Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
38
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2014
The best book in one of the best sagas of epic galactic war ever, star wars is a stunted jester in comparison.

The long and short of it is that if you want more of the John Pym's daring escapades and heroic adventures this book will not disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
If you like science fantasy which makes you smile this is the book for you. If you have not read any of the previous books in this series I suggest you read them first, then you will understand what is happening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Fans of the series won't be disappointed with a 'laugh out load moment' on nearly every page. A Game of Battleships offers hearty laughter, more than a modicum of silliness, insightful observations and high adventure. Although it's been a while since I read the previous books I'd say that the scale of this book is larger with a higher proportion of grand action sequences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Toby Frost has done it again. I can not say enough good things about the adventures of Space Captain Smith and his stalwart band of misfits. The action was heroic, the characters were comic, and the kettle was always on. Who could ask for anything more? If you were a fan of the first three volumes, you'll love adding A Game of Battleships to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Once again upon finishing a Space Captain Smith Adventure i am left with a warm fuzzy feeling =)

With hilarious dialogue and a few nods to Dune, Blade Runner and even a classic reggae tune, I loved every moment.
Can't wait for the next one! Keep it up Toby Frost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Excellent addition to the Space Captain Smith series. Very funny and up to the standard of the earlier novels. I really hope there is an audiobook release of this title.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Once again, Captain Smith and his intrepid crew defends the British Space Empire from it's outrageous enemies, this time battling with not only the usual suspects, Ghasts, Lemming men and Cultists, but now with added dimensions..
No more spoilers though as this book is probably the best of the four outings for Isambard and his slightly mad tea drinking comrades.

My only beef ?? The Kindle version has not been properly proof read - almost without exception each word with a double l has been truncated to only one - come on guys, use a spell checker..
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
another fun installment in the Captain Smith series. Light hearted, and plenty of parodies of classics keeps the story pottering along, without demanding too much from the reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
4 stars because I don't think it quite lives up to the standard of the first three, still thoroughly enjoyed it though. Some excellent moments, particularly towards the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
but could dowith proofreading. A lot of spurious paragraph breaks and text in italics seemed to have a thing against double letters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse