Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good all-round printing guide
This book is stunningly presented with outstanding print and image quality. It covers just about everything in terms of providing a general understanding of printing, colour space and presentation. I couldn't award 5 stars as I would have preferred a bit more specialism on printing itself and sharing of a few professional workflow secrets on soft proofing and test...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. B. R. Hull

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay as a starter
I have a number of Michael Freeman's books, some of which are very good and thought provoking, they will help you become a better photographer. This is not as good as some of his others. There is an error on page 84 (possibly a typo or poor proof-reading), which is contradicted by what is correctly stated on page 20. Replace references to dots per inch (dpi) with...
Published 19 months ago by Ross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay as a starter, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Printing Photos on Your Epson Printer (Paperback)
I have a number of Michael Freeman's books, some of which are very good and thought provoking, they will help you become a better photographer. This is not as good as some of his others. There is an error on page 84 (possibly a typo or poor proof-reading), which is contradicted by what is correctly stated on page 20. Replace references to dots per inch (dpi) with pixels per inch (ppi) and this section is correct.

This book is a step above a basic introduction to printing, but no more than intermediate. There are many clear illustrations and good reference to a range of printing related issues. I think it is actually very difficult to produce a reference to printing which will not be out-dated quickly, due to the rate of advances in technology. Michael Freeman has made a reasonable stab at it (typos aside!), but this will not last long and will not meet all the needs of someone looking for advanced information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good all-round printing guide, 17 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Art of Printing Photos on Your Epson Printer (Paperback)
This book is stunningly presented with outstanding print and image quality. It covers just about everything in terms of providing a general understanding of printing, colour space and presentation. I couldn't award 5 stars as I would have preferred a bit more specialism on printing itself and sharing of a few professional workflow secrets on soft proofing and test printing. There was good advice in the pre-printing and preparation areas but I just wanted a bit more in covering first prints, what to look for and what then to do to improve subsequent prints. Overall though a great book to those new to printing and colour managed workflow. As always the text by Michael Freeman is beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fundamentally Flawed, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Printing Photos on Your Epson Printer (Paperback)
This book is beautifully printed, with many colorfull pictures and covers many aspects of printing, generally and relative to your Epson.
So you will find these chapters: 1-PRINTER AND INKS, 2-PAPER, 3-COLOR MANAGEMENT, 4-PRINT COMPARISONS, 5-THE CRAFT, 6-PRESENTATION AND DISPLAY.
The layout is beautiful, and there are many nice pictures and explanations. The only problem about this book is that it does not deliver
what it promises: the best from you printer. Let me explain what I found out. Page 84 is about Software setup and resolution. Any digital image
will have alpha x beta pixels, a resolution measured in pixels per inch, and a size: Width x Height. (In fact if you divide alpha by Width you will get
resolution). A picture you want to print will probably have a different size than the "native" size of you image, so you will have to resample it.
(It is better to do it in Photoshop than to let your printer do it)
Usually (but not necessarily) you will reduce it. So the author is suggesting that you set the resolution to 300 pixels/inch.
Apparently though, from research done on the internet most Epsons have a "Native" resolution of 720 pixels/inch.
This means that the optimal setting will be 720 pixels/inch (or at least a multiple of this figure like 360/inch), otherwise the printer
will have to "resample"/"interpolate" and the quality will be reduced. Anyway, I did try it on my Epson and with help from a magnifying lens I could
clearly see the difference between 300 and 720 dpi.
(So honestly...not alot of difference but still enough that it could be seen; why shouldn't I be getting the most when I just have to type a number?)
Now what disturbs me most is that the author doesn't even have a clue about the 720 dpi number, and I wonder
how much he really knows about these printers and how to get the most from them.
If such information is not covered or even mentioned in this 192 page book, where will I find it? Does this book deserve to call itself: "The art
of printing"?. Are the authors really masters of this Art? I leave the answer to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The printer, 28 July 2010
By 
This review is from: The Art of Printing Photos on Your Epson Printer (Paperback)
Great book, lots of information,would recomend it to
any one starting to print there own picture.lots of
how to pages, Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Printing Photos on your Epson Printer, 17 May 2010
By 
Mainmast (Hampshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Printing Photos on Your Epson Printer (Paperback)
An excellent book. If you want to know about Colour Management etc this book is easy to read. The information is good for all printers and is very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tells you to just do it, 8 Dec 2013
By 
B. Zabavnik (down town shepherds bush beneath the BBC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Printing Photos on Your Epson Printer (Paperback)
You can get too wrapped up in your compute r screen when you should be checking out your print. I have a new epson xp615 and yes when I first tried it the results were not good but that was down to the paper. Subsequent prints were really good and it made me concentrate on the photography rather than computer manipulation. So yes read this book, refer to this book and I would advise using 5 x7 prints rather than 6x4 .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book on Epson printers, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Art of Printing Photos on Your Epson Printer (Paperback)
Excellent book on printing photos on an Epson printer. Lots of detail. Good buy and will help anybody using this type of printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Printing Photos on Your Epson Printer
The Art of Printing Photos on Your Epson Printer by John Beardsworth (Paperback - 28 Sep 2009)
£16.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews