Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got a job, got reasonable SJT marks.
Did the SJT in Dec2012. Found this book better in comparison to the Oxford handbook. Gives detailed feedback on the answers although some of them are debatable. Questions are relevant even as future knowledge as an F1 that medical school don't teach you. It's good practice better than nothing. Felt real SJT questions were tougher and more lengthy. Tip to future candidates...
Published 18 months ago by B.Tan

versus
34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Take it with a pinch of salt.
Some of the questions in this book really have to be taken with a pinch of salt. Not to say the answers are "wrong", but instead, the reasoning isnt necessarily consistent.

That said, it is a useful tool for guaging the sort of questions we may face on the SJT, and gets the cogs whirring about exam technique.

I would have scored this 3*, however I am...
Published 24 months ago by Warwick student


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got a job, got reasonable SJT marks., 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) (Paperback)
Did the SJT in Dec2012. Found this book better in comparison to the Oxford handbook. Gives detailed feedback on the answers although some of them are debatable. Questions are relevant even as future knowledge as an F1 that medical school don't teach you. It's good practice better than nothing. Felt real SJT questions were tougher and more lengthy. Tip to future candidates - make sure you time yourself, it is rather easy to not finish it on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Take it with a pinch of salt., 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) (Paperback)
Some of the questions in this book really have to be taken with a pinch of salt. Not to say the answers are "wrong", but instead, the reasoning isnt necessarily consistent.

That said, it is a useful tool for guaging the sort of questions we may face on the SJT, and gets the cogs whirring about exam technique.

I would have scored this 3*, however I am highly suspicious of the plethora of 5* ratings this book received so soon after publishing - with every other rater having only left 1 single review in their lifetime as an amazon account holder, for this book.
Whilst I am most certainly NOT suggesting the publisher did these themselves, or had their mates do them, I would urge other buyers to assess the reliability of these reviews.

EDIT: the other 6 reviews are now gone..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible!!! DO NOT BUY., 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) (Paperback)
I bought this book about 3 months before the foundation programme SJT, having not got much advice on what to buy from people who had already sat the exam (a bit of a silly thing to do!). After talking to F1s on my hospital placement, I realised I had made a huge mistake. So many people had negative things to say about this book, that had I done any research I would not have bought it.

After using it a few times myself I became so infuriated that I had to stop. The explanations are totally inconsistent and some of the questions barely make sense. Some of the answers it gives go against the fundamental principles of being a doctor; they are in my opinion often totally wrong and illogical.

Having sat the SJT last week and seen the type of questions actually asked I would strongly advise people not to use this book and to use other books available (the 'Get ahead' SJT book and Oxford handbook are much more similar to the real exam, although as with all of the books available they have some inconsistencies too). The online OnExamination SJT is useful as it is more similar to the real exam, and it gives you an idea of how you are doing compared to your peers by putting you in centiles.

My advice for the SJT is not to spend much time preparing, as it really is just a bit of a mad rush on the day. Do the official practice paper and get a (better!) book to work through some questions and familiarise yourself with the format. Timing on the day was tight for everyone as filling in the answer sheet takes more time than expected (even people who never have issues with time found it rushed), so that is probably the most important thing to focus on on the day.

Have fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) (Paperback)
Explains logic behind answers to each question. Easy to read format. Helps to apply knowledge from gmc guidelines on good ethical practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) (Paperback)
I did the official online SJT test, looked at my mark (but not the answers), revised with this book and then re-took the test. I got 2% less the 2nd time.

The official online materials are enough, anything else is just someone's guess - which is probably as good as yours.

My problem with this book is in Scenario 67, where the answer discussion is discriminatory towards a homeless person. The book states;

"the tramp hardly justifies monopolising an entire ambulance"
and "if you want to be a good samaritan" indicating that walking past the person and ignoring them is the 2nd best option.

I found this attitude disgraceful, and in complete violation of GMC guidance for good medical practice, which indicates doctors shouldn't discriminate against patients on the basis of social or economic factors or lifestyle.

If you must spend money on SJT revision, don't give it to these bigoted authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Discrepancies in the Law, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) (Paperback)
I bought this book as it was (at the time) the only one claiming to have input from the people who actually set the exam. It's very useful in the following ways:

1) really large question bank for both types of SJT question
2) the answers are explained very well

However, there are some cases in which the answers are inconsistent. For example, there are situations in which carrying on with your shift when the other FY1 phones in sick just before you finish is the 1st or 2nd best answer, and others where it's the worst answer because it's deemed unsafe.

Perhaps more importantly, there are a few questions related to 16 and 17 year olds to do with consent. One particular one is about telling the police/social services that the boyfriend of a 17 year old is beating her up and she doesn't want you to tell anyone. In some parts of the UK a 17 year old is an adult and therefore you must respect her confidentiality, and in other parts a minor for whom you must contact social services... the answer only alludes to her being a minor and therefore "respect her confidentiality" is the worst option, whereas in some parts of the UK it's by far the ONLY option. Obviously questions that have discrepancies like this won't appear in the real SJT, which casts doubt on the validity of other questions they have included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars May be the best out there but still not great, 6 Dec 2012
This review is from: 250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) (Paperback)
This book is set out in a easy-to-read format with a good introduction. Answers at the back are descriptive and helpful.

However, there are some problems. The book isn't consistent so one question will say action x is terrible and should never be done, then later say it's ideal in all circumstances. The grammar and spelling mistakes are annoying, as are the incorrect answers at the back (the explanation is in the right order but the quick letters are not). But these are minor.

A MAJOR concern is one question that says it's better to confront a man who is abusing his wife than it is to contact police. Contacting police may not be your duty, but confronting an abuser (who has a CHILD) could mean death for the woman and even her 3 year old, even if the woman is saying its the first time, blah blah blah - actually, that's incredibly unlikely. This is an irresponsible answer. We are not just learning how to take the SJT with this book. We are also getting a glimpse of our future. So teaching us that to confront an abuser is preferable over the police is downright dangerous.

But what do you expect from a book that seems to think doctors are only men (barring that one fellow F1 in one question out of 250) and nurses are only women?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great practice book, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) (Paperback)
Excellent book, lots of great practice questions which help train your brain in thinking the correct way to answer the questions. The explanations are generally very good and succinct, although you will find some contradictory arguments within the book. This is well worth a purchase, but do not forget to do the official online mock exams, as these are truest to the actual exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE - use the official mock test instead, 28 April 2014
This review is from: 250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) (Paperback)
AVOID this book - I did the official mock SJT paper online (without looking at the answers in between) before and after using this book, and my score actually dropped by a few %.

I would suggest ONLY using the official UKFPO mock practice test. Read and re-read the correct answers and explanations. Analyse the patterns and write a flowchart for the common scenarios. You'll develop a consistent, correct approach this way. I ran out of time but still scored 44 points in the SJT - I credit this to thorough analysis of the official mock answers.

If you absolutely must use a book, 'Get ahead' was best explained out of all the books I used.

SJT at a glance was alright, though felt the questions were too difficult.

As for online question banks, Passmedicine was nothing like the actual test, and Pastest had dodgy answers. I did not try OnExamination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dont bother, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) (Paperback)
People who write the real SJT are not allowed to write books or talk about the exam in any way. The people who write this are as clueless as you or I. They know no more about the exam than we do. To be honest you cannot 'revise' this exam. Dont bother buying this book its a waste of money. I disagree with the questions answers several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews