books i have purchased in the past,this book is the one for expressing everything in detail, and is aimed more at the amateur photographer, however it's an excellent read and is not an out and out picture book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars digital landscape photography, 28 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters (Paperback)
This book is very informitive, full of great tips, and, great photos,some like the book indercates of ansel adams,edward weston.
This book is very well explained and easy to follow, it, covers every aspect right up to printing,the quality of the photos in the book is exellent considering the price, highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Digital Landscape Photography: In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams and the Great Masters
£12.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews