Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended reading for all interested in Rangers
I'm somewhat surprised by a few of the negative reviews on here for this book. To my mind it's long overdue and should be pretty much curriculum reading for all Rangers fans out there.

Of late Celtic FC have done a tremendous job (for them) of defending their "culture" and Irish Catholic background whilst skillfully at the same time taking regular pot-shots at...
Published on 24 Nov. 2008 by Stuart Campbell

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its rangers for me? ronnie esplin and graham walker
apart from a couple of contributors this book is total dross written by people who hate themselves and the team they allege to support the seller however is top quality and to be used without fear
Published 22 months ago by gstq1872


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended reading for all interested in Rangers, 24 Nov. 2008
By 
Stuart Campbell (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Rangers for Me? (Paperback)
I'm somewhat surprised by a few of the negative reviews on here for this book. To my mind it's long overdue and should be pretty much curriculum reading for all Rangers fans out there.

Of late Celtic FC have done a tremendous job (for them) of defending their "culture" and Irish Catholic background whilst skillfully at the same time taking regular pot-shots at Rangers own traditions and links to Ulster-Scots (the 2 McNeill brothers who were 50% of the original founders of Rangers mother was from Ulster for example) and Irish Protestantism.

This book does a superb job in framing where Rangers grew from as a Scottish institution and looks at the many complex factors that have shaped the club. It allows the reader to celebrate where Rangers have come from and be proud of the club's heritage whilst behaving in a modern manner.

In particular the current vogue of over inflating the problem of sectarianism in Scotland is dismantled - along with the notion that Rangers are the main party to be blamed. The contributors put forward some insightful analysis of some of the propoganda coming from Celtic Park and it's patrons.

In addition to all this the book also has some great tales of people's first memories and experiences of watching and supporting the team. Yes - Graham Spiers has a say in this but so do another 15 or 16 people and almost all of these deserve to be read by the vast majority of RFC fans out there and some interested neutrals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ., 7 Aug. 2013
This review is from: It's Rangers for Me? (Paperback)
great read. Good insight into the collective psyche of a support who have remained loyal to the club even after it died and was relaunchef as a new club, The Rangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 27 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: It's Rangers for Me? (Paperback)
As a curious neutral, I found this book quite an eye-opener with regards to the media's, and indeed society's perception of Rangers followers and Scotish/Ulster Protestants in general.
I think Graham Walker's chapter certainly opens a whole new debate on the proaganda generated by Celtic's PR machine and the victimised/oppressed mentality which many people (myself included) previously accepted as gospel. Also the chapter on the 'Ulster-Scots' was very informative and gave me an angle on the Ulster situation which is not widely known (although is historical fact).
Unfortunately the inclusion of Graham Spiers seems to have caused a lot of controversy (although the first reviewer has rather gone beyond that with some of his comments!). It's a shame that he was included in the book as his chapter seemed to spend most of the time desparately trying to promote his credentials as a Rangers man (which may be doubtful) and then trying to justify hurting the same club. I have since done some research into him and he would seem to be very popular with Celtic fans and loathed by Rangers fans. The articles I have read would certainly indicate some kind of agenda against the club he purports to follow.

All in all a good (if sometimes heavy) read which will open your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its Rangers for me, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Rangers for Me? (Paperback)
An excellent read and covers a lot of information on the divide of 2 of the biggest clubs in Scotland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars whats all the moaning about?, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
J. Powell "Jimbo" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Rangers for Me? (Paperback)
As a lifelong Rangers fan, I fail to see why so many bears have got themselves in a fuss about this book. It tells it like it is, What Rangers were, what Rangers are and most importantly there is a great cross-section of material and viewpoints represented. Its an overall really entertaining and informative read for anyone who loves the Rangers. So we have that reptile Arch hun-hater Spiers in here, so what? He's an idiot who HATES Rangers, yet proclaims to be a fan of the club... we all know that. Just ignore him. Skip his bit. If you don't like it, just skip his section of the book and read something better in another chapter, there is plenty of great stuff to choose from in this book.
There is a massive choice of variety about Rangers to read in here.....from players and fan's stories, to history and politics and plenty about what happens on the pitch as well as what the sectarian stuff means to Rangers fans and all that. I feel many people have missed the point here, lost their sense of humour and personally i loved this book. I couldn't put it down, page after page of just Rangers Rangers Rangers, my passion, my life, my love, my club. It's a brilliant read, and tell Spiers to stuff it and stop pretending he's a bluenose. Don't let him spoil your enjoyment of a really interesting, wide-ranging and entertaining book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its rangers for me? ronnie esplin and graham walker, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Rangers for Me? (Paperback)
apart from a couple of contributors this book is total dross written by people who hate themselves and the team they allege to support the seller however is top quality and to be used without fear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Rangers for Me?
It's Rangers for Me? by Ronnie Esplin and Graham Walker (Paperback - 22 Oct. 2007)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews