Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rare archive
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:39 Mins
I bought this to accompany War by Sebastian Junger and my pre-order of Restrepo [DVD]. Having been waiting to get all three of these works together before I take my time to properly consume them, I found as soon as Infidel was taken out its wrapping I just couldn't stop myself taking in the entire book in one sitting. Really quite amazing and...
Published on 16 Oct. 2010 by J. McGhee

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Infidel
Interesting and well made presentation-wise. I'm into photography and wanted to know more about the way Tim Hetherington worked as a video film maker. Not disappointed but feel this is a book for those interested in either current warfare (don't expect pictures of explosive action) or those interested in obtaining insights into how 'being there' affects the soldiers and...
Published on 11 April 2013 by Inva


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rare archive, 16 Oct. 2010
By 
J. McGhee "JackM" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infidel (Paperback)
Length:: 1:39 Mins

I bought this to accompany War by Sebastian Junger and my pre-order of Restrepo [DVD]. Having been waiting to get all three of these works together before I take my time to properly consume them, I found as soon as Infidel was taken out its wrapping I just couldn't stop myself taking in the entire book in one sitting. Really quite amazing and arresting imagery. One I will be re-visiting a lot.
The format and editing are worth a mention too. Kicking off with an introduction by Sebastian Junger, followed by a two page grid of the profile photos of the soldiers in his book. Following this is the main body of work, Tim Hetheringon's times at FOB Restrepo. The book concludes with the meditations of the soldiers themselves, short paragraphs on what they feel they took away from their tour, mixed with a few anecdotes.

It is always refreshing to come across the story of what we are involved in in Afghanistan rather than just the politics.

Though one small thing that can be quite frustrating, is the images that have a two page spread, inevitably leave an area at the binding that distorts the image. Which on the whole isn't an issue, except for a couple of the night-time images whose focus is at the partition between the pages. No biggie though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A staggering, important book, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infidel (Paperback)
Okay, lets get the hard thing out of the way first of all, Tim Hetherington is no longer with us, felled by a mortar round whilst covering the Libyan meltdown last year. Net result? The world has been robbed off one of its pre-eminent photo-journalists. Scratch that, Hetherington was a man who expounded a doctrine of trans-journalism and what this book represents, is an embryonic attempt at such a thing.

I read a pre-release copy of War, an amazing account by Sebastian Junger of his time in the Korengal valley. Hetherington features in this book and both men worked on Restrepo, a video documentary of their time in the valley and life at the outpost.

Infidel is a neat finish to the trio, a photobook that covers the span of Hetheringtons time in the valley.

We open with a short, well written intro then are shown formal Army portraits of the main players, then we move onto what is for me the best section of the book, Hetherington's head and shoulder environmental portraits of the soldiers. The use of shallow focus, catchlights in the eyes and the well chosen, colour-wash, backgrounds really allow the inner emotions of the soldiers shine through, all moods from the sombre to the light are captured.

The meat of the book comprises shots of life in the Restrepo outpost, moments of boredom, contemplation and testosterone fuelled mayhem are well captured. We then see various sketches of the tattoos the men gave each other at the outpost.

We then reach a section of full bleed images that are true 'war photos', breath-taking images of men under and returning fire. There is blood and mayhem and intimate moments of men reaching emotional peaks. Truly amazing photos that rightly won Hetherington a press photographer of the year award.

To end the book, there is intimate portraits of the soldiers at sleep, then we reach a section of text where the soldiers describe their attraction, and occasional feelings of ambivalence to, combat. In short, the grunts themselves care little of the politics surrounding their deployment, rather they are there to look out for their 'brothers in arms.'

Lastly, I would like to comment on the format of the book, it feels rather like a Moleskine notebook, softcover but tactile, strong and durable. The cover is flexible enough to allow the pages to be flicked through and the prints are of a very good quality. Bravo to the publishers for an excellently thought out and stunningly delivered book.

All told, this book is essential for anyone with even a passing interest in photography, foreign politics, combat or journalism.

The only sour taste left in the mouth is the knowledge that a pioneer in his field is no longer with us as this book has shown the potential for trans-journalism.

An absolutely essential book whose images and words will remain with you for a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully photographed, 4 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infidel (Paperback)
I was inspired to buy this book after seeing and then buying the documovie Restrepo. The images in this book are insghtful, moving, shocking and sometimes amusing. As an amateur photographer I found them to be all of the above and inspirational too and this excellent book shares shelf space with my NatGeo collection.

Whether you are a military enthusiast, a fan of the film or a photographer, this book has something for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...somewhere on a hillside..., 9 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Infidel (Paperback)
Here is a compact little manual, robustly constructed and well printed, as we have come to expect from Chris Boot's publishing house. The first pages set the scene: expansive shots of barren mountains and the advance camp where the group of soldiers reside during their tour. Then Hetherington cleverly shows us the faces and names of the men in formal military mug shots before switching our attention to the informalities and inanities of camp life, where porn mags, macho posturing, horseplay and boredom predominate. He creates an impression of a closely knit group of disparate individuals driven to jovial distraction by forced isolation. Each man would gladly see action to stave off the ennui of days. That action comes late in the book. Hetherington's images, some shaky and dark, capture the stark reality of combat against a guerilla force. The men lose one of their close comrades in the skirmish.

Following the images are a series of revealing essays by the men themselves. What is powerful is the uncensored (and explicit) nature of their comments and language. In an age of sanitised images and reporting about war (especially the Iraq war), these anecdotes and personal appeals are deeply impressive. Presumably the soldiers' words were transcribed directly from recordings because the turn of phrase is immediate and raw. Any incipient sentimentality or romanticism is trounced by this text. It is perhaps the best editorial decision of all.

Despite the clever sequencing of the book, the entire project is subtly disturbing. Presumably Hetherington's intention was to show the inseparable bonds of friendship and brotherhood between soldiers, and he was less interested in the politics of a particular war. But politics is inescapable since we are talking about US soldiers here and he is an embedded photographer. Try as the reader might to ignore this fact, it is impossible. The images seem to be arranged to please the more patriotic of the readership. Just now and again, however, there are glimpses of the immorality and barbarity essential to any war, irrespective of the nationality of the solider fighting. For example, one of the soldiers describes laughing at the sight (on remote view) of an enemy combatant writhing in pain then dying after losing an arm. There is a description of the soldiers stealing and inhumanely slaughtering a cow in a local village, without compensating the owners. In another account we hear how a puppy was stolen from a family in another village and kept at the camp. It is not clear whether Hetherington left in these descriptions purposefully to temper any idealised view of his subjects, but the effect is profound.

A series of photographs in the book shows individual soldiers sleeping. Presumably Hetherington intended to show the vulnerability of soldiers caught up in a desperate war, but the images can appear contrived and sentimental.

In short, Infidels is a tribute to a group of soldiers - an account of brothers in arms at an isolated lookout station. It is a work of lasting significance in war reportage. Tim Hetherington tragically lost his life while on assignment in Libya on 20 April 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infidel- perfect companion to War, 13 April 2011
This review is from: Infidel (Paperback)
This book is brilliant. I first became aware of this and Sabastein Jungers book when I saw an interview with Junger on the daily show about the experience that Hetherington and Junger had in Afghanistan's most violent valley.
This book gives another dimension to today's soldier and documents life on the modern frontline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Infidel, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infidel (Paperback)
Interesting and well made presentation-wise. I'm into photography and wanted to know more about the way Tim Hetherington worked as a video film maker. Not disappointed but feel this is a book for those interested in either current warfare (don't expect pictures of explosive action) or those interested in obtaining insights into how 'being there' affects the soldiers and in this book, to a lesser extent, the civilians involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infidel (Paperback)
Love the layout of the book, with a nice leather outer case. Pictures are actually quite startling as it does include images that are not regularly shown in western wars eg.Iraq such as a picture of a dead us soldier.
Overral loved it brought his other book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Infidel (Paperback)
As a semi pro i rate this as photojournalism at its very peak. Very powerful and inspiring documentary. Simply brilliant and best photojournalism book ive ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tim Hetherington, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infidel (Paperback)
Can't beat Tim Hetherington really great photography book by a great photographer "perfect for anyone who likes photography" unconventional war photography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great look at a modern war, 2 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infidel (Paperback)
A great look at a modern war. Just finished it for the second time. Tim's pictures capture the true essence of an outpost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Infidel
Infidel by Sebastian Junger (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2010)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews