Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Masquerade Costumes From Africa & Haiti
Hardcover, card boards with photographic DJ, 9.5" x 9", 208 Pages, 94 full-page color photos of masquerade masks & costumes, (71 depictions from Africa and 23 from Haiti), 7 Pages of text. (Introduction by Chika Okeke-Agulu) Original pricing : 30 Pounds (UK), $45 (US) Published by Chris Boot, 2010.

From the back cover : "Maske is an album of Phyllis...
Published 10 months ago by James I. Cole

versus
3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Verdict's out
Saw excerpt pictures in the Daily (or Sunday)Telegraph and ordered it. It's one of those books that you aren't really sure whether you can be bothered to keep or return and I just couldn't be bothered to return it. It's nicely produced and the photographs are good but you're not quite sure whether the whole thing hasn't been done in the studio with your auntie and her...
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by tipperary


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Masquerade Costumes From Africa & Haiti, 28 Jan 2014
By 
James I. Cole "Tribal Art Lover" (High Desert, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maske (Hardcover)
Hardcover, card boards with photographic DJ, 9.5" x 9", 208 Pages, 94 full-page color photos of masquerade masks & costumes, (71 depictions from Africa and 23 from Haiti), 7 Pages of text. (Introduction by Chika Okeke-Agulu) Original pricing : 30 Pounds (UK), $45 (US) Published by Chris Boot, 2010.

From the back cover : "Maske is an album of Phyllis Galembo's powerful and thrilling masquerade photographs from Nigeria, Benin, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Burkina Faso, Zambia, and Haiti." Okay - It's true that the photographs are posed and static, and that there is too little in the way of descriptions of each costume, and that the presentation is a little spare and unbalanced....BUT.....the images themselves are striking works of art. The photographs have a wonderful dreamlike quality as if they were tribal art seen through the lens of David Lynch. Vibrant, beautifully lit mask and costume art, modeled by almost entirely anonymous people, captured in a photographic museum which appeals to the tribal art lover in me, but which I hope appeals to all lovers of art and photography. Please see past its faults to appreciate a simply wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it!, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maske (Hardcover)
this is such a goodbook, great photgraphs and gives insight in the usage of afrcain costumes from the practical to the historical. great investment for whoever is interested in masking in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maske (Hardcover)
Beautiful important document of tradition that we hope not to loose. Brutal, reality poetic masquerade parade. Soul manifestation embodent. Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maske (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic I use it for research within my work time and time again. Every time you flick through you end up noticing something else. Excellent photographs and wonderful costumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maske (Hardcover)
The book arrived very speedily, well packaged and in plenty of time for Christmas. It was an 'asked for' Christmas gift so I can't really comment on the book except that it looks lovely and it was high on the 'I'd really love this' list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Verdict's out, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maske (Hardcover)
Saw excerpt pictures in the Daily (or Sunday)Telegraph and ordered it. It's one of those books that you aren't really sure whether you can be bothered to keep or return and I just couldn't be bothered to return it. It's nicely produced and the photographs are good but you're not quite sure whether the whole thing hasn't been done in the studio with your auntie and her circle busy in the background knitting or sewing the next amazing, but ridiculous, costume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maske
Maske by Chika Okeke-Agulu (Hardcover - 18 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: £130.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews