Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what your mother was always telling you
Pierre Pallardy spends a lot of the opening chapters explaining his history and how his experiences have led him to write this book. He backs it up with medical facts and has researched the book well.

It is full of common sense, a skill most of us seem have lost in the hysteria of diet and health scare books out there.

It is a welcome relief to read...
Published on 24 Nov 2006 by Barbbro2000

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gut Feelings.
A very succinct summary of the many ways ailments that can be linked to the stomach; it is a little like the Pilates idea, that if you strengthen the centre, the rest of the body will fall into place; I like the simple lay out of the contents; it makes it easy to go directly to areas that interest you particularly. If I have a criticism, it is that the author attributes...
Published on 4 April 2009 by Ms. D. E. Derioz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what your mother was always telling you, 24 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pierre Pallardy spends a lot of the opening chapters explaining his history and how his experiences have led him to write this book. He backs it up with medical facts and has researched the book well.

It is full of common sense, a skill most of us seem have lost in the hysteria of diet and health scare books out there.

It is a welcome relief to read that we instinctivly know what is good for us, and what food intolerances we have. We don't need to spend a fortune on pills and tests. If we all slowed down our eating and listened to our second brain, the stomach, we have answers to greater health.

Its easy, diet and exercise and relaxation...we all know it, but would prefer to hear a miracle from the scare mongers. The author gives his readers credit for their own intelligence and actions. A rare thing in the health food book world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising and really helpful, 28 Jun 2006
By 
Anne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
I have to admit I was a little sceptical when I first read about this book in the Sunday Times, but it has really surprised me. It's based on the idea that the stomach and the abdomen in general are particularly important to our overall health and that looking after them can help with specific illnesses as well as general wellbeing. The author prescribes a range of treatments, including breathing exercises, slow eating, self massage and what he calls "abdominal meditation" (that bit is taking me a bit of time to get used to, but makes sense when you read the book). I've already noticed I feel a lot better after a week of doing the exercises and making a few changes to how I eat (not eating in such a rush for example) and am definitely going to keep up with the meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gut Feelings., 4 April 2009
By 
Ms. D. E. Derioz "Dianella" (Devon. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very succinct summary of the many ways ailments that can be linked to the stomach; it is a little like the Pilates idea, that if you strengthen the centre, the rest of the body will fall into place; I like the simple lay out of the contents; it makes it easy to go directly to areas that interest you particularly. If I have a criticism, it is that the author attributes so many illnesses to problems in the stomach area, but this may be ignorance on my part. I think the stomach massage is a brilliant technique, which he explains very clearly, and am using it myself, to great effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the guts back into your treatment, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Gut Instinct: What Your Stomach is Trying to Tell You: 7 easy steps to health and healing (Paperback)
In his book 'Gut Instinct' Peirre Pallardy makes the case for including a consideration of gut health into personal healthcare. The new science of the 'second brain' allows us to think of the gut connection in cases of stress, GI problems, allergies and general malaise because of the rich interconnection of the abdominal nervous system, the cental nervous system, the interconnection of the lymphatics in this area and the various possibilities of interactions and neural feedback between the viscera and the cranial nerves. Whether you think in eastern or western terms about these organs and systems there is much here to consider.
However the primary reason for recommending this book is that it contains some very useful self-help techniques to maiantain gut health, in an age of pressure for people to reach for the latest gut pill or potion this should be to huge interest to people who suffer for gut misery.
For therapists this is book provides an useful tool to educate people about gut health and a simple set of interventions to assist in self-treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gut Instinct: What Your Stomach is Trying to Tell You: 7 easy steps to health and healing (Paperback)
This book seems to be an advertisement for Mr Pallardy's `I am so amazing, I have cured all these people, except the one's who didn't listen to me!'. Having said that, it gives some interesting arguments and, if you are in chronic pain, anything is worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gut Instinct: What Your Stomach is Trying to Tell You: 7 easy steps to health and healing (Paperback)
It's ana amazing book, that will teach you the breathing skills and give you other advice regarding excercise, food and lifestyle changes. It will change your life, once you re-learn how to breathe. It;s the most extraordinary how little changes that YOU can do without spending any money, can make so much difference. It helps me when I'm little anxious and feel those butterflies in my stomach. The breathing tecnique calms my belly, I'm very happy with the results.The book is a breath of fresh air in a world that tries to sell you things that supposedly should cure your ailments, but in reality it makes it worse. This book gives you tools to deal with your own health in a simple and informative way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gut Instinct: What Your Stomach is Trying to Tell You: 7 easy steps to health and healing (Paperback)
Seems to only help overweight people. Not people who need to gain weight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gut Instinct: What Your Stomach is Trying to Tell You: 7 easy steps to health and healing (Paperback)
Very fast delivery-Excellent Product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gut Instinct, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gut Instinct: What Your Stomach is Trying to Tell You: 7 easy steps to health and healing (Paperback)
A simply, and well written book with some excellent information for looking after your gut. Good to read quickly or to dip into as required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gut Instinct, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gut Instinct: What Your Stomach is Trying to Tell You: 7 easy steps to health and healing (Paperback)
I have found this book extremely helpful. Admittedly I am still reading it. This booked is helping me to understand the fact that there is a possibility we do have 2 brains, the other one being in the stomach. Hence the saying 'butterflies in the stomach'. Also this book is helping me to understand the reason of why I feel as I do at times. I would recommend this book to anyone having problems with anxiety, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gut Instinct: What Your Stomach is Trying to Tell You: 7 easy steps to health and healing
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews