Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars46
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2011
I have read other excellent books on exposure, but often they stop at a point that leaves me with more questions. This book starts where the others leave off. It is excellent for visual learners, with clear flow charts, diagrams and illlustrations. This, together with concise, readable text is helping me to understand concepts that I have previously had trouble getting my head round. Plus, FINALLY a chapter on how to expose for colour. And it's a very nice book to hold, read and look at.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Great book, clearly and concisly written. Down to the point, great for starters of people who want to further their knowledge in photography. It doesn't get much better than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
I chose to give this 3 stars because, of course, the information and its presentation by Michael Freeman is, as one might expect, thorough and informative. However, for me it was not helpful - needless technical details that took the place of a broader, more artistic and more inspiring text. I think there will be amateur photographers who will enjoy and find delightful the complexities and mechanics of photography with regard to exposure. For me it was deadening. I would expect that an experienced photographer and writer such as Michael Freeman would have brought more of aesthetics into his book. Photography is about vision in the most subjective sense and whilst technical know-how is a basic necessity, making beautiful and satisfying pictures, or pictures that inform and demand concentrated attention, is what it is all about. 'Correct'; exposure is only one part of that, and although the book intentionally focusses on that, it needs to be done in a way that enriches the photographer's repertoire, not drags it down with weighty technicalities.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
the best book ive read yet... ya wont learn this stuff outta your monthly mag! freeman gos into great detail...ya may need to read it twice to take it in!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
It is quite important to have a reasonable knowledge of photography, probably at the "enthusiasts" level to appreciate this very inciteful book. There might be one or two rare occasions in the text where the point being made is not immediately obvious, but clarify with a second reading. A book I return to for encouragement in pursuit of achieving better images.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
sorry to buck the trend here but i found this book more of a physics lesson as opposed to a photography guide....a dry and complicated read ....too much science and not enough'how to'
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
A bit obvious in places, although I did enjoy reading it. The section on all the different exposure scenarios was a bit repetitive. The creative section was more thought provoking.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
Still only half way through the book but my understanding of exposure and its "calculation" has increased greatly. A valuable book on my shelf for reference many times. Well written with enough, not too much, information.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
This book is extremely comprehensive, I highly recommend it. Mr Freeeman looks at every imaginable scenario and gives a clear guide of how to gain the most effective exposure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Good explanation of the subject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse