Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on dressage, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Kottas on Dressage (Hardcover)
If you buy only one book on how to train & ride a horse well from novice to advanced riding, I think this should be it.

You know the man knows his stuff given his huge accomplishments at the Spanish Riding School, and in competition. But that in itself does not make for a great book, though obviously the rider is very good. However, the book is far more than a list of the right way to sit and think and exercise.

The explanation of the riders position and seat, and correcting faults, is superb. Compared to Podhajsky's book (the Complete Training of Horse & Rider) or even Herbermann (Dressage Formula), I find the book much better organised, readable and enjoyable (though both the other books are very good too in their own ways). Compared to Kyra's book (dressage with Kyra) there is much more detail on the rider's position and corrections. But it also gives the correct order in approaching faults: for example if the problem is hard hands, he carefully explains the likely underlying causes (and corrections needed - for example how the problem arises if the seat or legs are not relaxed), which will then correct more than just that initially seen fault. There is also some excellent advice on improving the sitting trot. But underlying all the explicit detail are the constant themes of the correct attitude towards training, efficient use of aids and so forth, written in a way that makes it seem obvious and natural (to me at least) why those attitudes work.

Excellent photos and diagrams too - including clear, useful and accurate artwork by Maggie Raynor. And some quite subtle looking differences in the horse's shape that show the difference between correct and incorrect work are visually explained by showing the relevant parts of the horses underlying skeleton. The visuals are not just the usual pretty pictures of horses going nicely (though there are a few of these as well).

I really think this book could do a lot of good not only for riders, but also for their horses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for dressage riders, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Kottas on Dressage (Hardcover)
Absolutely brilliant textbook - please don't be put off by the title if your interest is not dressage as anyone who rides would benefit from reading this book, even a complete novice, as the principles of classical training are set out clearly and concisely from the basic gaits to piaffe and passage. The illustrations, both photos and drawings, are not only helpful but also beautiful. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KOTTAS ON DRESSAGE, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: Kottas on Dressage (Hardcover)
Excellent book for riders of all levels whether they have their own horse or not.
very clearly written and set out making it easy to dip in and out of for specific references to each schooling exercise and gait.
Emphasises the importance of the riders position to help the horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kottas on Dressage, 4 Mar 2011
This review is from: Kottas on Dressage (Hardcover)
This book is excellent for its philosophy & simplicity any student of dressage cannot fail to be impressed no matter how many books on the subject they may have read
I am a Fellow of The British Horse Society a Grand Prix Judge & an FEI 5* Para Judge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 30 July 2010
By 
Kari Saunders (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kottas on Dressage (Hardcover)
A must read for all those interested in dressage as an art and as a sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 16 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Kottas on Dressage (Hardcover)
Very pleased with the book and the service from supplier.Is easy to understand. The information therein gives a progressive pattern of training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kottas review, 8 Dec 2010
This review is from: Kottas on Dressage (Hardcover)
This makes very worthwhile reading for the coach and the rider; Kottas deals with the importance of a correct seat and balance being paramount so as to be able to influence the horse in the best possible way. Very easy to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dressage classic, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: Kottas on Dressage (Hardcover)
In this book Kottas covers both the technical and philosophical aspects of his approach to dressage. A fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classical dressage well explained, 11 Jun 2011
This review is from: Kottas on Dressage (Hardcover)
This seems a very clear and consistent book on dressage, using the classical training of the horse and the rider. The photos are good, and diagrams (by Maggie Raynor) are well-executed and helpful for learning as well as for identifying where and why problems can occur. The diagram of how a crooked back can affect a horse on p27 got me straight off to the osteopath. I think my horse will be glad I've got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant book. I always thought I was a decent ..., 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: Kottas on Dressage (Hardcover)
Absolutely brilliant book. I always thought I was a decent rider until I started taking lessons in dressage. The more precise I was trying to ride the more tension I developed in my body and it emerged how much I need to compensate for half hearted aids and relying on the horse figuring it all out. My trainer is fantastic in correcting me, developing lots of exercises to address my weaknesses and to work through things. Nonetheless this book was incredible. The detailed discription about the seat, how it needs to be, where to start, how to improve it... I could hear my trainers voice in my head reading it. The book is so clear, you can't misunderstand and it is detailed enough that it doesn't assume knowlegdge. My half pass and flying changes are getting so much better and I am confident the book will be an aide also once i go towards piaffe and other advanced movements. If only everybody read this book... !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kottas on Dressage
Kottas on Dressage by Arthur Kottas (Hardcover - 29 Jun 2010)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews