Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These photo's are genius!, 14 Mar 2008
By 
R. CURRIE (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with the previous reviews, but would also like to add how impressively technical these photographs are. The colour saturation is probably an overkill to todays preferences, but in this book it works to bring the images closer still - taking you in to the world of Butlins as it really was back then. Most of the images are taken from a high up perspective giving superb depth. The images have a genuine honesty about them. I have recently been to Butlins and was amazed that they did not sell this book there. A missed trick I think. A great book for all photographers and Butlins devotees alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folks having fun, 27 July 2003
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
John Hinde's wonderful photos capture a peculiarly British phenomenon, the Butlin's vacation camp. As photographer Martin Parr says in his intro...Billy Butlin had the great idea of providing a holiday park for the working class, where they could have a good time despite the English weather. The price included everything, accommodation, food and entertainment so the camps where very popular with families, ma and pa could do what they wanted knowing that the kids, not being able to stray from the enclosed site, could play all day in safety.

The fifty-five large, pin-sharp photos in this book capture exactly the feel and ambience of the various Butlin camps around the country. They all show groups of people, indoors and out, eating, dancing (ballroom dancing was always a big draw for pensioners) swimming, relaxing or whatever. Hinde used real campers for these photos and in nearly every one, if you look closely, you can always spot one person who is looking at the camera, I bet they were told to ignore the camera and all the lights and look as if they were having a good time. As these pictures show the British relaxing on vacation there are naturally plenty of men wearing a jacket, collar and tie, on sunny days too!

I think this is a lovely book that captures, with documentary style photos, the seventies look of a unique English institution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars our true intent, 14 Nov 2002
By A Customer
what a wonderful book, the images just bounce off the page at the viewer. the hairstyle are great and the colour in the picture are like those in a double rainbow. i can almost taste the beer in the beachcomber bar. i am booking my week in butlins now if it still looks like this. who needed the sun to shine, yeh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hi de hi, 19 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having been a redcoat at skegness in the mid 70s,these superb photos are a fantastic
reminder of butlins camps at their peak and bring back many fond memories of that time,
pure nostalgia for anyone who like me worked there or took a holiday at the camps,
quality of the photos and indeed the book are first class. for the photographers there
are descriptions of how the photos were taken,equipment,etc,
together with amazons other offering,THE BILLY BUTLIN STORY,they offer a unique insight into
this most british of institutions, a definite must buy.

joe taylor,
paisley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A childhood revisited, 28 Feb 2003
By 
Mr. Stephen J. Rodgers (Brisbane) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was born in 1969 and lived for 19 years in Bognor Regis and occasionally visited Butlins in Bognor Regis during my childhood. The pictures in the book evoked strong memories of innocent times spent in this garish oddity that was clearly the greatest marriage of paint, textile and bad taste. The clarity of the images that unfold as you browse your way through leave the voyeur with little left to imagine of what a holiday might have been like in one of these places in the early seventies. One can only hope that one day, the only thing remaining of the Butlins entity will be some fond childhood memories and this book...anything else would be too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good purchase whether for nostalgia, academic interest or artisitic interest., 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our True Intent Is All For Your Delight: The John Hinde Butlin's Photographs (Hardcover)
Whether your nostalgic for a more innocent era of holidays, interested in social / leisure history, or the art of photography this is a very interesting book. Very little text in this book, just a large (50+) number of the highly staged photographs (even at the time they were considered almost corny or cheesy) that became the signature style of John HInde's postcards. The book show's off Hindes postcard photographs of Butlins in the 60's and the 70's where a lot of time, expense and trouble was put into creating idyllic images for what were, at the end of the day, 'just' postcards. As Edmund Nagele one of his photograpphers says though, Hinde's interest was to produce a product of a quality that would not be surpassed, in this respect this book doesn't let him down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful images, good print, interesting texts by the photographer themselves.
It celebrates the Butlin's centres, pictured in the 60s and 70s, as if they were 19th century luxury interiors. Funny AND interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely trip down memory lane, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: Our True Intent Is All For Your Delight: The John Hinde Butlin's Photographs (Hardcover)
bought this book for my husband who has fond memories of butlins and he loved it, a brilliant buy for butlins lovers and for a nostalgic trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retro Butlins, 2 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent for looking back to the GOOD OLD DAYS of Butlins. Too loud and commercialist now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Our True Intent Is All For Your Delight: The John Hinde Butlin's Photographs
16.89
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews