Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One worth buying
I'm not usually a fan of books by Michael Freeman but when I received this book, I was pleasantly surprised. It covers the basics concepts of composition in-depth with more clarity than his previous books.
The book covers areas such as; graphic photographic elements (horizontal lines, vertical lines, curves, motion etc) composing with light and colour (colour in...
Published on 3 Nov 2007 by Happy snapper

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't get the kindle edition get the book
Given this is a photographic book I was disappointed that the pictures in the kindle edition are such low resolution. They look horrible. I'm using kindle for PC so I would expect to see something similar to web page quality pictures. Given Kindle editions are very much in the same price category as the hard copy why should we have to accept a vastly inferior presentation?
Published on 6 Feb 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One worth buying, 3 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos (Paperback)
I'm not usually a fan of books by Michael Freeman but when I received this book, I was pleasantly surprised. It covers the basics concepts of composition in-depth with more clarity than his previous books.
The book covers areas such as; graphic photographic elements (horizontal lines, vertical lines, curves, motion etc) composing with light and colour (colour in composition, colour relationships, muted colour, black and white) intent (reactive or planned, simple or complex, clear or ambiguos)
The book has a great and careful selection of photos to support the text and clearly illustrate the concepts covered.
Don't let his previous books stop you from buying this one.
Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


251 of 259 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Single Volume on Design and Composition in Photography, 15 Jun 2007
By 
T. Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos (Paperback)
This is the best single volume on visual design and composition in years. Painters need a book this good. Freeman's earlier book from the 1980s, "Image," had long held the status, IMHO, of being the best single volume. His new book surpasses the older one by a significant margin.

Freeman is one of very few photographers, or artists of any ilk, who can articulate their art-related thoughts in concrete, accurate, analytical ways, and not in the jargon of so much of what is written about art that lacks any actual content. Not only is he an outstandingly gifted photographer, with dozens of books to his credit, but one who has mastered the grammar of images and is one of the few who can describe how and why visual phenomena work.

This is the most complete volume on this subject out there in terms of numbers of topics introduced and discussed at a reasonable length. It is also the most effective melding of the insights of current Gestalt perception theory with traditional design elements/principles in print. The first 60% of the book deals with the more concrete aspects of designing an image.

The last two chapters marry the other part of composing that is harder to articulate well: the message in a image, or the photographer's intent. Only in this book has an author attempted to define major categories of intent in making an image. And then categorizes the physical and mental aspects of how a photographer goes after, constructs, or recognizes an image - the process.

Throughout the discussions he introduces those aspects of digital imaging that a photographer can use to influence a picture's design. Perhaps the most powerful development is that digital in-camera and post processing technologies allow the photographer to apply to color images all those image control aspects formerly available only in the wet chemistry darkroom to monochrome images, as well as many more.

Make no mistake.... This is a book for readers. One cannot get all of this book's benefit from the illustrations alone, in the manner of so many "how-to" art and photography books these days that have pictures, but little text. But this is the book to which thoughtful photographers will return over and over for many years.

The only way it can be significantly better would be to have twice as many pages. It would make a wonderful textbook for any studio art, photography, art history, or art appreciation course in high school or college/university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Single Volume on Design and Composition in Photography, 15 Jun 2007
By 
T. Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the best single volume on visual design and composition in years. Painters need a book this good. Freeman's earlier book from the 1980s, "Image," had long held the status, IMHO, of being the best single volume. His new book surpasses the older one by a significant margin.

Freeman is one of very few photographers, or artists of any ilk, who can articulate their art-related thoughts in concrete, accurate, analytical ways, and not in the jargon of so much of what is written about art that lacks any actual content. Not only is he an outstandingly gifted photographer, with dozens of books to his credit, but one who has mastered the grammar of images and is one of the few who can describe how and why visual phenomena work.

This is the most complete volume on this subject out there in terms of numbers of topics introduced and discussed at a reasonable length. It is also the most effective melding of the insights of current Gestalt perception theory with traditional design elements/principles in print. The first 60% of the book deals with the more concrete aspects of designing an image.

The last two chapters marry the other part of composing that is harder to articulate well: the message in a image, or the photographer's intent. Only in this book has an author attempted to define major categories of intent in making an image. And then categorizes the physical and mental aspects of how a photographer goes after, constructs, or recognizes an image - the process.

Throughout the discussions he introduces those aspects of digital imaging that a photographer can use to influence a picture's design. Perhaps the most powerful development is that digital in-camera and post processing technologies allow the photographer to apply to color images all those image control aspects formerly available only in the wet chemistry darkroom to monochrome images, as well as many more.

Make no mistake.... This is a book for readers. One cannot get all of this book's benefit from the illustrations alone, in the manner of so many "how-to" art and photography books these days that have pictures, but little text. But this is the book to which thoughtful photographers will return over and over for many years.

The only way it can be significantly better would be to have twice as many pages. It would make a wonderful textbook for any studio art, photography, art history, or art appreciation course in high school or college/university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best photography book of the many many I have read, 8 Sep 2010
By 
J. Jones "Jeff" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos (Paperback)
Having decided to get serious about photography about a year ago, I have found this book to be a true eye opener. Michael's clear pragmatic text with lots of pictures illustrating the concepts, really helped me understand how to take better pictures. What's more it showed me how to really appreciate photography and see why a great photo is great. Once you have got to grips with the functions of your camera, this book will really kick your hobby to a new level. It's very well structured with modules building on one another in a clear and logical way. At the same time it encourages creativity and exploration of ideas. I have read many photography books over the last few months and this is by far the best, both technically and in the humble style of the author who is not at all overbearing nor ego centric (as some authors are in this field, you know who you are)... As I read this book, I became increasingly excited at the insight and understanding it gave me of the art of photography. In fact writing this review has got me fired up to go and take some better photo's right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 31 Oct 2007
By 
J. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos (Paperback)
This book is really hitting the mark. if you are serious about your photography and want to improve then this is a must purchase. The subject matter, the explanations and the photography are all excellent. I fail to see how anyone could not gain benefit from this book. And you will always want to take a look when you are about to photograph a new subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best book regarding photographic composition, 7 July 2008
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos (Paperback)
I have always been skeptical about buying books that deal with photography either because there exist too many online tutorials which cover many aspects in detail or simply because the techniques each book covers are more or less the same rewritten in a different format.

This book by Michael Freeman though is trully a gem and a "must-have" in the library of every photographer.
It covers most photographic composition aspects in a great detail with perhaps images of excellence regarding composition, including schematic figures outlining and justifying the choice of the composition which exactly hit the point the writer is trying to make. It is printed in premium, relatively thick, paper with high quality images.

- The book is well structured in 6 main chapters beginning with the usage of the image frame, the positioning within the viewfinder of the camera and generally the placement of a scenery and objects within the frame
- Chapter 2 explains the objective principles of design and why certain photographs pop up from the lot if thinking is allocated to aspects such as Gestalt theory, Dynamic tension, patterns, visual weight etc.
- Chapter 3 walks us through the elements that compose photographs such as lines, shapes, focus, motion exposure and others.
- Chapter 4 highlights the importance of light needed in composition and its association with color.
- Chapter 5 analyzes the intent in composition, that is the purpose the photograph was taken in order to please aesthetically by teaching and explaining among others, planning, ahead thinking and reactiveness, simplicity and complexity in photographs, ambiguity etc.
- The book finishes with chapter 6 which in detail explains why process is so necessary prior to composing and shooting a photograph.

This draft description only outlines a few of the topics covered and by no means it can show the true depth of the book.
A small word of advice though. This book is not purely intended to teach basic rules of photography (although the writer explains topics such as the rule of thirds and HDR) but it rather builds and expands on some existing knowledge and fine granulates the art of photography through composition and design with the utmost intent to help the user develop the skills to shoot great images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Oct 2008
By 
Erik Norgaard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos (Paperback)
This is brilliant book on design and composition taking the reader on a tour through graphic elements, colour, contrasts etc.

A lot of photography, but independent of technology: It's not the camera that takes the photo, it's the photographer. And this book introduces the reader to all the decisions a photographer makes, whether concious or not, when taking the photo.

The word "digital" should be dropped from the title, only four pages discuss techniques particular to digital photography, and then not.

This makes the book perfect for any one with a desire to improve their photographic skills - or eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye-opener...., 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos (Paperback)
As an enthusiastic amateur photographer I was keen to progress and bought this as I thought it might help one aspect of my photos. I thought I probably knew the so-called rules of composition but was willing to see if I was missing anything..................well I was. Lots!
The book looks logically at all aspects of a picture, from its external shape to what we put inside it, where we put it, and why we do so for the effect we want to create. It doesn't force you into following stereotypes of design & structure but offers ways of creatively developing your ability to go "off piste" according to the impact you want to produce.
His writing style is dry & scholarly but don't miss a word of what he has to say... it's all good.
Some reviewers have commented on his frequent habit of referrring the reader to other pictures on other pages to illustrate the point he's making. A bit annoying but you can live with that, I'm sure.
Other reviewers have commented on the quality of his photographs and lack of exif data. Well as far as I'm concerned you don't need exif data, you need a picture to illustrate his point- say a rice worker in a field, and where he is placed in the frame for a different effect.
If you want a joke per page, read chatty Scott Kelby. If you want exif and a resumé of how many dollars it's earned him, go read Brian Peterson. Both have helped my photography technigue.
But this book has made me think with my mind's eye.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't get the kindle edition get the book, 6 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given this is a photographic book I was disappointed that the pictures in the kindle edition are such low resolution. They look horrible. I'm using kindle for PC so I would expect to see something similar to web page quality pictures. Given Kindle editions are very much in the same price category as the hard copy why should we have to accept a vastly inferior presentation?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book... particularly if you're starting out on your photographic adventure., 11 Jun 2009
By 
M. Drayson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos (Paperback)
If you already understand the basics of DSLR photography (in terms of functionality - ISO, f-stops, shutter speed, etc) then this is a great level to come in at. I've read a few other texts that are a little general and basically tell you how to use your camera in 100 pages or so. This book really makes you think about how to take the photos; what makes a really pleasing photo and how to think about many aspects of composition that are often overlooked.

I recently got into DSLRs and started taking my photography a littel more seriously because I started thinking about composition and what makes a pleasing, visually appealing photo. Sometimes i'd get a good one, mostly not and I found it hard to verbalise why - particularly when I saw other well composed images. This text - with wonderful pictures and visual demonstrations - has helped me address these linger questions I had and has no doubt helped me think much more critically about how, where and why I take photos. There's a lot in here to digest, but gradually you should take in board and it will enhance your photography no end.

A lovely book, well pitched and delivered with lots of appealing photographs and a critique of how they were achieved; a great price too.

If you understand your DSLR (or even a point and click will do if we're just talking about composition) and can shoot comfortably in manual mode, get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos
£12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews