Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for beginners
I just started exploring B&W in digital photography, and this book provides very clear explanations of basic concepts. It will not be very interesting if you are proficient with curves, channels, masks and all that image editing stuff, but for a beginner - excellent help. Lots of visual examples and guides explaining basic concepts. Get this if you are starting.
Published on 9 April 2010 by Alexander Lunev

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit too technical
I have used several of Micheal Freeman's books and have found them excellent, more about taking photos and less about technical stuff. I was a bit dissapointed with this book as it seemed to be more about processing post shot, not really what I wanted.
I suspect this will just get relegated to the bookshelf as reference and not get regularly thumbed through like his...
Published on 17 Oct 2011 by Jeff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for beginners, 9 April 2010
By 
Alexander Lunev "Alex L" (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides) (Paperback)
I just started exploring B&W in digital photography, and this book provides very clear explanations of basic concepts. It will not be very interesting if you are proficient with curves, channels, masks and all that image editing stuff, but for a beginner - excellent help. Lots of visual examples and guides explaining basic concepts. Get this if you are starting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black & white masterpiece, 16 Dec 2009
By 
Eduardo Machuca Neira "Eduardo" (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides) (Paperback)
I found out the guide a very helpful reference for improving b&W digital photography. In my honest opinion as a beginner, I was expecting a little more on technical processing, but I guess for that I should have bought a Photoshop guide as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great overview, 3 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides) (Paperback)
Nice, interesting work... not for newcomers, though. Full with historic data on chemical processing and its evolution towards digital development, maybe too much into new Photoshop features.

However, this is one of the first books I see with results comparison from several applications or plugins worth the price, even as simple educational reading...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really teaching book, 25 Sep 2011
By 
Agnello Francesco (Lodi, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides) (Paperback)
I have several books from this Author, and probably this one is the best. It's what you need to start to look at things in b&w vision, and to make some nice photographs out of this vision. It's so well thought, and organized, that you'll never get confused or bored in the reading. The reading itself will proceed very fast, and leave you with the feeling that you can shoot better pictures in B&W. I'd recommend it to anybody looking for a book to improve this specialty of photography in digital era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent companion for the serious B & W photographer, 19 May 2012
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides) (Paperback)
My copy of this is now very, very well thumbed. It has been a constant companion for nearly 2 years now and I enthusiastically recommend it to anyone who asks about trying to get to grips with digital B & W photography. I refer to it as my 'bible' and that indicates how important and useful a volume I think it is.

The text is, in my opinion, very clear. Easily understood examples are threaded throughout the book.

I'm interested in the comments by others that encompass 'for the beginner' or 'too technical'. It is for the serious student of B & W. Of course it is aimed at helping people learn. So it is very appropriately for the person who is in the early stages of the B & W learning curve, but it will stretch them and support them a long way along that curve.

If you're at all thinking, 'I'd like to really try digital B & W', then the first thing to do is buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through the looking glass, 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides) (Paperback)
I originally bought this book in the run up to a Black & White photography competition at work, but didn't have time to read it before the deadline. That was a pity because the book is excellent! It is heavily loaded on post processing to get the best out of the colour information present in your images when converting to B&W, but this is actually very useful and has made a noticable difference in my own B&W conversions.

This is my first book by Micheal Freeman, but after reading it I have been forced to add at least two more of his titles to my Christmas wishlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but technique orientated!, 10 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides) (Paperback)
I had Michael Freeman's earlier book on B&W photography on order for over a year, but it went out of print. This one has the word 'Digital' added. It's up to his excellent standards and I was hoping for a detailed analysis of the differences in composition and picture making between B&W and colour. That would make it 'Complete' to my mind.

Because - in digital photography - the image is originally in colour, over half the book is about techniques in getting the right tonal balances (mostly) in Photoshop in converting to monochrome for the subject of the picture. While this is excellent - nay, essential - I found the book a little unbalanced. However, so many books on digital photography are Photoshop obsessed, I was impressed by the references to other software, and the background theory will apply to all processing.

However, it is excellent (as always with Michael Freeman) in what it does cover, and I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what the doctor ordered, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. L. A. Howley (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides) (Paperback)
my daughter is taking photography for an A'level and she is very keen on the black and white so this book was ideal. It is written well and has some great information and pictures. The packaging was very secure allowing no damage to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple, useful, 4 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides) (Paperback)
This book is clear, simple, useful, modern, integrating various photo editing programs. Has the virtue of being an actual book, but perennial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides) (Paperback)
This is a great book for everyone interested in B&W photography. It contains not only technical tips but also general information and facts on B&W.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Guide to Digital Black & White Photography (Complete Guides)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews