Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely informative and well structured book., 5 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Haunted Skies Volume One (Paperback)
For the authors first publication I found it to be a quirky, well researched and interesting read. Certainly makes you think after reading all the documented sightings! Even if your uncertain on this subject or a tad sceptical - I would highly recommend this. 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must A++, 10 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Haunted Skies Volume One (Paperback)
This book was a exhilarating from start to finish it has a no nonsense approach to separating the ufo non fiction from fiction,
It is informative and precise in detail. The authors approach to the subject matter comes across in a easy digest manner making it a excellent read. Looking forward to the next chapter fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece of Research, 15 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haunted Skies Volume One (Paperback)
John and Dawn have obviously put a lot of research into this project, many hours of hard work. This book captures the atmosphere of those times and is a book that any newcomer to the subject would do well to read. I particularly liked the illustrations by David Sankey which gives freshness to the reports, and the very comprehensive index. An absorbing book, difficult to put down. I look forward to the next volume with anticipation. Five stars without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue!, 28 Aug. 2010
By 
David P. Bryant "Spacerocks UK" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Haunted Skies Volume One (Paperback)
This book fills a gap in the library of any serious UFOlogy student: it provides a complete chronology of the phenomenon in the UK with a wealth of well-researched first-hand accounts.
The illustrations, maps and tables are first class, and the paintings are almost photographic in quality!
I cannot wait for the next volume to become available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book - off to a good start., 13 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: Haunted Skies Volume One (Paperback)
I first met John Hanson about 15 years ago when he had plans to write a book. Since those early days John has gone far - becoming a well known and respected UFOlogist.

This is an impressive and mammoth task to undertake - a four volume set of books that deals with the history of British UFO sightings. This first volume deals with the years 1940-1959. In these pages John and Dawn give a broad selection of UFO reports from the various years. Many of them will not be known to readers as they come from the author's own investigations. The book is better for this approach I feel, as it saves going over the same old ground of well known cases. There is also a broad geographical spread for all the cases, although I found myself being drawn to those from the Midlands. And there are some classic cases here - alien contact case from Kidderminster in the 1940's, not to mention the famous Cynthia Appleton case from Birmingham in the 1950's. My only minor quibble with this first volume, was the inclusion of a case from (again) Kidderminster that involved `burn' marks in a field. There were no accompanying reports of UFOs or other anomalies. So why the mention in the book?

As this is a history of British UFO reports, I would have liked to have seen more historical sociological context for reports, which are very much `of their time'. But that aside, this is a great book that deserves to be read by all serious researchers. Bring on Volume Two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous research effort, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Haunted Skies Volume One (Paperback)
A fascinating compendium of cases which runs the gamut from the decidedly flaky to the highly impressive.
The landing of a saucer in a suburban street in Kent in 1955 is a particularly stunning case, apparently being witnessed by dozens of people.
If only someone managed to get a photograph during the few minutes it was present, it would leave sceptics in a difficult position.
This series of books, well illustrated by David Sankey and Wayne Mason, brings to light many little-known encounters in UK airspace and deserves to be a big success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Work, 6 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haunted Skies Volume One (Paperback)
This is an outstanding piece of work, the authors have compiled an authoritative record of reports on the UFO phenomena while keeping themselves in the background with little commentary to push readers one way or the other. The illustrations add a real other worldliness to the book that enhances the read very well indeed.

Outstanding work and the second book is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunted Skies, 5 Feb. 2011
By 
J. H. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haunted Skies Volume One (Paperback)
I purchased this book based upon the good reviews that have been written by the best Ufologists on the subject, they are not wrong. This is an importent book on Ufology and a chronicle into this cultural phenomenon, it is a treasure. The authors have obviously worked very hard as this amount of research detail does not come easy. The only gripe I have is that it is not hard bound, this would have increased the cost but I would gladly pay £25-£30 for a book of this quality, I only want it hard bound as I love it so much. Thank you Dawn Holloway and John Hanson for top notch work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A serious professional research job focusing on the UK, 19 Sept. 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haunted Skies Volume One (Paperback)
This book is volume one of a planned multi-volume history of the UFO phenomenon as observed and recorded in and over the UK, the first time such a major undertaking has been seriously attempted. The authors, police officer John Hanson and his partner Dawn Holloway, have done a pretty good job of recording and detailing the history and seem to be meticulous at sorting the wheat from the chaff. The brief foreword is penned by Timothy Good.

The years covered in this volume are 1940-1959. To many readers the earlier accounts will be the most revealing - i.e. before the "flying saucer" issue burst into the public domain through the mainstream media post-1947. Early contactee and abduction accounts from 1940-1941 (such as that from Alison Richards in 1941) do demonstrate that the abduction phenomenon was experienced way back then and was in all essentials identical to the more numerous reports decades later. A great many encounters with strange aerial objects were reported by RAF aircrew in world war two, particularly from bomber crews who operated in large fleets of aircraft at night and through the twilight hours.

At just over 300 pages this large-format paperback adopts a magazine-type layout with some good illustrations (by David Sankey) of cases either rarely or never previously published. Probably thousands of sightings and encounters have been missed, simply because only what has been reported can be investigated: it is suspected that 90% of sightings/encounters are never "officially" reported, and some not even to friends and family. The text is well-written and edited and virtually free of typos; the authors seem to be intelligent, agenda-free and thorough in their research. Good job guys, and best of luck with the rest of the project. My guess is that having put out volume one, you're going to receive a few phone calls from people with later sightings and are going to have your work cut out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 1 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Haunted Skies Volume One (Paperback)
If Timothy Good has anything to do with a book - you can expect it's worth a read. Have just started to read this book and have found it quite informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haunted Skies Volume One
Haunted Skies Volume One by Dawn Marina Holloway (Paperback - 17 July 2010)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews