Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2016
This book got me through my exams, as I found whilst studying law in-depth it can become boring and you forget why you love the subject so much. Reading this in my breaks reminded me why I love law so much and I would recommend this book to law students and non-law students alike. Incredibly entertaining and made me giggle!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
This is the type of case reporting that comes out of the Daily Star. It has the most unpleasant snide tone, picks only sensationalist details and (as an earlier reviewer said) litters them liberally with aside that add nothing. Peter Sneddon proves legally ignorant in the constant errors before giving his own pontificating view on each case. The material is interesting but presented as if the author is writing to the worlds stupidest person. Not good. Buy a tabloid and look at the law section.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Not being a lawyer, I found this book not quite as good as the London Strangest Tales book, but still certainly entertaining and worth reading and dipping into.

Recommended, but not as much as Londons Strangest Tales.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
Although the core material of this book is interesting, it is spoiled by the author's tone: I found that this makes the whole thing almost unreadable. Throughout, he makes unfunny, flippant comments. It would have been far better had the author given more legal detail and spared us his asides.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
Bought this for a family member Christmas 2013 and at over 300+ pages it has proved a really entertaining read for them. Bought it on a whim as a little gift as original present was late (not from Amazon I may add!). This family member is really interested in law and cases and it has made them chuckle quite a bit such as the case where some moles were tried for vandalism to a village green. Marvellous :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
This book went down well with my friend, who is a lawyer. He seemed suitably amused by the stories and I can recommend it to lay people too!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
This book is a joy to read, with a wide variety of cases, ranging from drunken-ness to murder, and everything in between. Some of the cases are famous, such as the 'Lady Chatterley' trial, and the Scopes case. They range from the time of Christ to the modern era, and are all told in a relaxed, chatty style which is easily readable by casual readers as well as law students, and with a fine dose of humour too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Bought this as a gift for my Law Tutor as a leaving present and I couldn't help reading a few sections. Well thought out, funny tone with quite an informative aspect. Great present for anyone with a background in Law.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
A good and very interesting read! It certainly was an eye opener to the laws of this great land! Highly recommended to all!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Wonderfuĺy written and makes you realisd how strick the laws were back then.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)